5 star rating: Highly Recommended 219 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Duration:  11.5-hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 219 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Josephine
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The train trip up to Whistler was great, lots of great scenery to look at and to photograph and the hostess was lovely. We had a great time at Whistler itself, we caught up with someone we know from Australia who lives and works there now and we did the Squimish Culteral Centre , which I wasn't that excited to go see but we had a really great time there . It was very interesting to see how they lived then and now and how they built boats etc and I loved the video they showed us of where they live etc. The highlight of the trip was when we were going back , our driver and tour guide Tim was amazing, he promised us bears and he didn't disappoint us, I have some pretty amazing photos of 3 bears we saw, I have to say it's probably the highlight of my 6 week holiday. It was a very long day for all of us including our guide who went out of his way to be helpful and to show us as many wonderful sights as possible. I would honestly say we certainly got value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Much anticipated and it didn't let us down. We deliberately chose to go up by train and back by coach. The collection in Vancouver was efficient, the train ride was excellent - fantastic views. There was some disappointment on board to find that the Infamous Peak 2 Peak gondola was closed. However there is plenty to see and do in Whistler to fill the time. Our fabulous coach driver then headed off down the Sea to Sky Highway with the express intention of finding bears!! Yeh. Success! Three bears, so close, so wild, just so ..... What a fantastic end to the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Another fantastic day on a tour organised though Viator. The scenery from the Train and Bus was unreal and service excellent .Another trip to be repeated at later stage.
Thanks again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The train trip was amazing, taking in the trees, mountains, streams and bays. Commentary was minimal, which is good, as you get to look for yourself. Whistler was a jewel in the crown with many cafes, eateries and other shopping available as well as some of the organised sports. The cultural centre is a must to visit and learn about the local indigenous people. We highly recommend this trip, especially by rail there and bus home.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I had a trip of a lifetime. It was well coordinated. The Rocky Mountaineer experience was spectacular. The coach trip back was a different perspective and really appreciate the tour/bus driver. The highlight was peak2peak despite my fear of height. It was all worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This train ride is a must! You will see the most beautiful beautiful terrain. It's one of the best tours you can take. Loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an excellent tour with a first rate tour guide - Ryan. We were picked up at 7 a.m. and taken to the train station, via the hotels of other guests.
We received pre allocated seats on the train, so no stress to find a seat. The 3.5 hour ride up to Whistler was spectacular and the train crew kept as well fed, watered and informed.
Ryan had driven to Whistler and picked us up at the train station and gave a short introductory ride around the village, before dropping us off for a 4 hour look around. The village and surrounding scenery is not to be missed. We had a leisurely lunch and then enjoyed watching the mountain bikers descending at real speed down the snow free ski runs. Finally a worthwhile visit to the new first nation centre, before the return trip by road to Vancouver.
We had a number of stops on the return leg, Shannon Falls were especially attractive. We were taken back to or hotel at around 7 p.m. tired, but so pleased to have taken this tour.
Ryan and Landsea, the tour operator, did us proud. Yes the day was expensive, but a tour to remember, many thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Rail tour was very nice.. was able to see all scenic places. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great trip, well organised, with a good tour guide who was always happy to answer questions. The bus back to Vancouver was clean and comfortable and we felt quite safe with our driver.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very enjoyable, staff were very nice and train and bus were very clean. Guides were very knowledgeable. Would definately do tour again, thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic Day, well worth the money. Though a traveler medical emergency delayed the start of our train trip the rest of the day was picture perfect. The view from the train was beautiful and it was great to be able to stand in the open air car to take pictures. It was here we met our new friends from England. We enjoyed our experience on the Peak to Peak tram with them. Our guide back on the bus (Gavin) was a lot of fun and gave us plenty of time for pictures. I would recomemnd this trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

From beginning to end this tour was absolutely fantastic. Your agents, Landsea Tours are just superb. They arrived on time, had nice clean comfy coaches and their Reps were just lovely. The trip on the Rocky Mountaineer was just out of this world - the scenery was magnificent, the train comfortable and food was good. Susan, our hostess on the train could not have been nicer - in fact all the Rocky Mountaineer crew could not have been more informative or helpful.

I was apprehensive about going up in the gondola to the top of Whistler Mountain, but need not have worried as a very nice Australian Couple also on the trip came along with me - I was thrilled to bits with the fact that I have "almost" conquered my fear of heights.

The 2 hour free tour of Vancouver was great as well and again Landsea arrived on time and with a clean comfy vehicle and terrific guide.

I would urge anyone thinking of taking this trip to "go ahead" and book it - you will certainly not regret it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

With the exception of waiting a bit long after the shuttle dropped us and before we boarded the train, the trip was wonderful! The train trip is not only beautiful but so relaxing. When you get to Whistler, there is so much to do. I highly recommend going to the top by gondola -- what a view!!! If that's not enough, you can take the Peak 2 Peak over to Blackcombe -- another gorgeous view. Then a couple more stops on the way back for more waterfalls, lakes and mountains - the views never end! Certainly a day to remember.

Jane J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Wonderful experience.Needed more time in Whistler. 3 and a half hours was not long enough to get to the top

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The trip by train was great, and the return trip by coach was great. The Guide was friendly helpful and informative. we would recommend this tour to anyone

From USD $ 259.40

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3914_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message