4.5 star rating: Recommended 641 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 641 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was so well organised and our leader Tommy was so professional and a fantastic guide. We travelled in a first-class double decker coach, then transferred onto a wonderful cruise boat on the Danube to Melk. The young tour guide at Melk Abbey, Nicolina, was brilliant. This tour was the same price as the Bratislava tour and this tour was 100 times better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We decided to board the coach at its starting point at the bus station instead of being picked up at our hotel as there were 3 of us and we wanted to make sure we were seated together. Just as well we did because a minibus picked up the hotel passengers for three separate tours and delivered them to the almost full coaches where they had to make do with whatever remaining seats were available.
The trip was very enjoyable, starting with a drive through the very pretty little wine villages where everyone seemed to have vines in their back gardens. The Danube boat trip was lovely and very picturesque. We arrived at Melk Abbey at lunchtime and, as we only wanted a light snack, were very pleased with the €5 cheese plate which consisted of four or five different cheeses, apple, grapes, the most delicious fig preserve and two different kinds of bread.
After lunch there was a tour of the Abbey and museum which we didn't take because my elderly father is not able to walk very far. Our guide had said we would be able to go slowly at our own pace but clearly we were expected to stay together with the rest of the group so we stayed outside and enjoyed the pleasant gardens instead.
One thing that should be mentioned is that there are some very steep steps from the coach park down to and, more importantly back up from, the abbey. My father found these difficult to manage, and several much younger folk arrived back at the coach puffing and panting!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

For those with limited time or anyone visiting Vienna, this day tour of the Danube Valley by bus and then by boat up the Danube River was a wonderful experience. I particularly liked being picked up from my hotel. The commentary while on the bus and the guided tour of the Melk Abbey was very good as well. There was plenty of free time to look around, buy souvenirs and have lunch. Good value for money tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Good guide, beautiful monastery, nice lunch, scenery on the boat trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

For those with limited time or anyone visiting Vienna, this day tour of the Danube Valley by bus and then by boat up the Danube River was a wonderful experience. I particularly liked being picked up from my hotel. The commentary while on the bus and the guided tour of the Melk Abbey was very good as well. There was plenty of free time to look around, buy souvenirs and have lunch. Good value for money tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful way to tour the Danube Valley and the Abbey. We had a short and informative bus ride thru the country side to the town of Spiz where we picked up the boat. Very nice boat with clothed tables, generous food and bar menu and a wonderful and attentive staff. Top deck was more casual but still top notch. The ride was perfect for us. We saw castles, churches and little towns. When we docked at Melk off to lunch on our dime at the Abbey then a tour of the beautiful Abbey. After the tour it was back to Vienna. The tour was well organized and very comfortable....

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I absolutely loved this tour Fabulous scenery , pleasant company .Melk Abbey should definitely be on everyone's must see list. MARILYN Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely relaxing trip on the Danube by boat to Melk Abbey. The Abbey is very lovely but quite busy with lots of tourists.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is the second trip we go with Viator travel. It's a wonderful day tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great. The Benedicton abbey and the danube river trip was memorable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

an excellent day out bus on time collection from hotel everything went to plan thoroughly enjoyable from booking to the day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a good experience with an excellent tour guide fluent in English German and Spanish. Our coach was brand new. The Danube boat trip was interesting and catering was available for purchase (coffee, snacks, meals, alcohol). Melk was everything we hoped it would be and the abbey guide was an enthusiastic young woman who was sympathetic to the history of the abbey and with excellent English. We would recommend to our friends to do this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very scenic boat trip and interesting tour - we enjoyed the day very much and would recommend this tour highly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The day was fantastic, great service from Vienna Sightseeing. Melk Abbey was unbelievable, had a great lunch there. The day trip was a major highlight of our 10 days in Vienna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was awesome trip. The boat cruise from Spitz to Melk was fantastic - got to see many nice castle like churches along the Danube. The Melk Abbey was 'wow' (absolutely breathtaking). The restaurant onsite at the Abbey was also great.

From USD $ 87.63

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT008VS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message