5 star rating: Highly Recommended 31 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Venice, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Venice Photography Walking Tour: A Day in Life of Venice. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 31 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Mario was great. I didn't realize this is basically a photography lesson using Venice as a classroom. Mario is very passionate about Photos and Venice. Bring an SLR - not worth it with a point and shoot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I was blown away by this tour. Our guide Mario was knowledgeable on all of the cameras in our group and very helpful in getting the most out of my new equipment. On an exceptional vacation this tour is the one we talk with friends about the most. Having a working, local photographer of this caliber really made it worthwhile. So much of what I have read and studied online, came alive in the alleys and squares of Venice. Thanks, Senor Mario.

Keiko M
Japan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I'm really glad to join this tour, because the photographer who tautght us how to take pictures was very charming man. The walking with him was the most fantastic time during our trip in Venice. In addition, the restaurant he recommended was not in any guide book but better than the other famous restaurant I reserved. I can’t thank him, Mario, too much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was a fantastic way to see Venice. Our photographer/guide was excellent. Very personable and full of helpful information about photography and Venice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

My Photography Walking Tour with Mario was wonderful. As I only purchased my camera just before leaving home I had not had time to set it and the first thing he did was set the camera for me and then he taught me how to frame my photos. We visited a lot of out-of-the-way places that I would never have found on my own, and I learned a great deal abour photography and Venice from him. Thank you Mario, I have used your advice and teachings for the rest of my wonderful holiday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Our guide knew all the best places to capture unique images that together told a distinct visual story of Venice. He also helped us to improve our composition, use of light and perspective.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Our guide couldn't have been better. He taught us a lot and we have some really amazing photos of Venice. He even helped us find a fabulous local place for dinner and helped us find a travel agency and get train tickets for the rest of our Italy trip. Our trip would not have been as enjoyable without our assistance from Mario. THANKS!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

I absolutely loved my tour! It was the best way to see Venice as well as learn about photography from an expert. I found a whole new way of looking into my camera and waiting for the best shot. I had so much fun as well! Recommend this to anyone with a camera.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I loved our guide!! I am new to photography, he taught me so much!! I would have loved a full day tour!! I would recommend this tour... 5 stars!!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Mario is a knowledgeable leica photographer with a good knowledge of venice. He was puntual, polite and helpful in creating great photo images. Frankly if you are not into photography pick another tour.This is a photgraphy lesson by a pro in a great outdoor location. That's what I wanted. I loved it

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Be prepared and know your camera well to get the most from your course. Be ready with questions you want to ask of a professional digital photographer. Group size is not specified so numbers could affect quality of instruction. I was the only client on the day I took it. After overcoming my surprise from expecting a group lesson we spent an enjoyable morning wandering the streets of Venice photographing architectural details since that is what I wanted to focus on. Unfortunately on Sundays the markets are not open so we did not get that opportunity but suggestions were made on how best to photograph it later in the week.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The walk itself was beautiful; however, the guide, Mario, was very stuck on a program of basic photography skills and didn't adapt well to my level of knowledge.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Worth doing if you have a really good camera. I would suggest that you give a specific idea of what you want to photograph as we ended up with lots of photos of parts of buildings. We did pick up some tips we used afterwards, such as framing and positioning yourself to see the best photo plus taking portraits. We also visited quiet parts of Venice. Our favourite place was the quirky Aqua Alta bookshop.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

My wife and I were the only participants which should have been good but we were disappointed with the content. We also think the price is very expensive. It would have been better to have received more education and advice on the types of photos we prefer to take rather than have the whole time focussing on a series of street shots.

From USD $ 93.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3061VEN_PH1

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message