Insider's Guide to Vienna

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 121 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

sunila s

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

timekeeping was excellent.however the coach trip
through parts of vienna was pointless as you could not see much as the coach was moving.I think more time should have been spent in the wine region.The boat ride waasnot very exciting either and had to wait ages in the canal because of traffic!!!!!

John H

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour guide spoke English quite well, and comments were very informative. We enjoyed thatpart of the tour. However the boat ride was probably not worth it. The boat had to enter the locks in order to have the water level adjusted to enter the canal. This process was slow and not very interesting. At the end of the boat ride we disembarked at the levey. The tour guide just pointed us to the underground and said you can take that back to your hotel. That was not too helpful we finally figured out how to use it and where to go and we did make it back.

Terri G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The boat ride was bery enjoyable, but didn't really get to see the city of Vienna. The guide did the tour in 4 languages - very distracting. Our time was short, so we're glad we took the tour, but if you have more time, do a more thorough city tour.

Colette W

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

We got a good overview of Vienna, and driving out to the outskirts was very pleasant. The boat trip was nice too. Unfortunately the tour guide had to translate in 4 languages, and I think she forgot to translate for everything. I think this is a cheap way for a company to run a tour, and it's no fair to the tour guide. This tour company needs to quit being cheap and reduce the languages to two to a tour-did not enjoy it.

Ed G M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

the pic is misleading. We did not see any of the historical sites of Vienna,and there are many! We spent most of 2hours driving around various parts of the Danube river and had a nice drive into the Vienna woods. The boat cruise was OK but the announcements were not loud enough to hear and most of the trip was of little or no historical interest. The guide was very knowledgeable but it would be more valuable to hear some of the incredible history of the city instead of hearing over and over again about the efforts to save the city from a flooding Danube River. I would recommend a hop on hop off bus tour which also includes the river cruise and is much cheaper. Take a pass on this tour if you want to learn about and see some historic sites of the city.

pshmulevsky

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

i have already sent it

Wendy P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

boat ride too short most of the time waiting in the lock

Carole M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

I was disappointed with this one. We didn't see much from the bus as it can't go anywhere near the historic city centre and the boat ride was nothing special. Not much to see on the river. Plus it was very hot and the boat was not air conditioned. I was glad to get off

Helen S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

City tour prior to the Danube boat ride was good. The driver had skills to maneuver in tight streets. The tour guide spoke perfect English except he spoke 3 different languages the entire time so you had to concentrate to hear what he had to say. We would not do the Danube boat ride again, half of the time was spent waiting for the river locks for water to be lowered.

Alton

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Eh. Lots of down time. Lots of up selling.

Gerald R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

If you only have one day in Vienna take a walking tour of the historic area. This tour is a large bus tour in three languages through nondescript neighborhoods of Vienna and does not give you any flavor of the history of Vienna. The tour guide seemed knowledgable,but she had to do her narrative in three languages so their was not time for questions.

Casey S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Consistency with Viator-complete cluster but beautiful city. Great to get away from walking.

Margaret T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Not informed group not returned back to hotel.

If the group are collected from their hotel they should be returned to the hotel and not just left to find their own way back.

Khizzar S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The guide spoke too softly for us to understand despite asking her once. River cruise cancelled sec to flooding with No suitable alternative. The Danube tower was a disappointment. Save your time and money and just do the Vienna historical tour

Diane S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

My expectations were not met because I was expecting more of a boat ride. We were picked up at the hotel at 2:30 and transferred to a large bus. We were on the bus until 5:00 touring the city. We then went on a boat on the river for an hour and a half. We went down the river until we got to the locks and it took 25 minutes to go through the locks. We were then into the canal. So maybe we were on the river for half an hour. Then when we got back many people thought they were being taken back close to there hotels no bus. Fortunately, we were within walking distance. People were confused... We directed several couples to the underground. I think that the tours should be more specific on transportation to and from.

CHARISSE l

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Although I was very impressed that the tourguide could speak four languages, it meant he HAD to speak four languages and so very little was said at all.

philippa h

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Bus trip---guide spoke everything in 3 languages and after a while you tuned out. Danube trip was boring and you couldn’t hear the pre-recorded info about the different sites. 20 minutes spent in the Loch was too long.

Greg M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

A bit disappointing. We arrived at bus station in the heat to be pushed off the bus and stand around awaiting instructions. Basically, no-one seemed to be in control, we ended up on wrong bus to be booted off again to the right bus. River cruise was a debacle having to return to port for some technical reason, this lead to the trip to go an extra 1.5hrs, once again no explanation, thank God for the bar. Then at finished, basically dumped at Danube Canal end of city to find your own way back.This being at 8.00pm at night. It seems they are quick to pick you up but dump you at the end, this could be anywhere.

Joseph M USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

What we saw was fine but how can you have a tour of Vienna and not include Schoenberg Palace, Hofburg Palace, or St.Stevens Cathedral. The tour started 25 minutes late and many on the tour had to leave early for other evening commitments. Our guide Sylvia was more concerned about talking to our bus driver about finding a place to live than being a good guide. This tour was not worth the money.

kipper

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Not very organized or informative

Mark A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

A bit of a bore with very little information given. Could have been ok if interested in a drive and boat trip while chatting with friends but I expected more.

Vincent G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Very unorganized, rude hotel transport who apparently was very frustrated with the traffic. You basically drive through the city while the guide rotates in three languages. Take your time and walk around the city during your vacation, you'll have a better time.

Kaylan I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The Danube boat ride takes forever because you have to go through a locking system (like the Panama Canal), so while you are waiting, it's is extremely hot, and the boat is a floating restaurant, and unfortunately our waiter was extremely rude, so it felt like the ride was even longer. Definitely could have done without this one.

Mervyn K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Stiflingly hot in the boat. No air conditioning and few windows to open. Spent most of the time sitting at the locks waiting.

DrBreiner

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

We were loaded onto a boat with a very large group of unruly, uncontrolled, loud, rude children who ruined the entire trip. Just trying to get onboard was a challenge as the kids pushed and shoved their way past others who were in line trying to board the boat, they tried to push my wife and I aside just to board faster. They were totally unmanaged and ran all over the boat with no guidance. Most of the time there was no explanation of what sights we were passing and when there was narration the children were making so much noise we could not hear what was being said. I don't know who was in charge of these children but they failed miserably in controlling their beharior.
Most of what we saw on the canal was great examples of graffitti all over the walls of the canal, no monuments or buildings of note. We did the Seine river cruise the week before and it was wonderful, good music, narration and great sights.
I would not recommend this tour to anyone, it was a waste of money. There were many other adult passengers I spoke with who will voice the same opinion.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 53.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT001BVS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message