4.5 star rating: Recommended 753 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 753 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A must to do if you are in this area...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My wife and I wanted to see the Danube and countryside and this tour provided a perfect opportunity to do so from a ship. We were picked up from our hotel and Driven to a meeting point where all the tourists were divided by language speaking groups - ours was in English. The time on the Danube was superb, our tour guide was very good, and the monastery at Melk was a real plus. This tour was an exceptional value. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Spectacular view of the castles as we went down the Danube. Melk Abbey was truly worth the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding trip. Well organized and the boat ride was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed the boat tour and the Melk Abbey is amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really worth going. Beautiful place

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and very well organized! Complimentary pick-up from hotel was great, driver then dropped us off at the central meeting point for our bus, each bus port is marked with the specific tour easy to find, our tour guide was very well organized and informative, and the boat ride to Melk Abbey was lovely...as was our tour of Melk Abbey and the BEAUTIFUL gardens!!! Highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really beautiful country...so glad we made this part of our experience...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was amazing. Melk city is a gorgeous city. I'll do this tour again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent excursion balancing coach, river trip and guided Abbey tour. Great day out. Excursion guide did excellent job. Would certainly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed the trip, beautiful country, the stops we made were great, the stop at the abbey was amazing. The tour guide was very good. The only thing I would improve was that I found it hard to find where the bus parked in Vienna, in the instructions it talks about an intersection at the train station, really it is due west of the train station about 200 yards.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a thoroughly enjoyable and well-thought out tour. The guide was particularly impressive with his ability to speak in 5 major languages. There was just the right amount of bus travel and stops. The tour guide explained everything clearly and made the history of what we were exploring very interesting. The highlight of course was the monastery of Melk and we all enjoyed the time we spent there. I went during the winter so we had the lunch option (in a restaurant) instead of the Danube tour. I would have preferred the tour company planning something else since the restaurant did not go to the greatest of efforts and I felt that what they served was a blight on Austrian cuisine.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A must see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I highly recommend this tour. Visit to the monastery was great and so was the scenery at wachau valley. Didn't see much at krems as it was christmas eve and everything was closed however seems like it's a charming little town.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very nice! really recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

very nice break from walking everywhere, scenery in the country very beautiful and the Richard the Lionheart visit something I've always anted to do.
Melk Abbey deserves it's World Hertitage Site Status, good guide here.
I would recomend this trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

lovely views enjoyed all the sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We were promptly picked up at our hotel by the shuttle. The bus we took on the tour was fantastic. Tour guide was excellent and well informed. River Cruise was absolutely beautiful. Weather was great! Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The beauty of the countryside was more than we ever imagined. The boat trip was pleasant and staff very friendly. It was a wonderful way to spend a birthday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this was a great tour and had so many different things to see on this one. The river cruise was really wonderful. the guide was really informative and was easy to understand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was even more than advertised. The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. Since we arrived early to catch the boat down the Danube, our driver and guide took us on a quick driving tour of the town (which was not included in the tour). The day was beautiful and the trip great. The only drawback I would note, is since we decided to eat lunch at the restaurant at the abbey, we didn't have enough time to walk through the gardens before the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip and worth the money. We especially enjoyed the Danube cruise.

Our guide Zlato (I think) was great!

From USD $ 78.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT008VS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message