4.5 star rating: Recommended 126 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Duration:  Flexible

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Victoria by Seaplane and Ferry from Vancouver. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 126 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

A lot quicker than geting a bus and boat with lovely views, made Victoria a full day out!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Incredible views from both the seaplane and ferry...both are very worth the money. The logistics for the ferry ride were a bit confusing and I wish the itinerary would have been more explicit about the details. On the way back, you board a bus at the greyhound terminal in Victoria, which then takes you to the ferry (the bus boards the ferry). Then, you arrive in Vancouver, and take the bus back to the city. Again, just wish I had known what to expect in full.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Very enjoyable trip, seaplane tripe was excellent, Victoria a great place to visit and an enjoyable trip back on the ferry.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

easy to organize also from abroad; friendly and well organised

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

First make sure you understand who is doing the tour transfers while in Vancouver. Since Landsea did another tour I booked in Vancouver I was under the impression that they were picking us up at the hotel to take us to the seaplane in the morning. Not so. It's a good thing I'm a little anal and always checks to make sure everything is as scheduled. I called the Landsea number to see what time they were picking us up at the hotel in the morning and they had no record of my reservation. The Marriott where we were staying just happened to be across the street from the Harbor airport so I walked over to check with the tour desk at the airport. They had our reservation so all was good. Could have been a fatal oversight. The plane flight was memorable and breathtaking. What an experience. Victoria was great but we took a 3 hour whale watching tour which pretty much took up much of the trip. If I had to do it over I would skip the whale watching trip (very cold) and just check out Victoria. Hit the old taverns, tour the old homes and mansions, just take your time and enjoy Victoria. If you've been to Sea World you have seen whales plus there in no guarantee you will see whales anyway. At first I wasn't too excited about taking a bus/ferry back to Vancouver because of the length of travel time. But after taking the ferry and getting another perspective of the area I was very satisfied. Sit outside on the sunny side of the ferry and enjoy some spectacular views.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

The plane ride was awsome, Victoria was ok, Boat ride back was great! Glad I did this tour, for a day in Victoria is all I needed.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Had a great trip! I was a little suprised that it was more of a commercial operation than a tour operation. I had known I would be on my own, though! I wished I had known the return pass was "open" meaning that you could stay overnight(s) and return a different day. The description was a little vague on several issues but I had emailed HarbourAir and gotten the answers. I would definitely recommend this acitivity! It was very fun!

Susan H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The seaplane ride was fantastic. My husband was invited to sit in the co pilots seat which thrilled him. We had plenty of time to take a tour to Butchart Gardens (also booked through Viator) , had high tea at the Empress Hotel (very expensive but wonderful). a quick look in the Parliament buildings and an hour in the BC Museum. The trip home was a long coach trip to the north of the island then 90 minutes on a ferry and another 45 minutes back to downtown Vancouver. A very long but enjoyable day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

We loved the seaplane!!! The ferry was nice but I could have lived with out the bus. It had nothing to do with the service, just its a long day and going from bus to ferry and back to bus just was a bit much. Would have enjoyed taking the seaplane round trip.

Shirlee
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We loved the flight to Victoria, scenery was fantastic and very smooth flight. Lunch in Victoria, then caught bus ferry back. Ferry very relaxing, but wait for ferry was over 40 mins! Victoria is a beautiful city and easy to get around.

Robert T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

Flight out was no problem and enjoyable. I've been around a bit, but Vancouver rates as No. 1 for friendliness and help - putting it mildly. Only downside was the bus terminal coming back - a bit chaotic, but we got there in the end.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Great experience with Seaplane, Victoria is superb. On Ferry we had nice views, but trip back later on from ferry very bad organized. Had to go by taxi to Vancouver and the Hotel.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We did the Victoria by Seaplane and Ferry tour in Dec 2014. The seaplane trip was exciting, although due to foggy weather some of the views were obscured. My only issue was that we were not properly informed of how late the bus gets back into Vancouver. I inquired as to how long the ferry ride took and was told 1.5 hours, however they didn't inform us of the bus ride to get to the ferry, and the bus ride to get back into Vancouver (got back at 7pm). Otherwise well worth it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Float plane great ! Long wait at bus station not so great !

