4.5 star rating: Recommended 100 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Venice, Italy
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Tour: Best of Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Water Taxi Ride. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 100 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The guides were fantastic, this tour really helps with navigating around Venice. Well recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The best part of our vacation, the guides were very knowledgeable and interesting. We were very pleased with both the Doges palace and the Best of Venice Tour. We are glad with did both..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Really enjoyed this tour. It covered the highlights of Venice on both water and land. Meeting place is on the bridge right next to St. Marks Square. Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Both walk and canal trip excellent. Great guides, very knowledgeable and interesting stories, eg, we saw where the Marco Polo family lived. Lots of information on architectural styles in Venice. Avoided the line and straight into San Marco church which is stunning, particularly if you climb to the top. Lots of quirky parts of Venice visited. Didn't help my orientation of Venice, still got lost many times after tour ended. And, no, it's not fun getting lost in Venice, it's annoying. The shop owners change the street signs and signs to the Rialto and San Marco, apparently, to ensure you walk past their shops.

Zenobia L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great tour. The local guide was knowledgeable, personable and a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very good, highly recommended. The water Taxi ride was a real gem. The walking tour could be have been longer. we verymuch enjoyed it because it took us away from the usual sites to places we would not have gone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The most excellent way to see Venice - first by water with and excellent guide and then a walking tour, with an equally excellent guide. I would strongly recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The boat ride was a lot of fun on the Grand Canal and smaller canals. Our guide was excellent, giving lots of information and history of everything we saw. We also loved the walking tour, taking us through back streets where it was less crowded to see things we wouldn't have found on our own. The tour of San Marco was brief, but the view from the upper terrace was spectacular. Great tour and loved our guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a terrific introduction to the Grand Canal and the areas not too far from St Mark's Square. We had two female guides, both terrific -- knowledgable and energetic. I would recommend this tour, at least with these guides!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Breath taking view's of the city!! Very good information about the history of the city and the Grand canal.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

One of the best trips we have done. We were actually in a group of six and the headsets are really good so you hear everything. Water taxi ride and the walk were really informative, right length and we would recommend to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

First things first, great organisation! No delays, guides and water taxi were ready for us at each location. The tours, being in small groups, allowed us to cover a lot of ground and information with excellent and dynamic guides. I really reacommend both Viator and this tour with the Doge Palace option.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was quite knowledgeable about the city and the history. We really enjoyed all she had to show us. Great way to get a feel for Venice.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very informative tour. Our guide Stephano was excellent. The best part of the tour was when we got out of the crowded area of St.Mark's Square in to the quieter streets of Venice.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very informative tour and the best way to learn the history of Venice. I believe it was about 3.5 hours and most people in my group said the walking part could have been a little shorter. Guide was very good. It is a very interesting place.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A really good introduction to the most iconic sights in Venice.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

good overall, would like to see a bit more at the Water Taxi ride.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good tour in order to see so much in a short time.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was quite nice, I had 2 different guides: one for Doge's Palace (b/c I had an "upgraded" version), and another one for the boat and walking tour. Both were Italian and very interesting to listen to.
I wish the tour description said more clearly what the "upgrade" is about. If you upgrade to Doge's Palace, this means 2 separate tours. The one at Doge's Palace is 1h15min tour (starts at 9am) with the guide and after that you examine the Palace with many paintings by yourself. For some reason, the guide part didn't include the rooms with the paintings. I felt somewhat weird, b/c everyone around was either with a real guide or with an audio guide, but I had neither of those. After I was done with the Palace, there was a break until 2pm, when the walking and boat tour started. That tour was perfect.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The guide was very cordial and informative, explaining things and pointing out interesting things to see. She took us along the lesser-traveled streets in Venice to see the real Venice.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

A good tour, loved the canal water taxi ride, and the short walking tour. The "downer" was the visit to St Marks, the interior of this was dingy and not impressive, visited other churches/cathedrals in Venice that were more impressive and better cared for.

David D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Nice tour with a nice boat ride - great way to see Venice

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Our guides for both the boat tour and walking tour are friendly and very knowledgeable. A pleasant experience on our first visit to the beautiful water city.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

highly recommended to see the best of Venice!

Special Offer

From USD $ 91.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VENICESMALL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message