4 star rating: Recommended 221 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vienna Woods and Mayerling Half Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 221 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It will be better in a sunny day. But this is part of the autumn.
Good guide, nice places.
The best stop is Mayerling, but 20 minutes to see the museum would be great.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very informative trip with an enthusiastic guide.
Highly recommended for those who visits VIenna

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip and good guide. Vienna countryside is indeed beautiful and the highlight of the tour is the boat ride under the rock.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

An enjoyable and informative trip. My only comment would be the poor description of where to join the tour. when we arrived at the given location there was no indication as to where we would actually catch the coach, and only by a bit of aimless wandering did we find the boarding point. Maybe more detail on the joining instructions would help.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good tour and guide

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

it was a very interesting tour. The bus transfer was confusing as it was all done in German and we didn't know what was going on. It could be improved . The guide on the tour was very good and ran the tour very efficiently.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A brilliant half day tour starting with a coach ride through woods and scenery that inspired Beethoven to write symphonies a look at Mayerling memorial chapel and peek at Liechtenstein castle before making our way to the Cistercian monastery guided tour and finishing off with an underground boat ride

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Loved this trip! Beautiful country. Would have never seen this part of Austria with out booking this adventure.

I would recommend that you have your hotel concierge confirm your hotel pick up time once in Vienna. You are picked up at your hotel and taken to a central bus station to get on the proper bus for your tour. This particular tour we were picked up, taken to a bus in city center, and then transferred again at the main terminal. The company could do a better job communicating to people. After some confusion, all were put on the correct bus and a wonderful half day adventure was had be these to Americans.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Lovely getting to see the Vienna Woods. Warning:The boat ride is very short and requires a lot of walking and stairs in the mine to get to and from the boat. Many people had to turn back because they either felt claustrophobic in the tunnel or could not do that much walking.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a nice little half day trip for anyone looking to get out of the city for a bit. We enjoyed the Holy Cross Abbey very much and the underground grotto was fun. For anyone who can't really walk very far they should be forewarned that the grotto is a bit of a hike with stairs down to launch point and then back up at the end.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The guide was knowledgeable, but was racist towards Hispanics. The tour itself was great, but wished the guide would have left his pregidism aside.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Short but nice day tour...both visits of the Mayerling chapel and Heilige Kreuze abbey are worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our team enjoyed the tour. It was a new and an experience they will long remember.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Loved this tour, such beautiful countryside. Just the right length of time.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

very interesting and eye opening.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

+ The guide was well informed and considerate to these people, who can't walk very fast. We had 3 stops in 4 hours - enough to see various things and not hurry. The woods and monastery were very beautiful. If there could be another stop in Baden, this trip would be perfect.

- We were not informed of changes in trip plan (we could not take the boat trip on lake). I called in day before the trip and got no information about it.
Hotel pick-up is not made by car (as we assumed), you have to walk with a man to a meeting point. If one has health problems, this form of "pick-up service" only complicates things. It is easier to go to meeting point yourself.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Pleasant trip including an hour long river cruise. Not at all rushed and again a good guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Nice morning out. Scenery was beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Nice and Enjoyable. Would do the trip again. The history of the underground lake is extremely interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We were truly impressed with the tour guide reciting his monologue in 4 languages. We are not really church sightseers, but the underground gypsum mine was interesting. Perhaps a bit more detail could have been provided regarding the Hapsburg dynasty and the circumstances at Mayerling. We were in Vienna for a week, so it was a pleasant break from the urban opportunities.

Paul S
Malta

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were picked up on time from hotel. It was a very well organized tour. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us a lot of information on the way to the woods. The pace of the tour was very relaxed, no rushing from one place to another. The visit to the underground lake was a marvellous experience. The return trip was enjoyable with the guide playing Viennese music. A really enjoyable morning tour, well worth the money paid. I would heartily recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Hotel pick-up useful, Mayerling and Abbey interesting, cave boat ride was worth the long walk. Think multi-lingual commentary sometimes lost something in translation.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was almost a perfect day. I appreciated the talent of the multilingual guide. Also it was a lovely fall day where we saw Mayerling with lots of background information. Also enjoyed the amazing manmade underground lake which was very interesting!
Only one concern:
When we were dropped off at the lovely Opera House on a busy Sunday afternoon, after the tour, there was not a taxi to be found! I have a serious mobility issue and had to walk SEVERAL blocks back to my hotel.
I understand the Opera House is used because many people will continue with an afternoon tour, but I am 70 years old and wanted a rest at my hotel. Maybe it was because it was a Sunday, but I was unhappy.
Later that evening, I took another Viator tour to the Palace for a Mozart/Strauss Concert which was wonderful. Taxis there both ways were very accessable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I was very glad we chose Viator for this excusrion. We enjoyed it very much. The bus picked us on time, the guide was very good, everything that we saw was very interesting, I hope you have many other tours that we can choose for our next trips to Europe.

From USD $ 54.93

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT004VS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message