4.5 star rating: Recommended 100 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Venice, Italy
  • Duration:  35 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 100 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I booked this private gondola tour and we thoroughly enjoyed it, I can honestly say it was very romantic indeed and the serenading was perfection. I absolutely loved it, the gondola was sailed through the small canals to parts I would've missed , it was absolutely beautiful and picturesque. It is an expensive excursion for two people but you can't go to Venice without experiencing this. I would highly recommend it as a once in a lifetime experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

I thought the gondolier was going to serenade. Instead a man with t guitar and amplifier came onto the boat. He played good and sang well. a the other guy doing the singing did not sing well and was eating food between songs.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Fantasic - the music player and singer were entertaining

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The ride was amazing, and we had a fantastic singer - musician on our Gondola . Due to the frantic planning we had to do prior to the trip, I had totally forgotten that we have music on our ride. So at first my wife and I were taken aback when two random guys jumped on to our ride as we thought at the price that we paid surely it was going to be a private Gondola ride. The songs were lovely, and the musicians had so much personality that it was Venice just as we had almost imagined. Funny also that we were the only Gondola with musicians, so people from others boats, as well as throughout the canals were also staring at us for a bit. The only small downside was that we paid for the more expensive "evening ride" as the description of the tour said that this was how "Venice was meant to be seen." So our ride started at 7pm; only problem was that the sun didn't set until 9.15pm so we may as well just paid less and did the day ride. But definitely worth the $$; i highly suggest doing it if its within your budget.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Really lovely, better than I expected (an accordian player and singer joined us) and very pleased we went for this extra special version.

Tina B
Virgin Islands-US

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This is a "must-do" for any first time visitor with their amour! It is pricey and you may get a better deal once you get there, but you do have some insurance and potential recourse by going through Viator.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

It's one of those must do at least once touristy things. We had fun and the music was a nice touch.

Stella G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

We didn't get our serenade, so that was very disappointing. I have no idea what happened with that! Overall, it was a good way to see Venice with all the major landmarks pointed out.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The staff was prompt to provide the service. The Gondolier and the singing team were helpful and attentive.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

Our private gondola serenade was a definite highlight of our trip to Italy. The musicians really enhanced the whole experience. The supplier also accommodated us by rescheduling our ride, as the weather did not cooperate at our assigned time. I would highly recommend this to the first-time visitor to Venice. And although I was a bit skeptical about booking this tour, I would definitely use Viator again in the future.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

When we got there, the singer was not there and he had to be called which delayed our departure on the gondola. But the overall ride was very special, and is one of our outstanding memories of our trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The music was great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Totally loved the gondola ride but the serenade was very LOUD. If you don't mind attention being drawn to you, then this is perfect. There was an accordian player and a singer. Both were very good, just very attention grabbing. When we got to the gondola pier we opted to not have the serenade and it was a beautiful, peaceful ride. The gondolier was very informative. So glad we cancelled the serenade!

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Gondola ride was pretty good, accordion player and singer were also good. Everyone was taking pics of us as we were the only gondola with music and a singer. If I could do it again I wouldn't pre book for a gondola ride as there are plenty of places to do it on the day for a much cheaper price. We payed the extra price for music and singer and all the other gondolas seem to just follow us around so everyone ended up getting the singing at our expense. The 3 men on our gondola were friendly towards us but talked constantly to each other in Italian even through the singing. The guy singing would just stop singing for a minute to answer a question then start up again. Most of the other gondolas put an effort in and wore the stripy shirts etc that you would expect to see from all the Venice pics but ours didn't. It was like they weren't really prepared and didn't put in much effort. Book it when you get there as you can decide on a price on the day and you can be sure the weather is nice and the people are friendly. Still was a good experience but too expensive for a 35min ride.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The gondola ride was wonderful. The serenade was perfect. The price was way too expensive.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Good, should be better , since was a private ride, with a champagne for two and better gandola, as we sow in there. But was good...

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Wonderful evening and the serenade was fantastic, but the trip was very expensive -- more than double than if we just hired a gondola without the musicians, but even that was ok; what wasn't ok was that the ride only lasted 35 minutes and when we asked the gondolier (sp?), he all of a sudden couldn't speak English.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2010

Definitely worth doing but I realized after getting there, you can "bargain" your own price when you arrive. The prices are not black and white and we could have negotiated a better deal.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

You would think the gondolier was the singer.... No 2 men climbed into our little boat with us. A singer and an accordion player. The music was great but it was super awkward looking at them the whole time! Plus the ride was in daylight and tourists were gawking the whole time! Far from romantic!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

No serenade! Wouldn't do it. Lasted 25minutes. Tour was sold by Viator as a 30minute ride.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

It was over-priced, lack-lustre, and there was no serenader so we just got punted up a few canals and shown a cople of buildings

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Not happy, not happy, got taken for a ride too expensive for what you get.
Will not recommend it to anyone, you can get a better deal there.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

If I could give this tour 0 stars I would! I'm in the travel industry and I booked 4 tours with Viatur which were OUTSTANDING, however this tour was not! I had taken a Gondola Ride before but my family never had so I gulped hard and paid the insane price for this tour thinking it would be a once in a lifetime experience for them and the Serenade would make the price a little less painful! Boy was I wrong! We were shuffled into a Gondola after having to wait for a pushy tour group of about 60 people to get on theirs well after our appointment time. The canal was over-packed which isn't their fault, however our Gondolier spend the WHOLE time talking to the Gondolier next to us and never Serenaded us! He didn't even hum! If we had wanted the "shared" tour without a serenade I would have paid for that tour (much less)! I'm not one to complain at all, however be aware when booking this that you may have better luck finding your own gondola down a back canal (which I had thought of doing but didn't want to risk having a bad experience) instead of paying this insane amount for a sub-par experience! Viator needs to be aware of this for the price they charge...maybe switch companies they work with?

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2009

Very disappointing and not worth the money. You can hire a gondolier there for much, much less.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2007

Very unorganized. The gondola people were VERY rude and nasty. I had to call the tour office because I was told by the gondolier kiosk that my voucher was no good! This tour was outrageously expensive for what we got, which pretty much ruined the moment. At least the musicians were WONDERFUL!

From USD $ 88.62

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2495ABTOUR3P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message