4.5 star rating: Recommended 113 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Venice, Italy
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 113 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Calum McLean
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

As a first time visitor I was looking for a tour to provide me with a background and some history of Venice. This tour fitted the bill absolutely perfectly.

The tour was split in two elements, first of all an hour boat trip on a taxi boat around the north part of the island and Grand Canal. Our guide Christina, for this section was engaging and very informative.

The second part of the tour was a two hour walking section lead by Barbara; a detailed description of the square and St Marks Basilica was provided, inside the basilica we were taken upstairs to the balcony area to see the piazza in all its glory. After the basilica we were taken on a walk up to the Rialto area. Along the way were provided with a commentary on all the important and interesting buildings and how Venice has changed over the centuries.

I have joined other tours managed by Dark Rome (as this one is) and found their guides to be extremely informative, as mentioned above, both guides were excellent and really helped make this a fantastic tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very well covered for all the highlights in Venice. A must have tour for all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic tour to get your bearings. We booked this for our arrival day and it was just brilliant. We took the tips from our excellent guides and used this to navigate our way for the rest of our trip. The boat ride was super and the guides were knowledgable and flexible to the groups needs.Worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Faultless two walking tours and boat ride. easy to find the rep at the start, who was there well ahead of time. Guides were great and knowledgeable. Small group. Thoroughly enjoyable day, which underpinned a great few days in Venice. Bob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The Doge Palace tour with Viator was sold out but purchased tickets from the museum prior to our arrival. Highly recommend the Secret Itineraries to get to the restricted areas before the walking/boat tour. Tour guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Nice way to see the sites of the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We throughly enjoyed this tour. Both tour guides were very knowledgeable and really brought Venice to lie.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The timing of the tour was great. First the three hours seeing the Doge Palace was great. Then there was a 2-hour break. Then we met a different guide at the same place for the Grand Canal water tour which was so informative and pleasant. The third part, the walking tour with yet a different guide, was wonderful. All three guides were very professional and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was a great tour. The combination of boat and walking was a perfect introduction for us to Venice. We saw areas that most tourists never see and the walking guide gave us great information to be able to navigate this confusing city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The guides were fantastic, this tour really helps with navigating around Venice. Well recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The best part of our vacation, the guides were very knowledgeable and interesting. We were very pleased with both the Doges palace and the Best of Venice Tour. We are glad with did both..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Really enjoyed this tour. It covered the highlights of Venice on both water and land. Meeting place is on the bridge right next to St. Marks Square. Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Both walk and canal trip excellent. Great guides, very knowledgeable and interesting stories, eg, we saw where the Marco Polo family lived. Lots of information on architectural styles in Venice. Avoided the line and straight into San Marco church which is stunning, particularly if you climb to the top. Lots of quirky parts of Venice visited. Didn't help my orientation of Venice, still got lost many times after tour ended. And, no, it's not fun getting lost in Venice, it's annoying. The shop owners change the street signs and signs to the Rialto and San Marco, apparently, to ensure you walk past their shops.

Zenobia L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great tour. The local guide was knowledgeable, personable and a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very good, highly recommended. The water Taxi ride was a real gem. The walking tour could be have been longer. we verymuch enjoyed it because it took us away from the usual sites to places we would not have gone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The most excellent way to see Venice - first by water with and excellent guide and then a walking tour, with an equally excellent guide. I would strongly recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The boat ride was a lot of fun on the Grand Canal and smaller canals. Our guide was excellent, giving lots of information and history of everything we saw. We also loved the walking tour, taking us through back streets where it was less crowded to see things we wouldn't have found on our own. The tour of San Marco was brief, but the view from the upper terrace was spectacular. Great tour and loved our guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a terrific introduction to the Grand Canal and the areas not too far from St Mark's Square. We had two female guides, both terrific -- knowledgable and energetic. I would recommend this tour, at least with these guides!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Breath taking view's of the city!! Very good information about the history of the city and the Grand canal.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

One of the best trips we have done. We were actually in a group of six and the headsets are really good so you hear everything. Water taxi ride and the walk were really informative, right length and we would recommend to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

First things first, great organisation! No delays, guides and water taxi were ready for us at each location. The tours, being in small groups, allowed us to cover a lot of ground and information with excellent and dynamic guides. I really reacommend both Viator and this tour with the Doge Palace option.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was excellent and informative. The only complaint which I have seen previously on reviews was the Taxi ride in the canal. Only a couple passengers can really see because of the covered passenger area with miniscule windows and the stifling heat in summer. I was fortunate in that I got in the rearmost seat and was able to stand to see and take pictures. But the downside of being there was the engine noise made it hard to hear at times.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was quite knowledgeable about the city and the history. We really enjoyed all she had to show us. Great way to get a feel for Venice.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very informative tour. Our guide Stephano was excellent. The best part of the tour was when we got out of the crowded area of St.Mark's Square in to the quieter streets of Venice.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very informative tour and the best way to learn the history of Venice. I believe it was about 3.5 hours and most people in my group said the walking part could have been a little shorter. Guide was very good. It is a very interesting place.

Special Offer

From USD $ 104.73

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VENICESMALL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message