5 star rating: Highly Recommended 239 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Duration:  11.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 239 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

brian p
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

was great. worth doing. only problem was too many trees so couldn't get a lot of photos. but in saying that was very pretty. the trip back from whistler in the bus was perfect. had a great driver, very intelligent. whistler was beautiful.the peak to peak was closed but we still saw it and went up to. the top and got snowed on. great experience

Josephine
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The train trip up to Whistler was great, lots of great scenery to look at and to photograph and the hostess was lovely. We had a great time at Whistler itself, we caught up with someone we know from Australia who lives and works there now and we did the Squimish Culteral Centre , which I wasn't that excited to go see but we had a really great time there . It was very interesting to see how they lived then and now and how they built boats etc and I loved the video they showed us of where they live etc. The highlight of the trip was when we were going back , our driver and tour guide Tim was amazing, he promised us bears and he didn't disappoint us, I have some pretty amazing photos of 3 bears we saw, I have to say it's probably the highlight of my 6 week holiday. It was a very long day for all of us including our guide who went out of his way to be helpful and to show us as many wonderful sights as possible. I would honestly say we certainly got value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Much anticipated and it didn't let us down. We deliberately chose to go up by train and back by coach. The collection in Vancouver was efficient, the train ride was excellent - fantastic views. There was some disappointment on board to find that the Infamous Peak 2 Peak gondola was closed. However there is plenty to see and do in Whistler to fill the time. Our fabulous coach driver then headed off down the Sea to Sky Highway with the express intention of finding bears!! Yeh. Success! Three bears, so close, so wild, just so ..... What a fantastic end to the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Another fantastic day on a tour organised though Viator. The scenery from the Train and Bus was unreal and service excellent .Another trip to be repeated at later stage.
Thanks again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The train trip was amazing, taking in the trees, mountains, streams and bays. Commentary was minimal, which is good, as you get to look for yourself. Whistler was a jewel in the crown with many cafes, eateries and other shopping available as well as some of the organised sports. The cultural centre is a must to visit and learn about the local indigenous people. We highly recommend this trip, especially by rail there and bus home.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I had a trip of a lifetime. It was well coordinated. The Rocky Mountaineer experience was spectacular. The coach trip back was a different perspective and really appreciate the tour/bus driver. The highlight was peak2peak despite my fear of height. It was all worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This train ride is a must! You will see the most beautiful beautiful terrain. It's one of the best tours you can take. Loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an excellent tour with a first rate tour guide - Ryan. We were picked up at 7 a.m. and taken to the train station, via the hotels of other guests.
We received pre allocated seats on the train, so no stress to find a seat. The 3.5 hour ride up to Whistler was spectacular and the train crew kept as well fed, watered and informed.
Ryan had driven to Whistler and picked us up at the train station and gave a short introductory ride around the village, before dropping us off for a 4 hour look around. The village and surrounding scenery is not to be missed. We had a leisurely lunch and then enjoyed watching the mountain bikers descending at real speed down the snow free ski runs. Finally a worthwhile visit to the new first nation centre, before the return trip by road to Vancouver.
We had a number of stops on the return leg, Shannon Falls were especially attractive. We were taken back to or hotel at around 7 p.m. tired, but so pleased to have taken this tour.
Ryan and Landsea, the tour operator, did us proud. Yes the day was expensive, but a tour to remember, many thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Rail tour was very nice.. was able to see all scenic places. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great trip, well organised, with a good tour guide who was always happy to answer questions. The bus back to Vancouver was clean and comfortable and we felt quite safe with our driver.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very enjoyable, staff were very nice and train and bus were very clean. Guides were very knowledgeable. Would definately do tour again, thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic Day, well worth the money. Though a traveler medical emergency delayed the start of our train trip the rest of the day was picture perfect. The view from the train was beautiful and it was great to be able to stand in the open air car to take pictures. It was here we met our new friends from England. We enjoyed our experience on the Peak to Peak tram with them. Our guide back on the bus (Gavin) was a lot of fun and gave us plenty of time for pictures. I would recomemnd this trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

From beginning to end this tour was absolutely fantastic. Your agents, Landsea Tours are just superb. They arrived on time, had nice clean comfy coaches and their Reps were just lovely. The trip on the Rocky Mountaineer was just out of this world - the scenery was magnificent, the train comfortable and food was good. Susan, our hostess on the train could not have been nicer - in fact all the Rocky Mountaineer crew could not have been more informative or helpful.

