Insider's Guide to Venice

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 2821 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

rld24rose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I am so glad I booked this tour. The walking tour was so fantastic. Barbara was such a great tour guide. The boat tour was good but the tour guide not so good. He must have been new.

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very well done and organized with great tour guides for both the walking tour and the boat tour. We missed our boat tour time as it can take a while to get around anywhere in Venice between all the walking and water taxis, and when I called the local number, I was told to be there for the next tour time and they would put us on the stand by list, which they did. We got on the next boat tour with no problem. I thought that was very accommodating.

Shelley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The walking tour was fabulous even though it started in the rain : Very informative!

pavel k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a very good introduction to Venice, showing the off the beaten track parts of the city was particularly interesting. The boat trip was brilliant we got to see so much more of the city from the water and the water taxi's that were used were superb. We were so glad we took this tour on our 2nd day in Venice as it helped us have a much more enjoyable stay as we were encouraged to stray from the general tourist paths. Well worth the fee and a very informative guide who actually lives in Venice.

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We really enjoyed this tour, guides were very engaged, though we'd have liked to spend a bit more time in San Marco. The walking tour is fast paced and very informative. Gabriella did a fabulous job on leading us on he Grand Canal tour, and we especially liked the back canals. Thanks to her, we explored some new areas and found a fabulous place to eat in a new to us area.
The people who were so late took away a bit of time from our tour.

Mrs Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommended. Our walking tour guide, Andrea, had a great knowledge of Venice and a great sense of humour to match. Sadly I can't recall the name of our guide on the boat trip, but he too had an excellent knowledge of the city and a wonderful sense of humour. I would commend this tour to all comers.

Sherin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour of Venice and the boat ride was perfect!

Stephen R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and I gave it a 5 star for both the walking tour and the boat tour but of course the boat tour was our favorite. Both guides were very informed and fun!

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Both tours were marvellous. Adriana was our guide on the boat tour, group of only 8. She was very friendly, knowledgeable in every way and my wife who admits to short-term concentration was spellbound for the whole tour.
The walking guide was also a very professional lady with a red umbrella easy to follow, a very friendly and knowledgeable guide. Group size was only 9 but we may have been lucky. We believe she was a local was and a mine of information. She gave us a very varied tour including many facets of Venetian life both past and present. We think her name was Philippa or similar.
It was appreciated that we went into San Marco Basilica a wonderful experience without queuing.

Both guides were very pleased to answer questions. Fabulous tours.

Just to mention that the meeting place Royal Gardens was hard to find but once we realised it's Palazzo Reale on the maps it was the ideal centrally located, quiet place to meet right on the waterfront so close to San Marco. We suggest you put it's location on your website. Also several other people cruising on Royal Caribbean hadn't realised they could do the the boat tour the day before the walking tour fitting in with the boat docking and sailing times over the 2 days. The nice lady I spoke to in Vegas was very helpful and she specified on the booking confirmation how we wanted the tours to be split. She even sympathised with our dreadful weather in England.

We will use Viator again.
Cheers
Rick and Trina

Dean Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great! We couldn't have been happier. She share excellent information, spoke clearly. This tour was a great first experience for us!
So glad we found aviator!!

Alison P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent walking tour, very knowledgable guide and great system of audio with earphones to make sure everyone could hear.

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Boat trip guided was especially interesting - we saw parts of Venice that we would not reach simply walking.

Carolyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We met our guide Maria and were given headsets to clearly hear her along the walk. She spoke English ok, had to focus a bit to understand but I was still able to get the gist of it. She was very knowledgeable of Venice's history, being born and raised there. She took us along walkways that are not traveled by tourist, mainly locals in the hopes to avoid all the tourists. We toured thru the St. Mark's Basilica, skipping the long lines of course. Maria was witty and we really enjoyed our time with her. Then we met up a couple hours later in the same location for our boat tour. Our tour guide was a Venice native as well, blonde and beautiful. I'm bummed I can't remember her name...Maria maybe? She was extremely sweet and kind. Always smiling and did a wonderful job informing us of all the lovely sites along the way. The group only had 8 people so seeing the sights was perfect! Getting good pictures was perfect. The weather was absolutely beautiful all day, clear blue skies! Our driver of the boat did an outstanding job as well. We really enjoyed this whole tour! Very highly recommend this tour to help get your bearings of the island!

Samir M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

In Italian - Perfecto! I learned much more with this tour. Especially with Claduia.

Vickie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour. The first part was a walking tour including a skip the line into the San Marco Bacillica. The tour guide was very informative. Nice to have a little break before the boat part of the tour which was fantastic. Highly recommended to see all of Venice.

helen.foster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Both the walking tour and boat trip were superb. Marco our guide was entertaining and informative pitching his talk at just the right level. The boat trip was on a small motor boat with just 9' of us and we had an excellent tour around the smaller canals as well as the Grand canal . Thoroughly recommended.

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was very good and knowledgeable. on hindsight we wish we had booked a little longer tour but we enjoyed the time we had.

Ironda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Enjoyed the walking and boat tour greatly. Good guides, lots of information presented.

Blanca T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was cool but a little confusing. We thought we were going to be on a tour the whole day... it was actually a long walking tour in the morning and then you had to return 3 hours later for a 1 hour tour ride on a boat. Still a lot of fun but seemed confusing. The boat ride is worth it to see more of Venice you havent seen and alot of info :.

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Outstanding! Canal tour was an unexpected win! Max did a great job on the boat telling us all about the different sites you don't see walking. St Marks is a definite. Again, so worth the tour because of all the extra details.

Atterbury A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was excellent and his English too. I am sorry I forgot his name. A tour well worth taking!

Susan M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

If you have a limited amount of time in Venice this is a great way to see the highlights.

Gary Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

For anyone short on time and wanting to get a better perspective of Venice, including key historical sites with commentary, this tour delivers. The guide, Marco, was excellent. Great understanding of history with self-deprecating humor. The tour requires moderate walking but has frequent stops for rest. The selection of historical sites were well balanced with the narrative on modern day Venice.

Titilade O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tour was as advertised and good value for money. There was plenty of time between walking tour and boat ride which for a small group.

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Everything went well, except for the fact that the weather didn't cooperate. We saw a lot despite the downpour. Our guide was wonderful. What separates Viator from the rest are the headphones so that one can hear the guide even with throngs of tourists milling about.
We take Viator tours in every city we visit, and have never been disappointed.

Viewing 4 of 113

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 72.58

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635V1DAY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message