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Enjoyed this, but would have appreciated more straightforward information on how long the trip back by bus/fery/bus would be. If we had known, we might have explored other options like flying back or staying a night on Victoria.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Having watched the Harbour Air seaplanes in Vancouver Harbour, our trip was eagerly anticipated and the flight didn't let us down. The views over Vancouver and then the approach to Victoria, on Vancouver Island, over the many surrounding islands was spectacular and then the exciting landing in picturesque Victoria Harbour was wonderful. However, we did feel that the optional return times led to chaos at the bus station as the coaches were oversubscribed and it was not possible to reserve a place at the time of our choice. There was also confusion at the ferry terminal which left us feeling less confident in the second half of this trip. This aspect could perhaps be reviewed to make the day a little smoother, as this trip was not a cheap option.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Float plane trip was very good, garden tour (which was at our own extra cost) was lovely. Through no fault of tour company ferry was considerably delayed, which meant getting back to our hotel at 10.45 (7pm ferry). This somewhat spoilt the day, made worse when the bus driver refused to take us to our hotel, telling us we were only 1 block away, which having walked it we still dispute! Everyone else was dropped at their door, as were we on other tours, no doubt the driver was tired and emotional too! Wish we had taken a float plane return trip. Bit disappointed with Victoria too, don't think we would bother with a return. Float plane was worth it though.

Fiona R
Ireland

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

Seaplane was excellent but the 4 hours back with the ferry was hard to do. Plus no guided tour at all. Thought that the biz ride might have given that.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

I highly recommend spending time in Victoria. It is a delightful city and the trip by seaplane was wonderful, affording us magnificent views. I was somewhat disappointed in the ferry ride since I didn't realize that the entire trip back to downtown Vancouver would take 4 hours. It is a 45 minute trip to the ferry from Victoria and then one and a half hours on the ferry. The ferry leaves you about 45-60 minutes from Vancouver which requires another bus trip. The bus left us at the bus/train terminal. We had no idea how to get back to our hotel. We waited about 20 minutes for a taxi to arrive and since the terminal seemed to be in a "sketchy" area, we were not happy about that. This seems to be an area of the overall trip that could use improvement.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The seaplane flight was a great experience. It was a quick and scenic way to get to Victoria from Vancouver. The trip back however was long and tedious and we had to deal with being jostled around. There was a lot of confusion at the bus terminal with people pushing and shoving to get on a bus. Even though we were pre-booked, listed on the manifest and were at the front of the line the driver took people with tickets first and we were last getting on. If I was to do this again I would make sure I was on a private tour bus.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The flight to Victoria was very nice. Upon arrival to Victoria there was no one available for local information. What we had was a tourist map of the city that had we were handed prior to the flight that had the place we landed and the bus station circled. We managed to find the Tourist Information building on our own, and found that Butchart Gardens was too distant for a trip there and back before the bus left. There was no mention that ride back to the ferry was 40 minutes which was lost time for us, or that we would not return to Vancouver until 9:30 that night. Also there was a marathon in Victoria that morning, blocking off many of the sights. Upon arrival in Vancouver we were not even sure where in the city we would be dropped off. Luckily the bus driver helped us out. It seems that this time the tour company only acted as a ticket agent providing little guide information.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

The booking process was not good as we found it impossible to discover the timings but just had to go to the terminal and hope, however, the member of staff at the reception went out of his way to be really helpful once we had arrived.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

Seaplane portion of the trip was no problem nor was the ferry trip home. The bus after leaving the ferry was way too long, and not to be repeated. The only way to do this trip is to fly BOTH ways--it is not worth the hassle to take the ferry and the bus--Also, the bus should drop off the tour passengers at the seaplane dock which is where their cars would be--Don't drop them off in the middle of the city, and have them work out getting back to their cars--Do the seaplane round trip OR don't do this trip at all.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Was not told the details to pick up the bus ride to the ferry. Had to take a cab to the ferry where we were told that we would have to pay to get on the ferry even though the tickets were included in the package. Called Viatour and was told that they would not credit the ferry tickets and that it was just too bad that we missed the bus. I felt that this was outrageous particularly since the bus and the driver were on the ferry. I paid a hefty premium for this tour and was frankly shocked at how poorly run ir was.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

It wasn't a tour, just transportation. Disappointing

From USD $ 217.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3020_VAN9A

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message