Insider's Guide to Vienna

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Shiuly H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Coach tour was better than the boat tour.
Tour guide gave an in-depth teaching of the history of Vienna and we went to a few significant points of the city. The boat ride was short and unfortunately the river that goes through Vienna, unfortunately you don't see many landmarks- but you do see a lot of graffiti. The trip is worth it if you're there for over a week, but if it's a short trip don't bother.

Maria M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This tour was supposed to be in English but since local company I assume had a shortage of buses or guides, they put German, English and French together! The guide gave the explanation first in French and it seems to go on forever! Then the English and it seemed shorter explanation. It is not pleasant to here another language for hours!

Frances M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We first took a bus that took us to interesting landmarks and then the Vienna Woods. Great guide, very knowledgeable. The river part was nice as long as we were on the Danube but then the boat goes into the canal for the last part. It is not as nice. If you go, try to sit outside at the back or upstairs. 7 out of 10.

Windiarti

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The Tour was OK. Unfortunately....even the tour leader gave lots of explanation..it was difficult sometimes to listen his explanation. Sounds like he talked to himself.

Patricia R

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Would have been better if the bus was an open air tour bus and there had been commentary during the boat ride.

Ali C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

our guide was very bland and boring, but Vienna is lovely

John B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Excellent boat trip on the Danube.Coach guide spoke Latin as one of his languages - Why? Poor commentary.

Margaret G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Not the easiest location to find as it was in a bus station and not easily visible from where you arrive from railway station. The tour itself was interesting with a knowledgeable guide and took us to places which we'd probably not have seen as we were there for a short time. Most of the time on the boat was in spent in one of the locks, but once moving there was quite a lot of things to see and the commentary kept us informed about important buildings etc. It was fairly late when we got back on the coach to take us into the winegrowing region and city viewpoint above Budapest. By then it was getting cold and the light was beginning to fade and I think everyone just wanted to get back on the coach and head homewards. Unfortunately, we got stuck in heavy evening traffic going back into Vienna and it was well after the appointed time before we were dropped off. IT might have been better starting the tour earlier and going up into the hills before the boat trip, but realise this might not have been possible with boat schedules.

Lorenext

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

You see some interesting places but it's better if you can combine it with a walking tour to know the center of the city, where the interesting historical places are.

Lilliam P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I would have liked more information about the city and it's history.

Geoff W Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

was good. Guide funny , but interpreted into 3 languages which was a little confusing.

Wayne B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

It was Ok but we didn't see a lot of the sights we hoped to see. We also didn't think the Danube ride was what we expected either.

Daisy V Puerto Rico

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Too much people, tour in 3 languages but the guide was very nice and helpful.

Anita G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

A bit disappointed...disorganized...not enough English spoken...not much fun, really,

Louis M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Tour was okay - our guide was pretty boring and didn't keep us interested in what we were seeing

Louis M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Same as above

PRISCILLA N

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Nice boat ride despite having to wait for the bridge for about half an hour near the half way mark. The sightseeing area is where most artists and TV stars live but due to heavy rain did not get many pictures. Tour guides were informative and area from sightseeing is worth a closer look given area is known for wine and historical figures who lived there.

Edward V USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Too many people at one time.

Colin V Malta

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

It's a nice tour around the city by bus. The tour guide did it in German, English, Spanish and Italian at the same time which got annoying after a few.

The boat ride on the Danube was boring, you don't get to see much and the tour lasted around 5 hours in total.

Thomas F

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

This was a good tour, but the shine was taken off of it when our boat ride was full of unsupervised ten year olds celebrating a birthday. This was a buzz-kill. Other than that, the tour was excellant, and the guide was very good.

Peter B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

This is the type of tour to do the day you arrive in Vienna. It allows you to see the sights and get your bearings of what is where in Vienna. It is a very quick overview of the city and hard to take photos from the bus. The ride down the river is a great experience and the highlight of the tour!!!

Boris B

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

Something to do if you have spare time,I wouldn"t rate it "must do"

robbo

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

We would have been happier if the guide had had our booking confirmed, as we had the printed out details we were able to proceed.
I accept mistakes do happen but I felt sorry for the guide who had to deal with 2 extra people on a crouded bus but he managed well

MRS A L P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The city tour is somewhat misleading the tour actually take you to the outskirt of Vienna. There is no time to admire the lovely sites that go by so fast. The tour takes you to a top of a hill where you can see the all of Vienna, there is a short chance to have some refreshments served by the most rude waiters that we have ever encountered. After the land lightning tour there is a lenghthy featureless ride on the Danube and then in the Danube canal. Maybe it would a good idea to shorten the boat ride and make more time for the outskirt of Vienna.

SOKE CHENG D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

There was too much transferring from one vehicle to another. The boat cruise was alright, took very long at the lock. It was unfortunate that the bus was stalling during the journey to and from Vienna woods.

Viewing 3 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 54.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT001BVS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message