• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 224 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Venice, Italy
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 224 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a tour of the Dorsoduro Sestier. The male guide was knowledgeable and humerous and had a store of stories and anecdotes. The walking was easy and at a leisurely pace.
The Gondola ride was generally a waste of time - there is little to see in the dark in unlit canals, especially if the gondolier doesn't want to explain what or where we were going.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This turned into a single couple trip, we were the only ones on the tour. Great female guide who did a great job of showing us an overview of the area and we returned to several spots the next day. The gondola was also just us and other than the cold. it was superb.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Very good tour. The guide made it interesting and included the right mix of local history to it and you get a Gondola Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The walking tour was interesting and informative and took you to parts of Venice we never would have found on our own. however I would not recommend this to anyone who has trouble walking. It was fast paced thru the difficult uneven streets of Venice and up and down steps going over bridges.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Too,too long.... No breaks,walking on uneven stones for way too long Terrible experience, and a guide who could care less.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The guide was awesome! She made the trip fun and educational. The weather was extremely windy this night, nothing she could do. The group was small enough that everyone was able to stay together. Venice is a beautiful city and the explanations for what we were seeing made it even better. The next day when we went out on our own, we were able to see in the daylight, the houses and waterfront we walked the night before. Highly recommended. The gondola ride was kinda scary, but mostly because it was so windy and rough that they had to go into the small canals to stay our of the wind.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Experienced tour guide, she knew every corner in Venice. The gondola ride is nice at night.
It would be very helpful to provide map and instruction how to get to the meeting place.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This was one excursion that I wanted to do simply because we had travelled all the way to Venice and would not want to leave the city without having the unique experience of a Gondola ride.

We were travelling with another couple so I booked the ride online in advance (for 4 people) all on one reservation so we would be sure to get into the same gondola... as it turned out, there wasjust the 4 of us in the boat without any other people. This was nice because some of the gondolas can hold 4-8 people so it was like a personal ride for us.

Never having been to Venice before, it was a new experience however I was REALLY disappointed in how dirty the canal water was. Since there are no cars in Venice proper (only boats), these canals are basically the main traffic thoroughfare and we saw quite a bit of litter floating in the canals. When you are taken into the back canals on your gondola ride, the smell can be pretty overwhelming. I don't know what water treatment system is used in Venice but judging from the smells in the back canals, I suspect some of the sewage ends up there.. don't know for a fact.

The structures/buildings on these canals are totally interesting... where we have a front door off the street or yard (in North America), many Venice homes/hotels/buildings built ON the canals have steps or a front door that are accessible only by boat. I wouldn't consider this very convenient if we were in a hotel and had to get a water taxi whenever I wanted to go out.

We were shown the home that Mozart lived in as well as the stage entrance to the local opera house.

This particular gondola ride was advertised as 60 minutes. From the time we left and returned it was 50 minutes but that was certainly satisfactory to us.

Sometimes we saw gondoliers that were singing, others had an onboard accordion player... We really didn't care one way or the other. Our gondolier was friendly, and informative and that's all we wanted.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

My friends and I were quite disappointed with this tour. Our Tour guide, Angelo, while he may have known about Venice, did not make it an enjoyable experience. He rambled on , with a heavy accent, and walked as he spoke, oblivious as to where his tour members were. We had a hard time understanding him and he went off on tangents, sometimes forgetting to come back to what he was speaking about. We took this tour on the first night we arrived in Venice, and were not thrilled with the introduction to Venice he gave us. He might have knowledge regarding the city, but could not relate that to us in a enjoyable manner.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very good and super value

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

This tour was adequate. Our guide was ok. She was knowledgeable, but not personable. She recited facts, but had no passion. It ended with the Gondola ride, and there were 6 people on our Gondola, which I assume is customary for this tour. Our Gondolier kept complaining about how heavy the boat was with 6 people and was yakking on his cell phone for a good part of the tour. That detracted from the magic of being in a gondola on the canals of Venice. At least the photos I took captured the magic.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent! Informative, and romantic.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Night walking tour was excellent. Gandola was also good but it was too dark to see anything. Better if this was scheduled during sunset hours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

To dark to see anything when in small canals. I would have liked day time better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A group of 13 did this tour, recently! The instructions of where to meet and the reminders to bring the voucher, made the pre-tour very simple. Our guide was excellent - passionate about his city and we thoroughly enjoyed the night walking tour!
thank you!

From USD $ 93.85

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VENICEGONDOLA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message