3.5 star rating: Worth doing 107 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 107 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Not the easiest location to find as it was in a bus station and not easily visible from where you arrive from railway station. The tour itself was interesting with a knowledgeable guide and took us to places which we'd probably not have seen as we were there for a short time. Most of the time on the boat was in spent in one of the locks, but once moving there was quite a lot of things to see and the commentary kept us informed about important buildings etc. It was fairly late when we got back on the coach to take us into the winegrowing region and city viewpoint above Budapest. By then it was getting cold and the light was beginning to fade and I think everyone just wanted to get back on the coach and head homewards. Unfortunately, we got stuck in heavy evening traffic going back into Vienna and it was well after the appointed time before we were dropped off. IT might have been better starting the tour earlier and going up into the hills before the boat trip, but realise this might not have been possible with boat schedules.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

You see some interesting places but it's better if you can combine it with a walking tour to know the center of the city, where the interesting historical places are.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I would have liked more information about the city and it's history.

Geoff W
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

was good. Guide funny , but interpreted into 3 languages which was a little confusing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

It was Ok but we didn't see a lot of the sights we hoped to see. We also didn't think the Danube ride was what we expected either.

Daisy V
Puerto Rico

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Too much people, tour in 3 languages but the guide was very nice and helpful.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

A bit disappointed...disorganized...not enough English spoken...not much fun, really,

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Tour was okay - our guide was pretty boring and didn't keep us interested in what we were seeing

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Same as above

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Nice boat ride despite having to wait for the bridge for about half an hour near the half way mark. The sightseeing area is where most artists and TV stars live but due to heavy rain did not get many pictures. Tour guides were informative and area from sightseeing is worth a closer look given area is known for wine and historical figures who lived there.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Too many people at one time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

It's a nice tour around the city by bus. The tour guide did it in German, English, Spanish and Italian at the same time which got annoying after a few.

The boat ride on the Danube was boring, you don't get to see much and the tour lasted around 5 hours in total.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

This was a good tour, but the shine was taken off of it when our boat ride was full of unsupervised ten year olds celebrating a birthday. This was a buzz-kill. Other than that, the tour was excellant, and the guide was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

This is the type of tour to do the day you arrive in Vienna. It allows you to see the sights and get your bearings of what is where in Vienna. It is a very quick overview of the city and hard to take photos from the bus. The ride down the river is a great experience and the highlight of the tour!!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

Something to do if you have spare time,I wouldn"t rate it "must do"

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

We would have been happier if the guide had had our booking confirmed, as we had the printed out details we were able to proceed.
I accept mistakes do happen but I felt sorry for the guide who had to deal with 2 extra people on a crouded bus but he managed well

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The city tour is somewhat misleading the tour actually take you to the outskirt of Vienna. There is no time to admire the lovely sites that go by so fast. The tour takes you to a top of a hill where you can see the all of Vienna, there is a short chance to have some refreshments served by the most rude waiters that we have ever encountered. After the land lightning tour there is a lenghthy featureless ride on the Danube and then in the Danube canal. Maybe it would a good idea to shorten the boat ride and make more time for the outskirt of Vienna.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

There was too much transferring from one vehicle to another. The boat cruise was alright, took very long at the lock. It was unfortunate that the bus was stalling during the journey to and from Vienna woods.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

timekeeping was excellent.however the coach trip
through parts of vienna was pointless as you could not see much as the coach was moving.I think more time should have been spent in the wine region.The boat ride waasnot very exciting either and had to wait ages in the canal because of traffic!!!!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour guide spoke English quite well, and comments were very informative. We enjoyed thatpart of the tour. However the boat ride was probably not worth it. The boat had to enter the locks in order to have the water level adjusted to enter the canal. This process was slow and not very interesting. At the end of the boat ride we disembarked at the levey. The tour guide just pointed us to the underground and said you can take that back to your hotel. That was not too helpful we finally figured out how to use it and where to go and we did make it back.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The boat ride was bery enjoyable, but didn't really get to see the city of Vienna. The guide did the tour in 4 languages - very distracting. Our time was short, so we're glad we took the tour, but if you have more time, do a more thorough city tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

We got a good overview of Vienna, and driving out to the outskirts was very pleasant. The boat trip was nice too. Unfortunately the tour guide had to translate in 4 languages, and I think she forgot to translate for everything. I think this is a cheap way for a company to run a tour, and it's no fair to the tour guide. This tour company needs to quit being cheap and reduce the languages to two to a tour-did not enjoy it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

If you only have one day in Vienna take a walking tour of the historic area. This tour is a large bus tour in three languages through nondescript neighborhoods of Vienna and does not give you any flavor of the history of Vienna. The tour guide seemed knowledgable,but she had to do her narrative in three languages so their was not time for questions.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Consistency with Viator-complete cluster but beautiful city. Great to get away from walking.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Not informed group not returned back to hotel.

If the group are collected from their hotel they should be returned to the hotel and not just left to find their own way back.

From USD $ 49.11

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT001BVS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message