• USD ($)
  • English

3 star rating: Worth doing 80 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 80 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Very unorganized, rude hotel transport who apparently was very frustrated with the traffic. You basically drive through the city while the guide rotates in three languages. Take your time and walk around the city during your vacation, you'll have a better time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The Danube boat ride takes forever because you have to go through a locking system (like the Panama Canal), so while you are waiting, it's is extremely hot, and the boat is a floating restaurant, and unfortunately our waiter was extremely rude, so it felt like the ride was even longer. Definitely could have done without this one.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Terribly organised at originating bus depot. Tour guide Michael ( French ) terribly rude. I asked if this was English speaking bus after much confusion and German spewing back and forth. Michael wanted to know 'how many times we had to be told' - I replied that once - in English would be nice.
Tour was not a city tour but a city outskirts tour. Half an hour wasted on some architectural different building. Complete waste of time and money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The tour was very poor and a waste of money,.The guide was extremely boring.His commentary was spoken in 3 different languages After the bus tour I was none the wiser about Vienna and the tour bus did not go to many places of interest.As for the Danube boat ride what can I say?We spent about 5 minutes on the Danube itself ,the rest of the time was spent in the Danube canal including about 30 minutes stuck in a lock.Believe me there is nothing pretty or interesting in the Danube canal.The worst boat ride I have ever been on.All in all a disaster dont go on it

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The directions given for the start of the tour were very poor. They are constructing the new train station at this site, and it was very difficult to find. The bus leaves from a sort of bus depot. That's what you should tell people. When I finally found the spot, there was no one to give us any direction. The guide, Michael was very rude when someone asked for guidance. The tour was supposed to be in English, but it was also done in French. As for the tour itself, the sightseeing section was a duplicate of the hop on tour. The boat had a tiny area where you could be outside to see everything. Otherwise you were stuck inside the boat. The food was very good.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Even though the tour is billed Vienna Sightseeing, the tour we got was called Panorama Tour. It did not have any sightseeing in Vienna city and the so-called panorama tour is a waste of time (long bus ride up and down) for a mediocre view. The boat ride is also colorless and boring, with canned commentary and a long wait to get into the canal. Not recommended.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Not really worth the money. There wasn't much to see on the boat ride especially when you spend about half an hour looking at the side of a lock it had to negotiate and then you find yourself abandoned in an area of the city you don't know at the end of it.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Would not recommend this tour. Sitting on a boat for 20 minutes in the locks, then cruising down a graffiti littered canal was not an experience to enjoy.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Unfortunately, the traffic was so bad, we took a long time to complete the panoramic trip. We were due to go to the Vienna Woods, but this was delayed until after the boat trip, which finished at 6.30.As we had booked a meal for 7.30. We were unable to do this part of the tour and ended up getting a taxi back to our hotel.Not impressed!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2012

a bit of a waste of time! It wasn't very informative. I could see most of it myself and read my guide book --
The best part was sitting at he very front of the boat with a small Japanese boy: we waved to people on the bridge as we passed by; we pretended we turned the boat with the child's wheel

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

I'm sorry to say it, but this tour was a terrible waste of time.

We were herded like cattle from one bus to the next to the next and finally left a massive bus station nearly 15 minutes after the tour was supposed to begin. The bus was old, stinky and did not have functional air conditioning.

The tour simply went up and down a few streets in Vienna and then went up to a parking lot overlooking the city. We sat there for 20 minutes - not long enough to get food or explore, but too long to do anything other than look at the view and wait for the bus to leave again.

Once we got to the boat, I was hopeful that the situation would improve. Sadly, the boat was old and overcrowded with absolutely no room on the top deck to sit. We ended up sitting below where it was HOT and uncomfortable. The boat merely went a short distance up the river and canal (spending nearly 25 minutes in a lock alone) and then dropped us off.

Seriously, I felt as if I were being held hostage. I was SO grateful to be set free at the end of this trip. What a waste of time and money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

Big Dissappointment the Pick-Up was 75 Minutes from the Departure and the pick-up guy left early before our arrival at the hotel, we have to go all the way to meeting point,there is an wrong information in the Voucher. Half and hour sightseesing in the Bus and then more than 1 hour on Boat riding Danube river thats all.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

Of all the tours we booked though Viator, this is the only one I urge people to avoid. TO begine with, it was poorly organized by the loacal tour company. A double-decker bus was filled up with people requiring four languages. As a result, the guide had to work very hard, but 3/4 of her words were not understandable. She had no time to give out much information, and there was very litle sight seeing. We stopped at an important housing development in the city, but were given only the name of the architect and not the story behind the buildings. When we were supposed to enjoy a panoramic view overlooking the city, the bus stopped for all of three minutes, leaving people no time to do anything. And the boat ride waaas bery short, with no information about any sights provided. I urge people to avoid this particualr tour..

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

poor avoid no real sighseeing tour of vienna just a few highrises and a block of flats visited by our queen in 1963 a quick drive to a panorama of the city and a boat ride where we saw vitually nothing

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

Not the best of tours. You would be better off booking the Danube boat ride directly and missing the bit before this. The guide was supposed to direct people from the boat towards the underground at the end of the tour but she was nowhere to be seen at the end.

From USD $ 61.71

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT001BVS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message