4 star rating: Recommended 233 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Vienna Woods and Mayerling Half Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 233 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Pleasant trip including an hour long river cruise. Not at all rushed and again a good guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Nice morning out. Scenery was beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Nice and Enjoyable. Would do the trip again. The history of the underground lake is extremely interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We were truly impressed with the tour guide reciting his monologue in 4 languages. We are not really church sightseers, but the underground gypsum mine was interesting. Perhaps a bit more detail could have been provided regarding the Hapsburg dynasty and the circumstances at Mayerling. We were in Vienna for a week, so it was a pleasant break from the urban opportunities.

Paul S
Malta

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were picked up on time from hotel. It was a very well organized tour. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us a lot of information on the way to the woods. The pace of the tour was very relaxed, no rushing from one place to another. The visit to the underground lake was a marvellous experience. The return trip was enjoyable with the guide playing Viennese music. A really enjoyable morning tour, well worth the money paid. I would heartily recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Hotel pick-up useful, Mayerling and Abbey interesting, cave boat ride was worth the long walk. Think multi-lingual commentary sometimes lost something in translation.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was almost a perfect day. I appreciated the talent of the multilingual guide. Also it was a lovely fall day where we saw Mayerling with lots of background information. Also enjoyed the amazing manmade underground lake which was very interesting!
Only one concern:
When we were dropped off at the lovely Opera House on a busy Sunday afternoon, after the tour, there was not a taxi to be found! I have a serious mobility issue and had to walk SEVERAL blocks back to my hotel.
I understand the Opera House is used because many people will continue with an afternoon tour, but I am 70 years old and wanted a rest at my hotel. Maybe it was because it was a Sunday, but I was unhappy.
Later that evening, I took another Viator tour to the Palace for a Mozart/Strauss Concert which was wonderful. Taxis there both ways were very accessable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I was very glad we chose Viator for this excusrion. We enjoyed it very much. The bus picked us on time, the guide was very good, everything that we saw was very interesting, I hope you have many other tours that we can choose for our next trips to Europe.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The only highlight is the boat ride on the Seegrotte which makes the tour worthwhile.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

it was great to see some of the country side, enjoyable tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Beautiful scenery and loved the boat ride.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The countryside was beautiful and it was good to to see the area outside the city of Vienna. It would have been really nice if the weather has cooperated..

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Enjoyed the bus trip through the woods and seeing Mayerling. The monastery was really interesting but thoroughly enjoyed the boat ride through the underground lakes. Very pretty.

Garry C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A little disappointing.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We enjoyed this tour despite the heavy rain. The bus was comfortable, the commentary interesting. The Vienna Woods were picturesque, and the cruise on the man-made underground lake was fun. It was a very pleasant and relaxing half-day tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Pleasant trip through gorgeous country-side; very cool boat trip on the underground lake and interesting information.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

An enjoyable half day trip although, as someone with a walking problem, I would have appreciated more warning of the walking distance and the number of steps to be negotiated inside the tunnel. However, the excursion was really interesting and the guide brilliant with his command of so many languages, great singing voice and considerable background knowledge.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

A good trip out, made a lovely xmas morning

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The beginning of the tour was going to a church we were not interested in - but then we went onto the the Vienna Woods and down to the Seegrotto which was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

A nice drive through the countryside outside Vienna. The underground "lake" is so-so, but the trip overall is a good break from the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Well organized, places we visited were next more interesting than earlier and guide was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour of Vienna Woods!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Tour and guide on 9/20 to Vienna Woods were excellent. Really a tour not to miss. Bus comfortable, time for coffee break. Guide was interesting and polite. Would use this company again. Only problem was the directions to meet the bus at 9:45AM were sketchy on bus 'depot' on the 'square' needs to mention to get off the U and keep going straight to the bus depot spot--not go to the square. Please mention to people as we almost missed our tour. Thank you, couple from USA

Susan S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Very interesting and a good combination of activities. Thought the guide did very well giving his commentary in 5 different languages - we didn't mind it not being just in English. The mine was a highlight and we were surprised the tour description didn't explain what this was except to mention a subterranean boat ride. There seemed to be a mix-up with our hotel pick-up as we were told to wait in the lobby and we waited 15 minutes and no-one came, then the receptionist called the company and we were now told to wait outside.

From USD $ 55.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3585AT004VS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message