4 star rating: Recommended 132 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Venice, Italy
  • Duration:  60 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 132 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

This tour was also provided by the same company as our Doge's Palace tour. We had a great guid, it was just unfortunate that the headsets they used were substandard

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Great to jump the line, some interesting facts. The directions to find them where alittle loose.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

The guide was very knowledgable about St. Marks square. However, due to a lot of static, it was difficult to hear her at times.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

This tour was quite short. The guide is very knowlegeable but the tour was very short, didn't seem like good value for the money. The advantage of paying for the tour is that you can avoid the long lines.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2010

The guide was hard to hear and hard to understand. Because the group was large, when we were inside St Mark's we sometimes could not get close enough to hear him. When we did, however, the information was interesting with just the right amout of detail.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

The tour seemed a bit rushed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The company itself was good and the ladies who met us were lovely. The guide however was far from it. She seemed to be in a hurry, and rushed through the tour with all information given about the basilica beginning with 'of course, as you know..' um no we don't know; that's why we are doing a tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

OK - only wish the guide could speak English well enough to understand and also spend less time telling us how good it was getting past all the queues and how good it is to have a guide - not once but at least 4 times - long and laboured. Got stung and extra 4€ a head entrance fee when the ticket price was 2€

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The lady guide's English was incomprehensible and it was further muffled by the poor sound equipment which seems not to work from time to time. But her English was really poor. I was annoyed by the fact that the tour company had not told us that there was an extra 4 Euro to enter the basilica. This should have been highlighted on the website or on the ticket, or included in the upfront purchase ticket. Secondly we were not told about backpacks, so I had to find a secure location to leave mine which meant I wasted time on the tour. This should be made very clear to customers right at start. However, the tour itself was ok as we got to go inside the Church without having to wait in a long queue.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable, but the interference on the audio made it difficult to understand him.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Charming, knowledgable guide but very hard to hear or less you were very close to her. The sound system wasn't adequate enough in such a busy environment. Slightly frustrating.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

The tour was all about the Church and was very boring. I wanted to see the church and the square, not to get a detailed lecture about every picture in the church and nothing about the square.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

Our guide was knowledgeable but the audio was difficult to understand not sure if it was the equipment or the microphone. There was a lot of background noise and the sound was not clear to understand and get full value of the tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Unfortunately, we were late, and the tour left without us.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Good tour however very hard to understand guide and to follow her. She did not have a flag or something to identify her. We needed to rush fast to ensure we would not loose her. Plus, hard to understand her due to her accent. She even answered her cell during the tour. Not sure if I would recommend this tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

brief

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2011

Our tour guide into St. Mark's was good. I appreciated the Skip the Line aspect, as the line was very long, however she took us on a quick circuit of the church and then out. I would have liked to stay and see the upper parts. Also, the entrance fee is not included and the guide from the service requested 3 Euros each for entrance. When we got to the counter, the sign clearly stated an admission fee of 2 Euros each.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

Because of flooding in St. Mark's square the "skip the line part" was not available --- everyone used the same door --- while this was unavoidable most of tour time was spent waiting to get in. Although we had head sets our guide's English was still difficult to understand and hard to "follow". She wanted to be successful but the tour was disappointing.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

I'm sure if there weren't a million people in Venice the week we were there (film festival etc. going on) this might have been a better tour. As it was we couldn't hear our guide, St. Mark's Square was flooded from the thunder storm the night before so we just gave up and left. This may not be a fair review due to the conditions but the group was far too large and if you can't hear, what's the point? Perhaps a different time of year it may be better.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

The main value of this tour is skipping the line. Otherwise you could probably do this on your own with the help of a downloaded audio tour or travel books. The guide shared useful information however we spent very little time actually in St. Marks Basillica. Also, when the tour concluded it really should have ended inside the basillica rather than in the square. This would have given others not going on to the Doge's Palace tour a chance to really appreciate St. Mark's. Once we left we were unable to enter again without paying and standing in line. Photos were not permitted inside the basillica, so we would have liked to visit the church gift shop to purchase post cards. We couldn't find any other place that sold pictures of the basillica's interior. Staying inside the basillica was never given as an option. If you do decide to go into the church, be sure to pay the extra few euros to go back behind the altar. It's worth a look!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

The guides were real nice and real informative but the tour was basically walking down San Marco square and into the church. You skip the lines, yes, but was it worth the money. Plus, you have to pay an extra 2 just to get inside the alter area which I guess they tell you but it seems like they should cover it. Skip it. Skip San Marco inside. Venice go once, don't go back. Too expensive.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

A bit of something and nothing, but was interesting none the less. Just a quick tour of the Basilica and information about the Palace and the Bridge of Sighs.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

It was OK. I would recommend it only if you don't know the history of the square or St. Marks church. The group was too big and the guide was hard to understand.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

We arrived in the location in front of the pre-ticketed door 15 minutes prior to our required time. No tour guide showed!! We went to the door and showed the attendant our form. He had no idea what tour group it was. We watched several groups form and enter. We asked all of them if they included me. After 30 minutes I leave.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

The only positive of this tour was skip the line part. What I feel dissatisfaction about is:
1) you need to call to confirm your attendance. We had to call from our hotel and got additional charge for this.
2) The tour operator charged us 3 Euro per person to see Pala D'Oro. The price 2 Euro per person is clearly posted inside the Basilica.
3) the tour guide was helpless to deliver any of tour info. Nobody can't hear her through the devices provided.

From USD $ 20.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3303PAST

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message