Insider's Guide to Venice

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 143 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Janet J

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

This tour was good. The guide did not like Americans and made sure to tell everyone and pretty much blamed Americans for everything wrong that ever happened in Venice.

Caroline K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

The tour guide was interesting and St Mark's is exquisite but it was very hard to hear her as the headsets did not work properly.
Any way you can book a tour to get into St Mark's skipping the long lines is worth it - because the lines are very long - as is paying the extra to see the Golden Altar which was superb. Strongly recommend that you also pay the extra to go up to the top of St Mark's where the bronze horses and an interesting museum is. This was an especial highlight not included in this tour but they did at least tell us about it as an option.

maz040766

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

we didt make this tour as already had seen it on another tour

Mary T

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Good tour, pretty short. The meeting pojt with the guide was hard to find as it was not described adequately

Hana

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Skipping the line is worth the money to see this church!

Amy T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour guide was very knowledgeable but rushed us through the tour.

golfguy

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Was very difficult to understand the guide and therefore sure we missed a fair bit. The queue was not all that long so value for money to skip the line probably not there.

However once inside having a guide is of some use.

DonLegere

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

This tour was also provided by the same company as our Doge's Palace tour. We had a great guid, it was just unfortunate that the headsets they used were substandard

Ciaran K

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Great to jump the line, some interesting facts. The directions to find them where alittle loose.

Cheryl W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

The guide was very knowledgable about St. Marks square. However, due to a lot of static, it was difficult to hear her at times.

Adekunle O Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

This tour was quite short. The guide is very knowlegeable but the tour was very short, didn't seem like good value for the money. The advantage of paying for the tour is that you can avoid the long lines.

Belinda F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2010

The guide was hard to hear and hard to understand. Because the group was large, when we were inside St Mark's we sometimes could not get close enough to hear him. When we did, however, the information was interesting with just the right amout of detail.

Curtis B USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

The tour seemed a bit rushed.

IVEYK1

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The tour was only of St Mark's and started an hour late. The tour company was incredibly disorganized. That said the guide did an excellent job in St Marks and gave a greater understanding of the Basilica's history and art.

Jane B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Was good to skip the queues. Our guide was very hard to understand with a very strong accent. We were moved along at a rapid pace and he did say to us this was a new rule and before he had been allowed time to stand and describe everything in more detail.

Katherine M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

My daughter and I could not hear the tour guide because the basilica was so crowded and noisy and the headset they provided only had one ear piece. It was not worth my money.

Alana K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The company itself was good and the ladies who met us were lovely. The guide however was far from it. She seemed to be in a hurry, and rushed through the tour with all information given about the basilica beginning with 'of course, as you know..' um no we don't know; that's why we are doing a tour

David L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

OK - only wish the guide could speak English well enough to understand and also spend less time telling us how good it was getting past all the queues and how good it is to have a guide - not once but at least 4 times - long and laboured. Got stung and extra 4€ a head entrance fee when the ticket price was 2€

Ronit L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The lady guide's English was incomprehensible and it was further muffled by the poor sound equipment which seems not to work from time to time. But her English was really poor. I was annoyed by the fact that the tour company had not told us that there was an extra 4 Euro to enter the basilica. This should have been highlighted on the website or on the ticket, or included in the upfront purchase ticket. Secondly we were not told about backpacks, so I had to find a secure location to leave mine which meant I wasted time on the tour. This should be made very clear to customers right at start. However, the tour itself was ok as we got to go inside the Church without having to wait in a long queue.

Kimberley Z B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable, but the interference on the audio made it difficult to understand him.

Sarah C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Charming, knowledgable guide but very hard to hear or less you were very close to her. The sound system wasn't adequate enough in such a busy environment. Slightly frustrating.

Marilyn G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

The tour was all about the Church and was very boring. I wanted to see the church and the square, not to get a detailed lecture about every picture in the church and nothing about the square.

William F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

Our guide was knowledgeable but the audio was difficult to understand not sure if it was the equipment or the microphone. There was a lot of background noise and the sound was not clear to understand and get full value of the tour.

Daniel M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Unfortunately, we were late, and the tour left without us.

Rosanna D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Good tour however very hard to understand guide and to follow her. She did not have a flag or something to identify her. We needed to rush fast to ensure we would not loose her. Plus, hard to understand her due to her accent. She even answered her cell during the tour. Not sure if I would recommend this tour.

Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 28.57

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3303PAST

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message