Insider's Guide to Vienna

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 121 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Amber C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

We are not habitual tour-goers. Usually just make our own way around. However we would NOT recommend this tour to anyone unless they want to see the following: traffic jams in non-historic parts of Vienna, industrial estates, a very short bus ride through very pretty Hollywood Hills section of Vienna, followed by a boat cruise along a section of the Danube that has indistinct vegetation along each side, followed by freeway underpass graffiti as you go along the canal. The cake on the boat was good but we paid extra for that. For Melbourne dwellers, it was like a cruise along the Yarra next the the southeastern freeway underpasses. The commentary by the tour leader was interesting in content, but given in a slow monotone that had about a quarter of the people on the bus struggling to stay awake or actually asleep. One star out of five.

chargs54

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

I would not recommend this tour.
The guide kept swapping from German to English without any pause so by the time you realised you had missed half of what she was saying.
Also 20 minutes of the one hour boat cruise was sitting in the lock while the water fell to the appropriate height to continue on - this was not mentioned at all in the advertising

Mary M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

What a disappointment. The tour guide was completely monotone and couldn't have been less excited about his city or his subjects. In fact, he was utterly dismissive and rude to several of the tourists who were asking somewhat annoying yet quite simple questions. The tour was given in English, German and Spanish and was deadly dull in all three languages. We saw very little of interest in the city proper. We expected this to be a city tour with a Danube tour and it was a drive through the city outskirts and then an unceremonious dumping onto a boat. The boat tour was completely unnarrated and unguided. We may have been seeing interesting things but there was no way to know. This was our first tour through viator and we are quite apprehensive about the remaining tours we have booked if this is typical of the quality. An enormous disappointment and even greater waste of money.

Robert R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Terribly organised at originating bus depot. Tour guide Michael ( French ) terribly rude. I asked if this was English speaking bus after much confusion and German spewing back and forth. Michael wanted to know 'how many times we had to be told' - I replied that once - in English would be nice.
Tour was not a city tour but a city outskirts tour. Half an hour wasted on some architectural different building. Complete waste of time and money.

Michael W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The tour was very poor and a waste of money,.The guide was extremely boring.His commentary was spoken in 3 different languages After the bus tour I was none the wiser about Vienna and the tour bus did not go to many places of interest.As for the Danube boat ride what can I say?We spent about 5 minutes on the Danube itself ,the rest of the time was spent in the Danube canal including about 30 minutes stuck in a lock.Believe me there is nothing pretty or interesting in the Danube canal.The worst boat ride I have ever been on.All in all a disaster dont go on it

Edwin C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The directions given for the start of the tour were very poor. They are constructing the new train station at this site, and it was very difficult to find. The bus leaves from a sort of bus depot. That's what you should tell people. When I finally found the spot, there was no one to give us any direction. The guide, Michael was very rude when someone asked for guidance. The tour was supposed to be in English, but it was also done in French. As for the tour itself, the sightseeing section was a duplicate of the hop on tour. The boat had a tiny area where you could be outside to see everything. Otherwise you were stuck inside the boat. The food was very good.

Rajan K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Even though the tour is billed Vienna Sightseeing, the tour we got was called Panorama Tour. It did not have any sightseeing in Vienna city and the so-called panorama tour is a waste of time (long bus ride up and down) for a mediocre view. The boat ride is also colorless and boring, with canned commentary and a long wait to get into the canal. Not recommended.

JOHN S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Not really worth the money. There wasn't much to see on the boat ride especially when you spend about half an hour looking at the side of a lock it had to negotiate and then you find yourself abandoned in an area of the city you don't know at the end of it.

Lauren K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Would not recommend this tour. Sitting on a boat for 20 minutes in the locks, then cruising down a graffiti littered canal was not an experience to enjoy.

G Michael Lewin L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Unfortunately, the traffic was so bad, we took a long time to complete the panoramic trip. We were due to go to the Vienna Woods, but this was delayed until after the boat trip, which finished at 6.30.As we had booked a meal for 7.30. We were unable to do this part of the tour and ended up getting a taxi back to our hotel.Not impressed!

carolyn w

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2012

a bit of a waste of time! It wasn't very informative. I could see most of it myself and read my guide book --
The best part was sitting at he very front of the boat with a small Japanese boy: we waved to people on the bridge as we passed by; we pretended we turned the boat with the child's wheel

Bill S USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

I'm sorry to say it, but this tour was a terrible waste of time.

