4.5 star rating: Recommended 48 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vienna City Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 48 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A wonderful and scenic bike tour with lots of parkland riding and riding off of busy city streets.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

This is an absolutely terrific way to see Vienna. Our guide was passionate, knowledgable and a lot of fun. We learned a lot and covered a lot, but still had tons of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was not a long tour, but it was great, hitting most of the high points in central Vienna, including the government, historical, and cultural institutions. The tour was in both German and English, and the guide split the group but gave complete descriptions to both. The pacing was very good, and the guide was very careful to take advantage of bike lanes where available, and to walk through pedestrian areas when necessary. I would absolutely recommend this, and perhaps even suggest the longer afternoon tour as well.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

My daughter Joyce and I went on a Vienna bike tour through the vineyards. We were the only ones with our guide since it was his first day of the season. We had a fantastic time and the guide was great. Thanks.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This is such a fun way to see a city. Our guide was wonderful but some what soft spoken, so I had a hard time hearing him sometimes.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed myself on this tour but felt the tour leader should have given the group safety instructions and a quick run-down of the road rules. Not all bike riders are experienced riders.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Fun easy way to see the highlights

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The cycle tour was a great way to see the highlights of central Vienna. I certainly recommend the tour but I would make the following 2 points which seem to appear on other reviews:
1. Some participants still went to the wrong corner of the Opera house, the tour waited for them and caused everybody to lose 30 minutes of the tour.
2. Initially we were told that 2 guides would take us but at the last minute only one guide looked after 15 people (mostly German) so the commentary was then predominantly in German and there was no translation of the answers given the time shortage.

D W G
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

An interesting look at Vienna beyond the central tourist area. Enthusiastic guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Rather severe guide. Made you feel uncomfortable about asking any questions but great trip and would certainly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Very knowledgeable guide, greate tour, but too many people in the group.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

We missed the tour departure because we were waiting at the wrong corner of the Opera House....the corner Viator sent us to. One of the group walked all the way around the Opera House and was still unable to connect. Pedal Power advises that they have notified Viator of this problem previously. Fortunately, they were able to hook us up with their Segway tour and save the day. Go to the LEFT corner as you face the Opera House, not the right! Viator, get your act together!!!

Tim D
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

This was an excellent half day bike tour. It was not at all strenuous, in fact a little too easy, but, a lot of fun and we got to see a fair bit of Vienna. I would recommend this. I would look for this type of tour in other cities.

Myra M
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

The tour guide was late, and stern with expectations, "when I stop pedaling, you need to be on my toes". Otherwise, very informative and thorough.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

Bike guide was excellent, juggling English and German participants on the tour. We got out of the downtown area and got to see parts of Vienna we probably never would have seen otherwise. A wonderful way to spend an afternoon.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Excellent tour, maybe too many stops, due to the size of the group. We were 10 people in the bike tour. A suggestion is for the guide to talk more on the history side of the city.

Mark Z
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The bike tour was lots of fun and a great way to see Vienna. Yes this was a guided bike tour but I didn't think that there was a lot of information shared about the city. Good tour if you want to see the green and leafy spots of Vienna, the beautiful Danube Island etc, the amusement park etc etc. If you are wanting to know the history etc than this is probably not the tour for you, try the other bike tour perhaps.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

We felt this tour was just adequate as the guide, though knowledgeable, seemed to lack enthusiasm and vibrancy. The bikes felt a bit unstable due to the advertising disc inserted into the front wheel which acted as a bit of a sail....not good on a windy day like we had. It would've been good if there had been some brief bike education on road rules before we headed off. At times when the leader was somewhat ahead those at the rear of the pack felt unsure as to who had right of way, etc. Such big groups make it hard to hear what is being said. This tour did not compare well to the fat bike tour we did in Berlin which was fabulous!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Tour was OK. Guide was mediocre. The beauty of the city did not shine through in this tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

I signed up for this tour because it said it was an english speaking tour. Come to find out it was German/English. Which is fine but when the guide talks to the Germans for 10mins about a site and then 3 minutes to the English speakers. Just expected more from Viator.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

I booked this tour believing that it had a lot of potential, but I was seriously disappointed with the outcome. While the tour visits many of Vienna's must see destinations, the guide is useless unless you speak German. I would have liked the option for an English only tour as I spent most of the tour waiting for the guide to translate from German to English, for which she barely gave the English speaking minority a second thought. All I can say is that this tour was a disappointing way to spend my €'s.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

First of all I must say Vienna is a very beautiful city. To be honest we were not impressed with the bike tour. We were told where to meet, but the lady giving tour had nothing to identify who she was. About 15 mins into the break neck speed tour she gives us the rules of the road -maybe that should have been done at the beginning. Then she would just stop without warning. Then we had to bike UP a winding ramp to get to the top of a bridge, Again maybe these things should be mentioned. I thought that this would be a more leasurely tour. Not the tour de France. I would not recommend her for a tour for anyone. We did enjoy being able to put our feet in the Danube, and seeing the oldest ferris wheel.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011

The bike tour was too crowded with too many people. We therefore wasted a lot of time waiting between stop lights for the entire group to cross over. Also, the guide did not give much information except broad, obvious facts. I would not recommend this tour at all.

From USD $ 32.13

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3938VCBT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message