4.5 star rating: Recommended 444 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Venice, Italy
  • Duration:  1 hour 10 minutes

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 444 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an excellent tour and Massimo, our tour guide, was very knowledgable and helpful. The tour lasted about an hour, and covered a number of the smaller back canals as well as the grand canal. There were 8 ppl on the tour, and we could all hear Massimo and see all the interesting sights very clearly. We would definitely recommend this tour. It was one of our many highlights in Venice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a great introduction to Venice, the staff was very nice and very knowledgeable.
The over view and details of the canal tour were a great way to get familiar and enable us to navigate Venice on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great way to see highlights of Venice. Tour guide was very personable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A must do in Venice which provides really good information as we travel along the canal..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This is a fantastic way to see Venice... if you do no other tour, don't miss this one. Our guide, Christina, was superb, very friendly and interesting. We will come again, and do this tour again, too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great thing to do in Venice, the guides were very knowledgable and friendly, we learned a lot of interesting things about the city, highly recommended !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Better than a gondolier. We did both and agreed that the boat takes you through all of Venice to explore not just the tourist parts. Loved every minute

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great, would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

My husband and I loved our Grand Canal Tour from start to finish! We left it to the last day before we took the train down to Rome. Many people don't know this, but the ONLY way to see the Grand Canal (which is a must-see if you are going to Venice) is by boat. There are no alleys, streets, or sidewalks to see the buildings from and a private water taxi is expensive and you would not understand what you are seeing. Our tour included about 5 people, which was nice and the boat was comfortable enough to stand up in to snap photos. Our guide was very knowledgeable and interesting to listen to, and had a microphone and speakers even in this small boat so not a word was missed. She was happy to answer questions and the tour was relaxed...no feeling of being rushed. Directions on where to meet were easy to understand and there was no time wasted standing around waiting. We left on time and it was lovely!! I'm so thankful we didn't miss this opportunity. I highly recommend this tour if you really want to see all of Venice. The city is breathtaking from the Grand Canal!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Well organised tour with a very knowledgeable local guide. Very small groups, plenty of time for questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our guide knew her facts and we enjoyed our tour very much. The pick up and drop off at St. Mark's square area was efficient. I can highly recommend this tour, it was well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The Grand Canal Boat Tour was magical. I booked for 4 of us and 2 others joined the tour. We had a delightful tour guide who was genuinely warm and very informative. I booked on line and the instructions as to where to meet and submit your voucher was very straightforward. However, I did notice that it would have been cheaper to book at the booking office at St Mark's Square. I am not sure if this would be the same standard as the Viator company so maybe it would be a risk. Despite the slightly extra cost I would book with Viator again. A truely memorable journey. (p.s. it was an evening tour and the weather was glorious and no swell).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Wonderful trip! Easy to find the meeting point. The boat was comfortable, even if some of us had to be inside which meant we couldn't see as well. The guide was quite nice and very knowledgable, and the only complaint we had is that the sound system on the boat made it hard for the people in the back to hear everything he said. We felt that we saw all parts of the city, and my daughter who is a photographer got great photos!! We only had a short time in the city, and this trip made us feel that we got the most out of our time there!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Loved it. Great guide with very informative commentary. Fabulous way to see Venice from the water, after having walked the laneways for a couple of days.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

A great way to spend an evening in Venice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Outstanding! This tour was well organised, with very clear directions detailing where to meet. Our guide was excellent. She had a fantastic knowledge of Venice and pointed out many areas/buildings of interest throughout the tour. She also shared her excellent historical knowledge, and was clearly very passionate about her city. There were 6 of us on the boat, allowing room for everyone to stand and take in the sites. This trip is excellent value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was an incredible experience. We took to the Grand Canal in a local water taxi and saw each part of Venoce from the water. Great views, history, and tour guide. :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Great tour! You get to see other parts of the island that you wouldn't on regular transportation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Great way to see the Grand Canal! Very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was an excellent way to see Venice. Great tour guide and worth every penny and the length of the ride was just right. We covered the whole length of the Grand Canal and we had the whole boat to ourselves.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The boat on the picture is exactly what you get - fits up to 7 people I think. We really enjoyed the tour. The instructions were clear, so we easily found the place of gathering. You can see a lot of Venice from water, get a feel of it. The tour guide was also very knowledgeable. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Great - really well organised, just our family on th boat, great guide, highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

the tour is 45-50 minutes but very comfortable and informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent!!! Very beautiful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Our Tour guide was very knowledgeable and made sure she engaged with us all on the launch. Unfortunately I cannot remember her name but we did thank her personally on the day. A very enjoyable tour

From USD $ 52.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635VENCAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message