5 star rating: Highly Recommended 210 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Duration:  11.5-hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 210 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Spectacular scenery and a comfortable ride.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The best tour of my life! The Rocky Mountaineer is amazing!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I had reservations about going up by train and back by coach but I wasn't disappointed with this choice. The guide who picked us up from the hotel and drove us to the train and then drove us back from Whistler was excellent in every way. The time spent in Whistler isn't long but enough to get a taste of the town. Would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wow! from the cry of "ALL ABOARD" from the train manager this was absolutely fab. We saw wildlife, waterfalls, spectacular scenery all around us. Whistler was beautiful, lots of little shops to browse in.. Our tour guide on way back (Will) was so friendly, funny he took extra time to tell stories. We even saw a bear!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The trip exceeded our expectations and the staff and service was A+, and worth every dollar. If you want to sit back and enjoy all the scenery, this is the tour for you. First class service from start to finish..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Perfect Trip! The train and staff were delightful. We were told in advance of the special sights coming up and given lots of information on the way. Our tour guide on the bus was very good. He was on time , knowledgable and funny. What more can you ask for!

brian p
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

was great. worth doing. only problem was too many trees so couldn't get a lot of photos. but in saying that was very pretty. the trip back from whistler in the bus was perfect. had a great driver, very intelligent. whistler was beautiful.the peak to peak was closed but we still saw it and went up to. the top and got snowed on. great experience

Josephine
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The train trip up to Whistler was great, lots of great scenery to look at and to photograph and the hostess was lovely. We had a great time at Whistler itself, we caught up with someone we know from Australia who lives and works there now and we did the Squimish Culteral Centre , which I wasn't that excited to go see but we had a really great time there . It was very interesting to see how they lived then and now and how they built boats etc and I loved the video they showed us of where they live etc. The highlight of the trip was when we were going back , our driver and tour guide Tim was amazing, he promised us bears and he didn't disappoint us, I have some pretty amazing photos of 3 bears we saw, I have to say it's probably the highlight of my 6 week holiday. It was a very long day for all of us including our guide who went out of his way to be helpful and to show us as many wonderful sights as possible. I would honestly say we certainly got value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Much anticipated and it didn't let us down. We deliberately chose to go up by train and back by coach. The collection in Vancouver was efficient, the train ride was excellent - fantastic views. There was some disappointment on board to find that the Infamous Peak 2 Peak gondola was closed. However there is plenty to see and do in Whistler to fill the time. Our fabulous coach driver then headed off down the Sea to Sky Highway with the express intention of finding bears!! Yeh. Success! Three bears, so close, so wild, just so ..... What a fantastic end to the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Another fantastic day on a tour organised though Viator. The scenery from the Train and Bus was unreal and service excellent .Another trip to be repeated at later stage.
Thanks again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The train trip was amazing, taking in the trees, mountains, streams and bays. Commentary was minimal, which is good, as you get to look for yourself. Whistler was a jewel in the crown with many cafes, eateries and other shopping available as well as some of the organised sports. The cultural centre is a must to visit and learn about the local indigenous people. We highly recommend this trip, especially by rail there and bus home.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I had a trip of a lifetime. It was well coordinated. The Rocky Mountaineer experience was spectacular. The coach trip back was a different perspective and really appreciate the tour/bus driver. The highlight was peak2peak despite my fear of height. It was all worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This train ride is a must! You will see the most beautiful beautiful terrain. It's one of the best tours you can take. Loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an excellent tour with a first rate tour guide - Ryan. We were picked up at 7 a.m. and taken to the train station, via the hotels of other guests.
We received pre allocated seats on the train, so no stress to find a seat. The 3.5 hour ride up to Whistler was spectacular and the train crew kept as well fed, watered and informed.
Ryan had driven to Whistler and picked us up at the train station and gave a short introductory ride around the village, before dropping us off for a 4 hour look around. The village and surrounding scenery is not to be missed. We had a leisurely lunch and then enjoyed watching the mountain bikers descending at real speed down the snow free ski runs. Finally a worthwhile visit to the new first nation centre, before the return trip by road to Vancouver.
We had a number of stops on the return leg, Shannon Falls were especially attractive. We were taken back to or hotel at around 7 p.m. tired, but so pleased to have taken this tour.
Ryan and Landsea, the tour operator, did us proud. Yes the day was expensive, but a tour to remember, many thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Rail tour was very nice.. was able to see all scenic places. Highly recommended.

From USD $ 268.87

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3914_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message