4.5 star rating: Recommended 299 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Venice, Italy
  • Duration:  85 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 299 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great behind-the-scenes tour of the Doge's palace, taking us into and past the cells, then up to the higher levels to view the offices. Our guide was very knowledgeable and pitched her information at just the right level. Probably the best part was that we were the only group going through this tour, so we had plenty of space to enjoy our surroundings, as we moved from room to room and up and down the narrow stairways. Definitely one of the best tours we've ever done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour i highly recommend. Our guide had a great knowledge of the palace and her history of the dungeons and torture area was fabulous.She was in london for some time therefore her english is exceptional.Her name unfortunately i have lost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

With only 2 and a half days in Venice, we decided to do 2 guided tours early on Saturday morning, and we are sure glad that we booked the Secret tour of the Doge's Palace! We had a great young tour guide, (who I can't remember her name!) who was very helpful and answered all our questions. Did not know the story of Casanova and how he escaped from the prison! The earpieces were helpful in listening to her speak, but as we were in some of the small narrow stairwells, and if we were at the back, the sound cut-out and in a fair bit, so missed some of her commentary. We just informed her and she repeated what she had shared. We carried on after the tour was over and walked through all the amazing gigantic rooms! Would not have missed this beautiful building. Thank you!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was great. The guide was good, but it was difficult to understand her and, therefore, we probably ("probably" because we could not understand her English) missed many of the important points.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting but too much to see in one day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was an Art Historian and grew up in Venice. She was dynamic and personable. Great true stories that brought Venice's history to life.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an outstanding tour! The guide was excellent and very thorough!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an interesting tour. The tour guide did a great job. I'm sorry I can't recall her name to give her kudos. It's not a royal palace like you would think with all the decadent decorating of that era but a place where the politicians worked. We toured all the prison cells and heard stories of how prisoners were housed as well as hearing Cassanovas story of his imprisonment which was quite interesting. We walked across the bridge of sighs and toured the palace and courtyards. The palace is huge! The morning we went on the tour was still cool I think it would be awful to try to tour the private upstairs areas if it were a hot day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

THis is very instructive and I have taken it twice. However, it is confusing to do this and then be offered a "regular" tour. Perhaps the differences between the two could be fully explained..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great personal interest stories from the guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very interesting ! We saw a lot of hidden places inside the doge's palace.
We even saw the cell of the famous Casanova.
The guide was excellent and knew a lot of things about the palace and Venice in general.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great guide. Informative, but not excessive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was on time. The tour guide was very good. The Doge's Palace is truly grand, and the secret tour was very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent t costour well worth the extra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent well worth the effort

From USD $ 77.16

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731DOGES

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message