3 star rating: Worth doing 101 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vienna Sightseeing Tour with Danube Boat Ride. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 101 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

We would have been happier if the guide had had our booking confirmed, as we had the printed out details we were able to proceed.
I accept mistakes do happen but I felt sorry for the guide who had to deal with 2 extra people on a crouded bus but he managed well

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The city tour is somewhat misleading the tour actually take you to the outskirt of Vienna. There is no time to admire the lovely sites that go by so fast. The tour takes you to a top of a hill where you can see the all of Vienna, there is a short chance to have some refreshments served by the most rude waiters that we have ever encountered. After the land lightning tour there is a lenghthy featureless ride on the Danube and then in the Danube canal. Maybe it would a good idea to shorten the boat ride and make more time for the outskirt of Vienna.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

There was too much transferring from one vehicle to another. The boat cruise was alright, took very long at the lock. It was unfortunate that the bus was stalling during the journey to and from Vienna woods.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

timekeeping was excellent.however the coach trip
through parts of vienna was pointless as you could not see much as the coach was moving.I think more time should have been spent in the wine region.The boat ride waasnot very exciting either and had to wait ages in the canal because of traffic!!!!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour guide spoke English quite well, and comments were very informative. We enjoyed thatpart of the tour. However the boat ride was probably not worth it. The boat had to enter the locks in order to have the water level adjusted to enter the canal. This process was slow and not very interesting. At the end of the boat ride we disembarked at the levey. The tour guide just pointed us to the underground and said you can take that back to your hotel. That was not too helpful we finally figured out how to use it and where to go and we did make it back.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The boat ride was bery enjoyable, but didn't really get to see the city of Vienna. The guide did the tour in 4 languages - very distracting. Our time was short, so we're glad we took the tour, but if you have more time, do a more thorough city tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

We got a good overview of Vienna, and driving out to the outskirts was very pleasant. The boat trip was nice too. Unfortunately the tour guide had to translate in 4 languages, and I think she forgot to translate for everything. I think this is a cheap way for a company to run a tour, and it's no fair to the tour guide. This tour company needs to quit being cheap and reduce the languages to two to a tour-did not enjoy it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Not informed group not returned back to hotel.

If the group are collected from their hotel they should be returned to the hotel and not just left to find their own way back.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The guide spoke too softly for us to understand despite asking her once. River cruise cancelled sec to flooding with No suitable alternative. The Danube tower was a disappointment. Save your time and money and just do the Vienna historical tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

My expectations were not met because I was expecting more of a boat ride. We were picked up at the hotel at 2:30 and transferred to a large bus. We were on the bus until 5:00 touring the city. We then went on a boat on the river for an hour and a half. We went down the river until we got to the locks and it took 25 minutes to go through the locks. We were then into the canal. So maybe we were on the river for half an hour. Then when we got back many people thought they were being taken back close to there hotels no bus. Fortunately, we were within walking distance. People were confused... We directed several couples to the underground. I think that the tours should be more specific on transportation to and from.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Although I was very impressed that the tourguide could speak four languages, it meant he HAD to speak four languages and so very little was said at all.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Bus trip---guide spoke everything in 3 languages and after a while you tuned out. Danube trip was boring and you couldn’t hear the pre-recorded info about the different sites. 20 minutes spent in the Loch was too long.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

A bit disappointing. We arrived at bus station in the heat to be pushed off the bus and stand around awaiting instructions. Basically, no-one seemed to be in control, we ended up on wrong bus to be booted off again to the right bus. River cruise was a debacle having to return to port for some technical reason, this lead to the trip to go an extra 1.5hrs, once again no explanation, thank God for the bar. Then at finished, basically dumped at Danube Canal end of city to find your own way back.This being at 8.00pm at night. It seems they are quick to pick you up but dump you at the end, this could be anywhere.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

What we saw was fine but how can you have a tour of Vienna and not include Schoenberg Palace, Hofburg Palace, or St.Stevens Cathedral. The tour started 25 minutes late and many on the tour had to leave early for other evening commitments. Our guide Sylvia was more concerned about talking to our bus driver about finding a place to live than being a good guide. This tour was not worth the money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Not very organized or informative

From USD $ 57.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT001BVS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message