I was apprehensive about going up in the gondola to the top of Whistler Mountain, but need not have worried as a very nice Australian Couple also on the trip came along with me - I was thrilled to bits with the fact that I have "almost" conquered my fear of heights.

The 2 hour free tour of Vancouver was great as well and again Landsea arrived on time and with a clean comfy vehicle and terrific guide.

I would urge anyone thinking of taking this trip to "go ahead" and book it - you will certainly not regret it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

With the exception of waiting a bit long after the shuttle dropped us and before we boarded the train, the trip was wonderful! The train trip is not only beautiful but so relaxing. When you get to Whistler, there is so much to do. I highly recommend going to the top by gondola -- what a view!!! If that's not enough, you can take the Peak 2 Peak over to Blackcombe -- another gorgeous view. Then a couple more stops on the way back for more waterfalls, lakes and mountains - the views never end! Certainly a day to remember.

Jane J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Wonderful experience.Needed more time in Whistler. 3 and a half hours was not long enough to get to the top

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The trip by train was great, and the return trip by coach was great. The Guide was friendly helpful and informative. we would recommend this tour to anyone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent day outing. Guides were informative. views stunning. Offer of vancouver city tour oincluded in price was an extra bonus. Wouls recommend to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was a cracking trip by train from Vancouver to Whistler and back by bus. We were collected from our Vancouver hotel by our guide Jason and taken to the train station. We liked very much the bag piper meeting us there piping us off as the train left, a nice touch and the train was roomy and comfortable. The 3 hour (ish) journey to Whistler was breathtakingly scenic and we were served a nice breakfast box and treated to a talk about the 1st nation history. We were met by our guide jason in his bus and taken into the town which was buzzing with a bikefest. Had a great lunch in the square and caught the cable car up the mountain and then the Peak 2 Peak to Blackcombe for coffee and back, view were amazing. A tour of the Whistler shops and then met by Jason for the journey back stopping at a couple of great waterfall on the way. Twas a long day 7 - 7 and quite expensive but it was a trip I will remember for a long time. We got the complimentary city tour with this booking and Jason (again and a great guide) took us round the city on an enjoyable and informative little tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was a great trip. Very pretty. Didn't like going threw the picket line:-( was sad to hear all of the people had lost there jobs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was an absolutely awesome tour. The scenery was beautiful and you were taken great care of on the train and then by the tour guide. A definite highlight of our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Everything was excellent. Would definitely use your service again.

Harvest Moon
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We had an increditble day on this tour. It was nothing short of fantastic and we would recommend it to anyone staying in Vancouver to head off up to Whistler and do it. The commentary on the train was great and the breakfast was ample with tea and coffee offered anytime throughout the trip. Make sure you do the peak to peak gondola ride when you're up at Whistler and then you can get the chairlift down. Takes about 1 hour round trip. This is a must. We were lucky enough to have a young guy that was born and breed in Whistler as our coach driver for the trip back to Vancouver. What a great guy he was. So informative and a character to boot. He really did make our trip.
This is my 2nd Viator tour. I booked one when I was staying in Paris last year and I would not hesitate to use Viator tours in any future travels.
Thanks again. It was an absolute great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Awesome!Highlight of my trip to canada.Treated like royalty on train with stunning scenery.Never thought the coach journey home could still match the views at Whistler and train journey but it rose to the challenge.With bears,stops at shannon falls and other beauty spots.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Train ride was a great experience. The breakfast was a bit on the small side for a railway line.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great weather, tour and guide.

Special Offer

From USD $ 232.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3914_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message