5 star rating: Highly Recommended 265 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Vancouver, Canada
  • Duration:11.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vancouver to Whistler by Train Rail Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 265 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Rail tour was very nice.. was able to see all scenic places. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great trip, well organised, with a good tour guide who was always happy to answer questions. The bus back to Vancouver was clean and comfortable and we felt quite safe with our driver.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very enjoyable, staff were very nice and train and bus were very clean. Guides were very knowledgeable. Would definately do tour again, thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic Day, well worth the money. Though a traveler medical emergency delayed the start of our train trip the rest of the day was picture perfect. The view from the train was beautiful and it was great to be able to stand in the open air car to take pictures. It was here we met our new friends from England. We enjoyed our experience on the Peak to Peak tram with them. Our guide back on the bus (Gavin) was a lot of fun and gave us plenty of time for pictures. I would recomemnd this trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

From beginning to end this tour was absolutely fantastic. Your agents, Landsea Tours are just superb. They arrived on time, had nice clean comfy coaches and their Reps were just lovely. The trip on the Rocky Mountaineer was just out of this world - the scenery was magnificent, the train comfortable and food was good. Susan, our hostess on the train could not have been nicer - in fact all the Rocky Mountaineer crew could not have been more informative or helpful.

I was apprehensive about going up in the gondola to the top of Whistler Mountain, but need not have worried as a very nice Australian Couple also on the trip came along with me - I was thrilled to bits with the fact that I have "almost" conquered my fear of heights.

The 2 hour free tour of Vancouver was great as well and again Landsea arrived on time and with a clean comfy vehicle and terrific guide.

I would urge anyone thinking of taking this trip to "go ahead" and book it - you will certainly not regret it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

With the exception of waiting a bit long after the shuttle dropped us and before we boarded the train, the trip was wonderful! The train trip is not only beautiful but so relaxing. When you get to Whistler, there is so much to do. I highly recommend going to the top by gondola -- what a view!!! If that's not enough, you can take the Peak 2 Peak over to Blackcombe -- another gorgeous view. Then a couple more stops on the way back for more waterfalls, lakes and mountains - the views never end! Certainly a day to remember.

Jane J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Wonderful experience.Needed more time in Whistler. 3 and a half hours was not long enough to get to the top

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The trip by train was great, and the return trip by coach was great. The Guide was friendly helpful and informative. we would recommend this tour to anyone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent day outing. Guides were informative. views stunning. Offer of vancouver city tour oincluded in price was an extra bonus. Wouls recommend to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was a cracking trip by train from Vancouver to Whistler and back by bus. We were collected from our Vancouver hotel by our guide Jason and taken to the train station. We liked very much the bag piper meeting us there piping us off as the train left, a nice touch and the train was roomy and comfortable. The 3 hour (ish) journey to Whistler was breathtakingly scenic and we were served a nice breakfast box and treated to a talk about the 1st nation history. We were met by our guide jason in his bus and taken into the town which was buzzing with a bikefest. Had a great lunch in the square and caught the cable car up the mountain and then the Peak 2 Peak to Blackcombe for coffee and back, view were amazing. A tour of the Whistler shops and then met by Jason for the journey back stopping at a couple of great waterfall on the way. Twas a long day 7 - 7 and quite expensive but it was a trip I will remember for a long time. We got the complimentary city tour with this booking and Jason (again and a great guide) took us round the city on an enjoyable and informative little tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was a great trip. Very pretty. Didn't like going threw the picket line:-( was sad to hear all of the people had lost there jobs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was an absolutely awesome tour. The scenery was beautiful and you were taken great care of on the train and then by the tour guide. A definite highlight of our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Everything was excellent. Would definitely use your service again.

Harvest Moon
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We had an increditble day on this tour. It was nothing short of fantastic and we would recommend it to anyone staying in Vancouver to head off up to Whistler and do it. The commentary on the train was great and the breakfast was ample with tea and coffee offered anytime throughout the trip. Make sure you do the peak to peak gondola ride when you're up at Whistler and then you can get the chairlift down. Takes about 1 hour round trip. This is a must. We were lucky enough to have a young guy that was born and breed in Whistler as our coach driver for the trip back to Vancouver. What a great guy he was. So informative and a character to boot. He really did make our trip.
This is my 2nd Viator tour. I booked one when I was staying in Paris last year and I would not hesitate to use Viator tours in any future travels.
Thanks again. It was an absolute great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Awesome!Highlight of my trip to canada.Treated like royalty on train with stunning scenery.Never thought the coach journey home could still match the views at Whistler and train journey but it rose to the challenge.With bears,stops at shannon falls and other beauty spots.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Train ride was a great experience. The breakfast was a bit on the small side for a railway line.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great weather, tour and guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Just Awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Great trip! Highlight of our vacation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Good to be collected from the hotel to get to the train. Great train trip with spectacular scenes. Good amount of time in Whistler and interesting time with the First Nations museum. Falls on the way back were spectacular and we saw a bear!
Ryan our guide was great. A good way to both see Whistler and experience the Sea to Sky train in one day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Great day out. Enjoyed from start to finish - excellent driver/courier. Not cheap, but actually very good value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Seeing the Rockies up close and in comfort was amazing. Easy access to the beautiful Whistler. Would recommend to everyone.

Thomas J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

excellent tour, we did the train up to Whistler and then returned by coach.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The train ride was great! Could have used a little more time in Whistler and will definate go back.

Lynda C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Fantastic tour

Special Offer

From USD $ 222.09

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3914_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message