4.5 star rating: Recommended 628 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 628 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

For those with limited time or anyone visiting Vienna, this day tour of the Danube Valley by bus and then by boat up the Danube River was a wonderful experience. I particularly liked being picked up from my hotel. The commentary while on the bus and the guided tour of the Melk Abbey was very good as well. There was plenty of free time to look around, buy souvenirs and have lunch. Good value for money tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful way to tour the Danube Valley and the Abbey. We had a short and informative bus ride thru the country side to the town of Spiz where we picked up the boat. Very nice boat with clothed tables, generous food and bar menu and a wonderful and attentive staff. Top deck was more casual but still top notch. The ride was perfect for us. We saw castles, churches and little towns. When we docked at Melk off to lunch on our dime at the Abbey then a tour of the beautiful Abbey. After the tour it was back to Vienna. The tour was well organized and very comfortable....

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I absolutely loved this tour Fabulous scenery , pleasant company .Melk Abbey should definitely be on everyone's must see list. MARILYN Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely relaxing trip on the Danube by boat to Melk Abbey. The Abbey is very lovely but quite busy with lots of tourists.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is the second trip we go with Viator travel. It's a wonderful day tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful trip. We spent a really lovely day first driving to meet the boat at a charming little town of Krems in the Wachau valley on the Danube. The boat ride was so pretty, and with the weather being perfect, you couldn't have asked for any better. The service was great on the boat and we enjoyed wine, beer and snacks during the 1 1/2 hour ride. Once we arrived at Melk we had about an hour before our tour, so we had lunch at the café the tour guide suggested. Then we took the tour of the Benedictine abbey, which was so impressive. So all in all it was great. The one thing that really impressed me was the tour guide who spoke 5 different languages!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great. The Benedicton abbey and the danube river trip was memorable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

an excellent day out bus on time collection from hotel everything went to plan thoroughly enjoyable from booking to the day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a good experience with an excellent tour guide fluent in English German and Spanish. Our coach was brand new. The Danube boat trip was interesting and catering was available for purchase (coffee, snacks, meals, alcohol). Melk was everything we hoped it would be and the abbey guide was an enthusiastic young woman who was sympathetic to the history of the abbey and with excellent English. We would recommend to our friends to do this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very scenic boat trip and interesting tour - we enjoyed the day very much and would recommend this tour highly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The day was fantastic, great service from Vienna Sightseeing. Melk Abbey was unbelievable, had a great lunch there. The day trip was a major highlight of our 10 days in Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was awesome trip. The boat cruise from Spitz to Melk was fantastic - got to see many nice castle like churches along the Danube. The Melk Abbey was 'wow' (absolutely breathtaking). The restaurant onsite at the Abbey was also great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Melk is a must see if you have time when visiting Vienna to do a side trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour guide. Very good organisation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a awesome day out and we had great weather. The river cruise was amazing and the monastery was very impressive with its modern museum and hidden optical illusions :). Overall this is great value for money, we really enjoyed the trip very much. Tip : Enjoy your meal on the river cruise , it gets a bit late by the time you reach the restaurant in the monastery.

From USD $ 90.08

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT008VS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message