Insider's Guide to Venice

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 463 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Mary R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A great experience! I loved the gondola ride and serenade! Highlight of the evening was the dinner! The food and service was wonderful!

Keith W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The Gondola ride and serenade dinner is a lovely evening out. The restaurant is down a small side street and can be hard to find without a map.

George S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Had the best time ever. Will recommend Viator to friends and family. Well done.

Samantha B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I did this trip for my mum she loved it to bits, although it was a serenade we were in a convey and didnt get one in our boat which I expected and went around in a circle, maybe because there was 30 people. You can get a bottle of Prosecco to take on board for 7 euros as an extra which was lovely, its an exeprience and did enjoy and is much expensive to do when you get there on your own. The resturant is a nightmare to find as I have read in other reviews you just have to ask, the menu is simple but nice what you expect for this kind of money, the waiters are lovely so we really enjoyed it.

Daniel F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

When this excursion was finished, my wife and I both said how fortunate we were to have experienced something so beautiful and unforgettable. Every turn in the canals is like a painting to behold. The singer and accordian player set the mood, and made the gondola ride thrilling. This vacation was to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This gondola ride, serenade and dinner were a beautiful, romantic way to end our vacation. Thank you Viator for delivering what you said you would.

Charles M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We were very lucky. They took us in a fleet of 9 gondolas, and the view was so fantastic that onlookers and individual gondolas simply envied us. It was far better than going in your own gondola.

Calindra W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

It was wonderful although I got a little wet, but it was so nice it was actually refreshing.

Ryan Shane F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

It was perfect! Lovely weather, very romantic, and just the right time for me to propose to my sweetheart after we kissed going under the bridge. My girlfriend said "Yes"! We both enjoyed the dinner on the river at a special restaurant. She was happily surprised and loved her ring!

Earl R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

This was worth the whole trip to Venice. Gondoliers and singer were wonderful.

Dale R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

The gondola ride and serenade was beautiful, everything we expected it to be. I'd advise just doing the gondola on its own as the restaurant included in the dinner package wasn't great. It was a French restaurant, and the wine list was one of the most expensive we saw in Venice. The food was OK, but we felt there were many other restaurants in the area where we would have had a nicer, more affordable Italian meal. All in all though, the gondola ride is a must do! The singer and accordion player made it perfect.

James P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Gondolas and Venice go together to cement a magic picture, and the serenade made it all the more special. The restaurant served excellent food in a great atmosphere. My wife and I had a great night.

Jane B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

We did this on the first evening in town and it set the tone for the whole week. Excellent! A problem was that the gondolier did not know anything about escorting the group to the restaurant. It was a good thing that we had a map and went on our own with another couple to the restaurant. The restaurant owners knew about the tour and accommodated us without problem. Besides that, the food was superb! The spaghetti with clams was the best we found in the city.

Jennifer R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Great planned night-out.

Susan B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

We four women traveling together did this the last evening of our two-week vacation. I thought it would be cheesy, but it was wonderful. The music was fantastic - our serenader had a terrific voice, and he was accompanied by an accordionist. The sounds going through all the small canals were incredible. Although we had a little trouble finding the restaurant and asked for help at several hotels and restaurants along the way, it was worth it. We made new friends from Vancouver and Washington, DC, and had a wonderful meal together. We highly recommend this to anyone and would definitely do it again. Remember to print out TWO confirmations - one for the gondola ride and one for the restaurant. Have fun!!!!!

Michelle D. K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

I selected this tour because of all the wonderful reviews. It is a MUST DO when in Venice overnight. The place to meet the gondolas itself was worth the experience. A gondola parking lot on the side of a square deep in the maze of Venice. We paddled through the various canals as an operatic singer sang to us in Italian. MAGICAL!!!! We passed by people eating dinner who were thrilled to share the experience with us. The singer was accompanied by an accordion player, which was a huge addition, but honestly, this guy was great!!!! The entire experience was WORTH EVERY EURO!!

I do have one not so good comment. I was under the impression that the total passengers in a gondola was 6, but we had 8. Isn't a big deal, but want to be honest.

Dinner is in a small restaurant, a treasure hunt from the gondola dock. I love the labyrinthine style of Venice, so I appreciated the mission. But you need to be savvy and on your game to find it. We were seated in the corner below very dusty bottles of wine that clearly hadn't moved for years. The service was wonderful and gracious, and the food was excellent.

John G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

We loved the gondola ride, it's actually great fun to ride in the flotilla and have the serenade alongside you. It is also a much more value for money way of enjoying a gondola experience. We were on the 7.30 pm gondola which was lovely as we experienced the sun setting and Venice becoming lit up as we sailed round. The local tour company were also extremely helpful as we were due to do the tour the evening before but missed our flight, but they just changed the tour over to the following night for us. The restaurant is very difficult to find! We knew this from previous reviews so printed off several maps, including the one from their website but still struggled to find it!! The food was delicious though and we got a four course meal when we had only been expecting two. We would definitely recommend that anyone going to Venice take advantage of this tour.

Rose T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Gondola ride was fantastic. Our gondolier was very funny and entertaining. We had a good group, BELLISIMO!!

Christopher P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The gondola ride was excellent. We made some new friends with a family on our gondola ride and ended up sharing dinner with them. The service at Hostaria Ai Coristi was impeccable and the food melted in my mouth. I would highly recommend this tour. Scout out how to get from the gondola to dinner as it is confusing trying to find the restaurant from the gondola.

Calvin H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Everything was great! I would do it again. Be sure to scout out the restaurant location ahead of time. It's quite a ways from the gondola dock and can be difficult to find.

David H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The gondolier singer was good. This was something that had I not read other reviews, I would've been disappointed. But I knew what to expect, so everything was pretty good.

Mel C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It was wonderful. Instructions were very clear about how to find the gondola ride. The gondola ride was about forty five minutes. The music was wonderful. One comment: you could include a small map on how to find the restaurant, as Venice can be very confusing. The meal was wonderful. Thanks for a great experience.

Brad T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

We were very happy with this tour. Our 35 minute gondola ride was actually one hour long, not bad at all. We traveled in a fleet of at least 6 gondolas through the Grand Canal and smaller but very beautiful side canals. As you'll read in the description of this experience the gondola is shared with two other couples, but it was still fun and definitely worth the cost. Dinner was also very good. Considering Venice dinner prices this trip was worth it just for the meal. We would do it again without hesitation. My only recommendation is that you figure out how to get to the restaurant before the gondola ride and before sunset. When we asked for simple directions on how to walk to Hostaria Ai Coristi the previously very friendly gondolier became very very aggressive, abrasive and was less than helpful that's being polite. But, once we wandered around for about 30 minutes on our own we were able to find the restaurant and the service there was very good. Overall, it was a very good experience, well worth the cost.

Faye S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

A must-do while in Venice. The music and gondola captain were quite entertaining. Quite fun. We felt Viator should have a detailed map of how to get to the restaurant, though.

Phil D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

However, we were not aware that we needed to have two vouchers one for the Gondola and one for the dinner. Unfortunately the gondolier was quite rude to us and we felt embarrassed by the way he spoke to us in front of the other tourists. Once we were on the gondola we had a magical experience.

DORIS J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

This was the highlight of the entire trip. Five gondolas traveled together...one held an accordionist and a marvelous male singer whose voice echoed across the water. Venetian residents were out on their balconies and on the bridges to listen. The gondolas turn into impossibly narrow canals, and you get to see the private homes! The dinner was excellent also. I highly recommend this treat. I fell in love with Venice and would go back tomorrow.

Viewing 5 of 19

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 101.01

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2495TOUR6

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message