4.5 star rating: Recommended 276 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Venice, Italy
  • Duration:  Standard Tour: approx. 2 hoursStandard Tour including Doge's Palace: approx. 3.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 276 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable well prepared
She brought the tour to life with her local anecdotes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The guide was informative and we felt we had adequate time to see everything we wanted to see. Visitors to the Basilica need to be prepared for crowds of people. We had thought the by the middle of October, crowds would have died down. This was not the case for our time in Venice. Our guide did mention that crowds are worse in the summer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Fantastic!!!! I am sold on Viator Tours. My wife and I learned so much. We should have received academic credits for all we learned from our knowledgable and personable tour guide. The tour definitely exceeded our expectations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The rain did not make any difference to this tour. At least we can say we experienced the "St. Mark's Square Floatation" The rest of the tour was brilliant and illuminating. Our guide was soooo knowledgeable and professional it was a pleasure to "learn" . A must for everyone who wants to know and see everything.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour guide, Monica, was excellent! The canal tour was great! I would highly recommend this tour, especially if you have Monica as the guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was great and our guide was outstanding!! She shared a wealth of knowledge. We combined this with the Doges Palace tour. We also got tickets to use in some other art museums. This was the best tour while we were in Venice. It is definitely worth it to skip the lines both at the Basilica and Doges Palace. The lines were extremely long!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We had a memorable tour of Venice. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, and answered all questions completely. We learned much about Venice that we would have not learned without the tour. Viator tours will no doubt be on future trips.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Love the doges palace!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful guide and the tour was tremendous.
The guide made it much more meaningful with the history behind the monuments, etc.
We totally enjoyed it. Thank You. A Great value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were very pleased with the tour, which gave us an excellent orientation to Venice. Very professional guide, interesting and informative. We definitely recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was seriously invested in the history behind Venice. He showed us little historical discoverable corners of Venice that we would have otherwise missed. At the end, our tour culminated in us standing on top of the San Marco Basillica watching the clock strike! HE timed it perfectly so that we could see the bell tower animate on the hour, with the intricate movements of the clock face. What a TREAT! The guy knows what he's doing!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved Elisabeth. She walked us thru history but included fun facts adding every day anecdotes. She did not let "strays" get in our way which was very important as the Basilica and the Doges Palace were quite busy,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the perfect way to see the major attractions. The guide was very knowledgeable. The group was not too large and we were able to skip all of the lines. Would recommend doing it this way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very well run with excellent presentation. Recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was incredible. It was unusually crowded in Venice that day but with this tour we had a great guide and skipped all of the long lines. Worth it!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The group was small and the guide was wonderful. He had extensive knowledge, he kept the tour interesting and kept us out of large crowds, easily moving us to the interesting areas and positioning us so we could enjoy the sites without being packed in. He did a wonderful job of accommodating the people with special needs.

Thank you

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We only had one day in Venice so taking this tour guaranteed you seeing all the best. We also included the Doges Palace option as well in one morning.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wonderful! Tour guide was pleasant, friendly and professional. Even though it was very hot, she remained charming and helpful. Loved the sites visited. Appreciated all the helpful information and front of the line access; especially once we saw the HUGE line waiting in the heat. Provided with headphones so that we could hear everything she said, even in the crowds. Guide was very accommodating in making sure we rested when possible, were hydrated and had access to restrooms...thank you! Lovely. I'd do it again (although, maybe in Fall rather tan Summer~whew)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The day we went for this tour it was raining . Although it was a bit difficult to walk in the narrow lanes with umbrellas and a pram it was a good tour . Since it was raining the weather was quite cool and the place a lot less crowded . The basilica in San Marco was a delight to see but cause of poor lighting inside the church we were not able to see the mosaics on the walls and ceiling . Dodges palace was amazing . Overall all a good experience and yes a big thank you to our guide who was not only good but also had a lot of information to share with us .

ADL
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Delivered on its promise. Tour guide was knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. Yes, we skipped the huge lines to the Basilica and the Doges Palace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour. Francesca was fantastic, she is extremely knowlegable and was happy to answer any questions. I thouroughly recommend this tour (including the doge's palace) to anyone who is a Venice novice (or indeed someone, like me, who has been many times before). Do the tour early in your visit as it gives you a good handle on this main areas to see/spend further time exploring.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Absolutely brilliant. the guide we had was very knowledgable and very engaging. I really liked the idea of listening to his narrative on headphones, it was so much easier to follow the stories he told particularly when we entered busy places, or where in the confines of religious buildings. Wonderful. Couldn't recommend enough.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

THis tour was excellent. It was really worth the money to skip the line and get all the facts by our wonderful guide (Emanuela). SHe was extremely knowledgeable. We also upgraded to include the Doge's Palace - well worth it!! The art is incredible and the history is as incredible!! The tour company is really Dark Rome Tours that the guide was from. Excellent!!!

Special Offer
$93.54 Save $49.48

From USD $ 44.06

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VENICEHALF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message