5 star rating: Highly Recommended 220 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Duration:  11.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 220 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

It was fantastic. Tour guide was courteous, very informative, caring and entertaining. Went out of the way to show sites that were, maybe not inlcuded. And we saw up to 10 bears, I have photos to prove it. Loved it. What can I say. Will do it again with Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was a great trip up to Whistler by train and back by bus. The bus driver was very knowledgeable about the areas and and gave us the best opportunity to bear spot. Very relaxing trip.

Merle K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent day tour out. Peak to Peak was awesome. Seeing black bear and 3 cubs on roadside on way home surpassed all expectations.

Susan R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was a wonderful day trip, even though we did not get the best of weather. The train journey was smooth and the scenery was spectacular. We were lucky enough to see bears on our return journey by bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Whole trip was organised very efficiently. Excellent coach driver/guide and trip on Rocky Mountaineer was excellent as always. Cannot commend our guide highly enough.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great trip. Would do it again and recommend it to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was an awesome trip! The scenery was spectacular, the staff was knowledgeable and friendly and the day was just perfect! Thank you!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Fabulous, staff couldn't do enough for you on the train, seats very comfy, had 2 open carriages for photo ops which was great, fabulous scenery all the way, one of the highlights of our trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Fabulous trip, the train was superb, slowed down for photographers and the breakfast was scrumptious. Plenty of time in Whistler, we did the Peak to Peak, the scenery was stunning. Beautiful day, sunny, blue skies, so we were very lucky.

Marilyn C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We had a great time on this trip, the Rocky Mountaineer train journey was brilliant, service and personnel second to none. Tim our driver on the way back was very good, he even went out of his way to try and find us a bear to see. Would recommend booking with you to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Incredible trip with one-of-a-kind scenic views. The staff is very courteous and friendly. The bus trip back is quicker and you get to make a few stops along the way to view some pretty spectacular parts of British Columbia. Outstanding overall!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

What a fantastic trip, we enjoyed the whole day, train was comfortable, staff attentive, food good. Loved Whistler too, the peak to peak cable car (gondola), was an incredible experience. Great guide (Will) who drove us back and stopped at 4 points of interest, including 2 amazing waterfalls. Thoroughly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip well worth the money with a first class representative from the company

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Excellent trip. Service on the train was fantastic. On the bus coming back, the tour guide did one more thing to make the trip memorable. When he saw a car ahead at a lay by he pulled in to it also. As he said "why would someone take a picture of a tree " and sure enough there was a big black bear on the other side of the road calmly roaming through the bushes.

Hedo
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Service and scenery first class!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Extremely great trip, very exceptional service.
Very pleased with overall trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

I was absolutely thrilled with the Whistler Train Rail Tour. The service was 110% the scenery was awesome and the village of Whistler amazing. I am so thrilled to have been part of this wonderful trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Although the employees of the train company were on strike and picketing the trip was great. The management and volunteers did a great job filling in and could not have been more friendly and professional in their job duties. We booked the Glacier Dome and were very happy that we did. Big seats, open bar, great breakfast, great service, it couldn't have been better. Many reviews on this site say that the Glacier Dome wasn't worth it, I say go for it. It is definitely worth it and it's your vacation. Save money somewhere else. The LandSea tour was on time picking us up at the hotel and meeting us up in Whistler. Greg was our driver and was great. He becomes your personal tour director pointing out sites along the way and providing history and stories on the way back to Vancouver. He will even recommend restaurants in Whistler or Vancouver and call and make your reservations along the way. The guys incredible. Make sure you ask for him if you are taking this tour. We did the Gondola to the top and peak to peak was cool. Rained a little on the way up but still a great experience. Nothing went wrong at any time; we even saw many bears on the way back to Vancouver. Greg goes out of his way to make sure you see some. I would definitely do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Do the trip . our guide was Will and he was amazing.
The train was fabulous! it went at a good pace so you could take photos and even slowed right down in some spots. the food served was great and the service was impeccable. Whislter was a beautiful town and we were lucky when we were there as it was a very hot day. lots of nice restaurants to eat. the bus trip was great Will our guide went out of his way to find us sightings of bears. We saw Five black bears of all sizes. A great day was had by all. Would recommend not to miss this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

It's a good idea going by train to Whistler and by bus going back to the hotel. We had a good time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

great trip, well organised. Train trip was terrific, very scenic, staff on train very attentive. Peak to Peak at Whistler was spectacular. Bus side of journey was also great, very informative and helpful driver, who made sure we saw bears (7) on way back! Would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The train ride to Whistler (Rocky Mountaineer) was very picturesque but try and get a seat on the left side for the best views. I wouldn't worry about paying extra for the dome carriages as their is an outdoor carriage that is optimal for photography.
The time at Whistler went quite quickly but the tour guide, Andrew was terrific and helped plan each person's time. The trip back by bus was great. Andrew showed us some very unusual mansions and then we went bear spotting. Unfortunately we were only able to spot one bear by the side of the highway but at leats we didn't miss out. Shannon Falls was our last stop and it is not to be missed - beautiful. Thank you Andrew for a lovely day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A great way to experience the Rocky Mountaineer train. Friendly helpful staff . Breathtaking views from the train and the bus ride back down the highway was a great way to see more of this beautiful country side and spot wildlife with the help of Brent our guide/bus driver.A great experience even though the weather was not the best at Whistler. Recommend the Peak to Peak the views are great and even got to see a bear walking round in the snow...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Absolutely fabulous trip and a most comfortable journey by train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

We had an awesome time, Whistler is a beautiful place, straight out of the pages of a story book. Everything about our day was just perfect. Would love to go back sometime.

From USD $ 236.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3914_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message