Insider's Guide to Venice

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 451 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

regislee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would defiantly recommend this in anyone interested in learning more about the history of the Doge's and life in the palace. We were able to go thru many different secret passageways and see the rooms where Casanova was kept as well as the torture chamber. Afterward we were able to walk thru the Palace and prison on our own. We had a fantastic guide who really knew her history and could tell how much she loved sharing it with us!

Curtis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was awesome! We saw many great things in the palace, including secret passageways.

claire p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

the guild was very good

david p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide, even though their second language was french, her english was perfect. Very informative and engaging, good sense of humour. Tour company was very organised and professional. Would recommend this tour to a first time visitor or to anyone wanting to discover more about the Doge's Palace.

jecro9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We didn't know what to expect, but found his tour very interesting and worthwhile. Elena was our guide, and she made what could have been quite dry history come alive in an amusing way. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Carlos G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is amazing!!
You will visit the palace from a different perspective
Secret passages, secret doors, prision, attic and lots of history!
Elena our guide was awesome.
She explainned everithing so vivid and intense.
She expanded all information beyond the palace and involved the city history.

Angela D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

chrisdomhall

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth the extra money to skip the line and enter the Palace first thing ahead of the lines that form outside. You enter and go straight to the secret prisons and rooms of the Palace that aren't accessible to the public. We had a fantastic guide Eleanor who was witty and incredibly knowledgeable and after spending about an hour and thirty minutes on the guided tour we were then free to wonder off and explore the rest of the Palace at our own pace! You don't need the audio guide as the information boards throughout the palace are very informative,

Dianne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was amazing- she engaged our grandchildren and showed her enthusiasm so that they were enthusiastic! Great tour if you think you know the Ducale/ you dont! Go on this tour

Gretchen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Very informative. Worth it. Got to walk across the Bridge of Sighs!

Thomas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide and very interesting.

Luba B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. However there should be a warning about the number of stairs involved for those with poor health.

jcohn1031

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pricey, but very interesting. This tour of the secret portions of the palace provides an insider's perspective of the black ops of midieval Venice which is particularly intriguing when juxtaposed against the state-sponsored intelligence operations of 21st century governments.

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Very interesting. Guide was very knowledgable . We enjoyed it and so did the kids, ages 15,12,and 10

Jillian C H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Jeffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had such a short time to explore Venice that we opted for a tour that would keep us out of long lines. It could also be accomplished in about 2 hours we had to leave for the airport about two hours after this tour ended in the morning. The tour was exactly what we had hoped for. We had great views of the beautiful Doge's Palace while also getting to explore areas the general public doesn't get to see--Casanova's prison cell, the work areas of the councils, and a tour of the prisons after crossing the Bridge of Sighs. What a delight to look through the bridge's grill to see tourists afar taking pictures of the bridge we were standing on.

As for the tour guide, she was a pure delight. She spoke excellent English we were either her first or second English tour, her sense of humor and drama enlivened the tour, and the small size of the tour helped us see and hear everything she wanted us to absorb. It was worth every penny!

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic and fascinating tour. We went through many other rooms and up into the roof, saw Casanova's cell and heard the amazing story of his escape. Our guide was brilliant and her passion for us to learn about and understand Venice as it was as well as how it is now was infectious. This tour really made by visit to Venice, highly recommend. You can explore the Doge's Palace afterwards having skipped the long line too.

tsummers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was excellent and very informative.

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide was absolutely wonderful...and she said it was her first time for this tour...couldn't have been a better expereince...very enjoyable...recommend it highly

joe.forbes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Loved the opportunity to see the prisons in the attic as well as the lower cells.

RICHARD S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fascinating history , very knowledgeable guide. Amazing interiors- so beautiful.

Rocky S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The behind the scenes type tour was very good. Many interesting things to learn about.

Nancy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a wonderful look into the Doges palace, not available to the public. Secret rooms, attic, weapons room and then, after the tour, you can visit all the places open to the public. The tour guide was informative, entertaining and, in short, fantastic!

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highlight of my trip to Venice. The guide was informative and funny. Responded patiently to any questions. The Palace one of the most stunning places I have visited.

Mr E W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous experience and a very good tour guide

Viewing 3 of 19

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 71.03

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731DOGES

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message