We were herded like cattle from one bus to the next to the next and finally left a massive bus station nearly 15 minutes after the tour was supposed to begin. The bus was old, stinky and did not have functional air conditioning.

The tour simply went up and down a few streets in Vienna and then went up to a parking lot overlooking the city. We sat there for 20 minutes - not long enough to get food or explore, but too long to do anything other than look at the view and wait for the bus to leave again.

Once we got to the boat, I was hopeful that the situation would improve. Sadly, the boat was old and overcrowded with absolutely no room on the top deck to sit. We ended up sitting below where it was HOT and uncomfortable. The boat merely went a short distance up the river and canal (spending nearly 25 minutes in a lock alone) and then dropped us off.

Seriously, I felt as if I were being held hostage. I was SO grateful to be set free at the end of this trip. What a waste of time and money.

prashant.mandge

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

Big Dissappointment the Pick-Up was 75 Minutes from the Departure and the pick-up guy left early before our arrival at the hotel, we have to go all the way to meeting point,there is an wrong information in the Voucher. Half and hour sightseesing in the Bus and then more than 1 hour on Boat riding Danube river thats all.

Jonathan W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

Of all the tours we booked though Viator, this is the only one I urge people to avoid. TO begine with, it was poorly organized by the loacal tour company. A double-decker bus was filled up with people requiring four languages. As a result, the guide had to work very hard, but 3/4 of her words were not understandable. She had no time to give out much information, and there was very litle sight seeing. We stopped at an important housing development in the city, but were given only the name of the architect and not the story behind the buildings. When we were supposed to enjoy a panoramic view overlooking the city, the bus stopped for all of three minutes, leaving people no time to do anything. And the boat ride waaas bery short, with no information about any sights provided. I urge people to avoid this particualr tour..

thomas g

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

poor avoid no real sighseeing tour of vienna just a few highrises and a block of flats visited by our queen in 1963 a quick drive to a panorama of the city and a boat ride where we saw vitually nothing

dezzie71

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

Not the best of tours. You would be better off booking the Danube boat ride directly and missing the bit before this. The guide was supposed to direct people from the boat towards the underground at the end of the tour but she was nowhere to be seen at the end.

Mirta L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

We found this tour company to be constantly running late. On this particular tour we had a late departure and were rushing through barely getting a glimpse (if at all) of the sights. Not only that, but the tour was multi-lingual. The guide said only three languages, but he did not control the time and by the time he may have reached your language the sight had been long gone (maybe the rushing element since we were late). Again, we took three tours with this company and it was always late!

PAUL C United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

Appalling - Do not book this Trip - It was awful

Sally B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2011

First half, a coach ride to the boat (2 hours to cover a very short distance) very poor - microphone in coach did not work so we were parked up in 36 degree heat, with no explanation of delay. We were then taken to a patch of rough playing field while the guide explained a bit about the history of the area. Back to the coach and a new coach was provided but no apology for delay, which led to one stop off being cancelled. I appreciate things do go wrong but an explanation and apology would have been appropriate. Boat trip itself was crowded (as I would expect in August) but tannoy not loud enough over noise of screaming children, etc., so could not hear commentary. The countryside on that stretch of the Danube was not particularly interesting, there were few buildings of note and 20 minutes of the 80 minute ride was spent sitting in a lock, going no-where (unless you count the water level dropping!). Additionally, the company did not tell us until after the tour had started where we would be dropped off, which turned out to be a considerable walk back to the starting point - in exceptionally hot weather. So, no, can't recommend this trip.

Susie

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2011

NO STARS This tour was awful!!!! we were the only english speaking couple so the guide spoke very little english we went to a place in the vienna woods for 25-30minutes with nothing to do and guide wasn't around, never saw the opera house and the tour was an hour short of the advertised time

Michael C Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011

Tour was disappointing. Tour guide provided minimal information. Most time on Danube was waiting in a lock to enter the canal. Canal featured mostly ugly graffiti. Skip this tour!

Viewing 5 of 5

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5

From USD $ 53.38

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT001BVS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message