4.5 star rating: Recommended 199 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paris, France
  • Duration:  From Paris: 4 hours - From Versailles: 3 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 199 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I won't say except Piece of Heaven on Earth :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This outing was a great pleasure. Well organised. The tour guide,Caroline was very knowledgeable and patient and had a lovely sense of humour. The technology around the individual headsets to keep us in touch through the crowds worked very well. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My wife called me a genius for buying this tour! Not only did we bypass the hoards of people waiting in line but we also enjoyed the historical narrative of the expert guide. The tour began in central Paris as scheduled, the guide handed out RER tickets, and escorted us every step of the way. Versailles is absolutely astounding and a must-see when visiting Paris. This tour was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Martine was a fantastic guide and did an incredible job of navigating our group around the gardens and palace in a way that wasn't rushed, included the postcard sites and shared her wonderful knowledge of Versailles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour! It was very crowded but our guide was an expert at getting us through with wonderful information about Versailles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

An excellent tour for individuals or families in London looking to see more of Europe while on vacation. The train ride from London to Paris was great and fast. Upon arrival we were greeted by our tour guide whom got us to the bus and on our way to the Eiffel Tour. Admission to the tower was fast as our group was able to cut the lines and go right up the tower. We were given about an hour and a half at the tour to explore and get lunch. From there we met at the riverfront a short walk away where we took a boat ride down the Seine. After the boat ride we were driven to the Louvre where we had the remainder of the afternoon to explore. We booked the overnight tour,so we were given accomodations on the northern part of the city near MontMartre. This worked out well for us as I wanted to explore Montmartre and Sacre Couer in the morning before heading off on a different tour of Versailles. Hotel accomodations were good. The hotel was clean and modern and the breakfast buffet choices were good. The rooms were a bit small, though again clean and suiting our needs. If you are looking to take a quick tour of the city on a tighttimeframe, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An amazing trip! Although if you are going to take this tour make sure you leave spare time to stay back afterwards. You will definitely want more more time to explore the gardens. They are breathtaking!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This Tour was the perfect tour to get the information you needed and seeing the sights directly without wasting any time waiting in line or figuring out what you're looking at. We met up with the first guide in Paris outside of train station at Musee d'Orsay and she guided us all the way to Versailles where we met our second tour guide. She was very informative and patient. She gave us ample time to view sights and take pictures as well as giving us insightful information about the different areas of the garden and the palace itself. If there was one thing worth visiting while you're in Paris, I recommend taking this tour. The gardens are magnificent and breathtaking and the Hall of Mirrors was absolutely beautiful in all its sunlit grandeur. While there could have been more time spent exploring the gardens, the entire tour lasted about 3 hours and was the perfect amount of time to take in Versailles. Once the tour completed within the palace walls, you were free to explore the palace on your own or checkout the area. There are lots to see and do and it was absolutely great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I still give this tour a 5 star even though the RER train we're supposed to take to Versailles closed down. Our guides have it covered by taking another transport to Versailles. The Chateau of Versailles, Fountains and Gardens were awesome. I just wish we had more time to admire the fountains and the gardens. I've been to the palace a few years ago so I didn't need a lot of time inside. Our guide is very knowledgeable of the history of Versailles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful tour and guide! We got so much information and detail that we wouldn't have gotten on own. My husband has shied away from tours in the past because he wants to be free to see and do things on his own, but I think he realized the advantages of taking a tour after doing this one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Love the tour and tour guide was great. Would suggest spending the day in Versailles as there is so much to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Florent lead a wonderful tour. Very knowledgeable and friendly; he made it fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was very informative when it came to the palace grounds and the history of the palace and the kings that reigned there. The tour of the grounds and the workings of the fountain and pond system was also a pleasant surprise, and again, her knowledge was most appreciated. The guided "personal" tour was a definite plus compared to using those guided audio tours.
Getting to the front of the line at the time of your tour start time was and added bonus.
In future, whenever we do this sort of travel, guided tours will be a must, it saved hours compared to waiting in line.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Well organized, easy way to get to Versailles with a guide - takes the stress off a non French speaker. Beautiful garden tour and inside the castle. Just long enough! Good size group and tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We were met promptly at the elephant statue in front of Musee d'Orsay by Adam, an extremely friendly young man who is a Canadian going to school in Paris. He took us to the metro and gave us all tips, suggestions, on how to use the metro and helped us with several other questions. When we arrived at Versailles, he handed us over to Caroline who was going to give us the tour of the Palace, etc. Caroline was an excellent tour guide with a great sense of humour. The Palace and Gardens are spectacular. It was a very hot day and quite crowded but she was able to guide us through the crowds fairly quickly and was able to get us to the front of the line quite adeptly. Caroline was very passionate about the history and it was highly evident. In fact she commented that she "loved" Versailles Palace. She was an excellent tour guide and you would be very fortunate to have her if you went on this tour.

Special Offer
$102.30 Save $10.23

From USD $ 92.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VERSAILLES

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message