Insider's Guide to Vienna

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

3 star rating: Worth doing 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Eh. Lots of down time. Lots of up selling.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

If you only have one day in Vienna take a walking tour of the historic area. This tour is a large bus tour in three languages through nondescript neighborhoods of Vienna and does not give you any flavor of the history of Vienna. The tour guide seemed knowledgable,but she had to do her narrative in three languages so their was not time for questions.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Consistency with Viator-complete cluster but beautiful city. Great to get away from walking.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Not informed group not returned back to hotel.

If the group are collected from their hotel they should be returned to the hotel and not just left to find their own way back.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The guide spoke too softly for us to understand despite asking her once. River cruise cancelled sec to flooding with No suitable alternative. The Danube tower was a disappointment. Save your time and money and just do the Vienna historical tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

My expectations were not met because I was expecting more of a boat ride. We were picked up at the hotel at 2:30 and transferred to a large bus. We were on the bus until 5:00 touring the city. We then went on a boat on the river for an hour and a half. We went down the river until we got to the locks and it took 25 minutes to go through the locks. We were then into the canal. So maybe we were on the river for half an hour. Then when we got back many people thought they were being taken back close to there hotels no bus. Fortunately, we were within walking distance. People were confused... We directed several couples to the underground. I think that the tours should be more specific on transportation to and from.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Although I was very impressed that the tourguide could speak four languages, it meant he HAD to speak four languages and so very little was said at all.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Bus trip---guide spoke everything in 3 languages and after a while you tuned out. Danube trip was boring and you couldn’t hear the pre-recorded info about the different sites. 20 minutes spent in the Loch was too long.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

A bit disappointing. We arrived at bus station in the heat to be pushed off the bus and stand around awaiting instructions. Basically, no-one seemed to be in control, we ended up on wrong bus to be booted off again to the right bus. River cruise was a debacle having to return to port for some technical reason, this lead to the trip to go an extra 1.5hrs, once again no explanation, thank God for the bar. Then at finished, basically dumped at Danube Canal end of city to find your own way back.This being at 8.00pm at night. It seems they are quick to pick you up but dump you at the end, this could be anywhere.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

What we saw was fine but how can you have a tour of Vienna and not include Schoenberg Palace, Hofburg Palace, or St.Stevens Cathedral. The tour started 25 minutes late and many on the tour had to leave early for other evening commitments. Our guide Sylvia was more concerned about talking to our bus driver about finding a place to live than being a good guide. This tour was not worth the money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Not very organized or informative

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

A bit of a bore with very little information given. Could have been ok if interested in a drive and boat trip while chatting with friends but I expected more.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Very unorganized, rude hotel transport who apparently was very frustrated with the traffic. You basically drive through the city while the guide rotates in three languages. Take your time and walk around the city during your vacation, you'll have a better time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The Danube boat ride takes forever because you have to go through a locking system (like the Panama Canal), so while you are waiting, it's is extremely hot, and the boat is a floating restaurant, and unfortunately our waiter was extremely rude, so it felt like the ride was even longer. Definitely could have done without this one.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Stiflingly hot in the boat. No air conditioning and few windows to open. Spent most of the time sitting at the locks waiting.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

We were loaded onto a boat with a very large group of unruly, uncontrolled, loud, rude children who ruined the entire trip. Just trying to get onboard was a challenge as the kids pushed and shoved their way past others who were in line trying to board the boat, they tried to push my wife and I aside just to board faster. They were totally unmanaged and ran all over the boat with no guidance. Most of the time there was no explanation of what sights we were passing and when there was narration the children were making so much noise we could not hear what was being said. I don't know who was in charge of these children but they failed miserably in controlling their beharior.
Most of what we saw on the canal was great examples of graffitti all over the walls of the canal, no monuments or buildings of note. We did the Seine river cruise the week before and it was wonderful, good music, narration and great sights.
I would not recommend this tour to anyone, it was a waste of money. There were many other adult passengers I spoke with who will voice the same opinion.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

We are not habitual tour-goers. Usually just make our own way around. However we would NOT recommend this tour to anyone unless they want to see the following: traffic jams in non-historic parts of Vienna, industrial estates, a very short bus ride through very pretty Hollywood Hills section of Vienna, followed by a boat cruise along a section of the Danube that has indistinct vegetation along each side, followed by freeway underpass graffiti as you go along the canal. The cake on the boat was good but we paid extra for that. For Melbourne dwellers, it was like a cruise along the Yarra next the the southeastern freeway underpasses. The commentary by the tour leader was interesting in content, but given in a slow monotone that had about a quarter of the people on the bus struggling to stay awake or actually asleep. One star out of five.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

I would not recommend this tour.
The guide kept swapping from German to English without any pause so by the time you realised you had missed half of what she was saying.
Also 20 minutes of the one hour boat cruise was sitting in the lock while the water fell to the appropriate height to continue on - this was not mentioned at all in the advertising

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

What a disappointment. The tour guide was completely monotone and couldn't have been less excited about his city or his subjects. In fact, he was utterly dismissive and rude to several of the tourists who were asking somewhat annoying yet quite simple questions. The tour was given in English, German and Spanish and was deadly dull in all three languages. We saw very little of interest in the city proper. We expected this to be a city tour with a Danube tour and it was a drive through the city outskirts and then an unceremonious dumping onto a boat. The boat tour was completely unnarrated and unguided. We may have been seeing interesting things but there was no way to know. This was our first tour through viator and we are quite apprehensive about the remaining tours we have booked if this is typical of the quality. An enormous disappointment and even greater waste of money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Terribly organised at originating bus depot. Tour guide Michael ( French ) terribly rude. I asked if this was English speaking bus after much confusion and German spewing back and forth. Michael wanted to know 'how many times we had to be told' - I replied that once - in English would be nice.
Tour was not a city tour but a city outskirts tour. Half an hour wasted on some architectural different building. Complete waste of time and money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The tour was very poor and a waste of money,.The guide was extremely boring.His commentary was spoken in 3 different languages After the bus tour I was none the wiser about Vienna and the tour bus did not go to many places of interest.As for the Danube boat ride what can I say?We spent about 5 minutes on the Danube itself ,the rest of the time was spent in the Danube canal including about 30 minutes stuck in a lock.Believe me there is nothing pretty or interesting in the Danube canal.The worst boat ride I have ever been on.All in all a disaster dont go on it

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The directions given for the start of the tour were very poor. They are constructing the new train station at this site, and it was very difficult to find. The bus leaves from a sort of bus depot. That's what you should tell people. When I finally found the spot, there was no one to give us any direction. The guide, Michael was very rude when someone asked for guidance. The tour was supposed to be in English, but it was also done in French. As for the tour itself, the sightseeing section was a duplicate of the hop on tour. The boat had a tiny area where you could be outside to see everything. Otherwise you were stuck inside the boat. The food was very good.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Even though the tour is billed Vienna Sightseeing, the tour we got was called Panorama Tour. It did not have any sightseeing in Vienna city and the so-called panorama tour is a waste of time (long bus ride up and down) for a mediocre view. The boat ride is also colorless and boring, with canned commentary and a long wait to get into the canal. Not recommended.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Not really worth the money. There wasn't much to see on the boat ride especially when you spend about half an hour looking at the side of a lock it had to negotiate and then you find yourself abandoned in an area of the city you don't know at the end of it.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Would not recommend this tour. Sitting on a boat for 20 minutes in the locks, then cruising down a graffiti littered canal was not an experience to enjoy.

From USD $ 49.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT001BVS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message