Viewing All 255 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Katherine E R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This trip would be worth it just for the Seegrotte. "Undersea lake" doesn't do it justice; it's a flooded cave, with many different spaces. Bring a sweater, though; it is a little chilly! The tour also goes through some gorgeous countryside and the town of Baden, as well as a monastery and a church, which show different architectural styles. There's a lot to see in such a short trip! Our guide was very knowledgeable and spoke English very well and clearly (important for my mother, who is hard of hearing.) Of the three trips we went on during our stay in Vienna, this was my favorite, as well as being the least expensive. A great value!

Fa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Fun half day trip in the beautiful Vienna Woods. The cave portion was very interesting. Would recommend for any age of traveler.

claire m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This is a great half day trip if you want to see something of the Vienna woods. The monasteries were beautiful, especially the stained glass windows. The underwater lake was a unique and enjoyable experience even though the recent history attached to it is very sad. Lastly, the guide, who was fluent in three languages made every effort to inform all the people on the bus of the history of each place we visited. He was very impressive and congenial. All in all, I would recommend this trip without hesitation.

ERMIS C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

The most interesting part in this trip was the Seegrotte. The other part fory myself was not very interesting.
The organisation and our Guide was excellent.

Ricardo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Delightful. Visited nice places. Interesting too.

filip h Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Excellent half-day trip. A 'half-hour "coffee pause' would be appreciated. We liked much also your efficiency and efforts to make clients comfortable. Good hotel pick-up. Best wishes for 2012!

Brittany K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and I highly recommend this trip. Absolutely nothing went wrong. We were actually picked up on time and my family really enjoyed this trip.

Diana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Very good, the guide was excellent.

Eduard K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Great tour, I like it.

Kathrin B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Strongly recommend! There is no doubt that there are more than enough things to do in Vienna in the city. However, if you want to escape the city for a day (most of a day!) this is a great way to do it. Basically the trip has 3 parts - the monastery, a church, and the underground lake. I'm not religious, and was in awe at the monastery - the stained glass windows left me speechless. The underground lake is an amazing sight. Be warned it is naturally a constant temperature of 9 degree celsius, which was actually a nice way to escape the summer heat! After a guided tour through the abandoned mine, you have a boat ride which was incredibly peaceful. This is where part of the 3 Musketeers movie (with Kiefer Sutherland) was filmed.

kiwibuddy1 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Great trip through the Vienna woods, wonderful tour guide, interesting tour of the underground lake. Do not miss this!

Beth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Vienna, Austria has always been one of our most favorite European cities and this tour proved that there are so many interesting and beautiful sights outside of the city as well.

Gwendolyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

fun trip here!! did not expect it to be this fun!! good tour guide, very knowlegable. the monastery visited was very interesting! and the subterranean river ride was a surprise!

Elizabeth T E Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

You've got to see it for yourself.......

Maria S M P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Excellent half day trip to the Vienna woods and Mayerling, great tour guide. The boat trip was just perfect!

Kathleen M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

A wonderful experience - we were collected from our hotel punctually and driven the short distance to the coach terminus for the start of the tour. Vienna Woods was just beautiful in the snow. Mayerling was interesting, as was the monastery. We had a brief glimpse of Liechtenstein castle before proceeding to the underground caves and boat journey on the lake. A really enjoyable half day excursion.

Alice C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We loved this tour! They picked us up at the hotel and we were off. It was a beautiful day too! Beautiful scenery, gothic church and a suprise I didn't expect. We went into an old mine with canals. Hitler took it over to build planes. chilling and creepy. Some unexpected history There were even bits and pieces of the planes left.

Anne K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

This is a great use of a half day in Vienna. In a fairly short time, you get a feeling for the local landscape and towns. It's true that there's not enough time to really see the two monasteries, but there's plenty of time for the really unusual part of the trip -- the underground lake. In addition to the lake itself, there is an extensive tour of the mine, which was used by the Germans during World War II to construct aircraft, a bit of important history you don't normally see. I must also compliment the guide, who skillfully juggled 4 languages during the tour.

Rosa O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This is a very nice trip. If you do not like closed places, do not take. The ride on the lake is fantastic. Nothing to be scared of. Thanks Viator for this opportunity.

Melinawati S Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

The guide is very nice to explain everything of this half day trip. Especially the underground lake, so wonderful!

John L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

An excellent trip. All three stops were fascinating. Super scenery. Thanks to a wonderful guide.

Alan B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This trip was very well planned, well guided and simply couldn't have been done on our own. There were many aspects to it and all were interesting and unique. This Vienna Woods and Mayerling trip was excellent.

Theresa P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This was truly outstanding. We will remember it all our lives. It would have been nice to have a coffee and bathroom break after the first hour by the time we got to the monastery, we were in great need of these services! Still, this is an experience not to be missed.

Warwick M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

A wonderful trip and excellant value for money.

Naomi B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Great, interesting half day trip, especially the underground lake.Beautiful Countryside as well

Viewing 3 of 11

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 55.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT004VS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message