4 star rating: Recommended 233 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vienna Woods and Mayerling Half Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 233 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The subterranean lake was the highlight of this half day visit and the Vienna Woods would be beautiful in the summertime.

The lake and mine was used in The Musketeers 1993 and seeing the boat that was used in the film was very cool!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good trip with mine boat just getting there problem change buses twice and pick up van to bus bit much thought we were going in a van not a bus

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

very good

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Enjoyable trip. Commentary provided in multiple languages. Informative guide

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was another fabulous tour. Nice to get out of the city and see the beautiful countryside around Vienna.
Our guide was very knowledgeable and we stopped at some great spots and learned the history of them. Highly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a beautiful and well conducted tour. Thoroughly enjoyed it

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour through the beautiful Vienna Woods. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and kept our interest.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Thought the trip to Mayerling was very good. The monestary was particularly interesting and we very much enjoyed the underground lakes. The only downside I thought was that the excursion felt a bit rushed and I think that it would have been nice to stop off to look around Baden briefly, as this was a nice town. Otherwise, overall I would say that it was worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It will be better in a sunny day. But this is part of the autumn.
Good guide, nice places.
The best stop is Mayerling, but 20 minutes to see the museum would be great.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very informative trip with an enthusiastic guide.
Highly recommended for those who visits VIenna

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip and good guide. Vienna countryside is indeed beautiful and the highlight of the tour is the boat ride under the rock.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

An enjoyable and informative trip. My only comment would be the poor description of where to join the tour. when we arrived at the given location there was no indication as to where we would actually catch the coach, and only by a bit of aimless wandering did we find the boarding point. Maybe more detail on the joining instructions would help.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good tour and guide

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

it was a very interesting tour. The bus transfer was confusing as it was all done in German and we didn't know what was going on. It could be improved . The guide on the tour was very good and ran the tour very efficiently.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A brilliant half day tour starting with a coach ride through woods and scenery that inspired Beethoven to write symphonies a look at Mayerling memorial chapel and peek at Liechtenstein castle before making our way to the Cistercian monastery guided tour and finishing off with an underground boat ride

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Loved this trip! Beautiful country. Would have never seen this part of Austria with out booking this adventure.

I would recommend that you have your hotel concierge confirm your hotel pick up time once in Vienna. You are picked up at your hotel and taken to a central bus station to get on the proper bus for your tour. This particular tour we were picked up, taken to a bus in city center, and then transferred again at the main terminal. The company could do a better job communicating to people. After some confusion, all were put on the correct bus and a wonderful half day adventure was had be these to Americans.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Lovely getting to see the Vienna Woods. Warning:The boat ride is very short and requires a lot of walking and stairs in the mine to get to and from the boat. Many people had to turn back because they either felt claustrophobic in the tunnel or could not do that much walking.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a nice little half day trip for anyone looking to get out of the city for a bit. We enjoyed the Holy Cross Abbey very much and the underground grotto was fun. For anyone who can't really walk very far they should be forewarned that the grotto is a bit of a hike with stairs down to launch point and then back up at the end.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The guide was knowledgeable, but was racist towards Hispanics. The tour itself was great, but wished the guide would have left his pregidism aside.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Short but nice day tour...both visits of the Mayerling chapel and Heilige Kreuze abbey are worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our team enjoyed the tour. It was a new and an experience they will long remember.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Loved this tour, such beautiful countryside. Just the right length of time.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

very interesting and eye opening.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

+ The guide was well informed and considerate to these people, who can't walk very fast. We had 3 stops in 4 hours - enough to see various things and not hurry. The woods and monastery were very beautiful. If there could be another stop in Baden, this trip would be perfect.

- We were not informed of changes in trip plan (we could not take the boat trip on lake). I called in day before the trip and got no information about it.
Hotel pick-up is not made by car (as we assumed), you have to walk with a man to a meeting point. If one has health problems, this form of "pick-up service" only complicates things. It is easier to go to meeting point yourself.

From USD $ 55.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT004VS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message