4 star rating: Recommended 29 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Vienna, Austria
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Welcome to Vienna - Vienna Card, Hop-on-Hop off Tour, Morning Tea and Lunch or Dinner. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 29 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

This was probably a good deal for those who go to museums more than we do. The card gave you discounts to museums and exhibits rather than prepaid admissions like other city cards we've bought. The dinner and the tea were both fun -- just don't expect to choose what you're going to eat.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Everything went very smoothly apart from the incorrect address on our paperwork for the Restaurant Fuhrich. (The address on the paperwork was for Cafe Central consequently we knew where that was for the next day). The pickup from the airport was an excellent limousine transfer, the food at both Restaurant Fuhrich and Cafe Central was good, and the Vienna card worked well. If I have one criticism it was that the Hop On Hop Off buses were very crowded and at one stage was going past stops because of lack of room. All in all, well worth it.

Fiona F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Vienna Card - excellent and enabled us to get around easily and without hassle; Hop-on-hop-off - very good, gave a great over-view of the city, 3 routes to do. Was difficult to locate where to initially join the tour and would be difficult to fit everything in if you wanted to 'hop-off' at too many stops. Morning tea - excellent, beautiful setting, friendly and courteous staff and were able to provide gluten free cake for my dad without hassle. Dinner - mmm, not so great and the reason we've not scored this with 5 stars. My dad requires a gluten free meal, we had emailed ahead requesting this, been into the restaurant on arrival and advised that it was not a problem. Sadly it was a big problem and there was only one starter, one main course and no desert that he could have. The fixed price menu is very restricted and staff did not explain it and having agreed we would pay the difference between this and what we might choose from the menu, we faced a steep bill that was not at all worth it. Very disappointing. This was the only disappointing element of the whole trip though.

Sandra T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

This is a good value for people that can get up early and are well organized. There's so much to see, just not enough time! Our afternoon tea was not such a great value, as we were charged for water, and for having cream on the cake. The traditional meal was fantastic, and we were treated as welcome guests with no additional charges for bread, water, or anything else.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

If you only have a short time to see Vienna, the Welcome to Vienna package is a good way to see the city and sample some Austrian cuisine.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

What I managed to do of this tour was good. My train arrived late on the first day, so on the second day I was only able to see the palace due to cold weather.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I like it. but i think its necessary to explain betther where we could take de bus. i was lost, i dont speak german and it took to long to find the bus. but after it is ok.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Hop-on-Hop off tour is quite a nice way to get around in the city, and to explore the tourist attraction spots; the tea and cake at the Cafe Central was enjoyable. Although the coffee is OK and the cake tasted good, it's the inside and the decor of the coffee house which is impressive and sublime. Go in the morning, so you don't have to waste your time lining up to get in. I didn't use the Vienna Card that much, because I walked to everywhere! Not many places where I showed the card took it anyway; at one coffee shop (I forgot which one), the waiter told me they do not take the Vienna Card I have but a different one. I also didn't get to use my dinner voucher, and I don't know how much the voucher values. That was very upsetting. I only had time to use my voucher on my last day in Vienna, which was a Sunday, and guess what? that restaurant was closed on Sunday!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

No taxi pick up when we arrived airport. We have to call them and wait for the taxi driver. Anyway taxi driver is very nice and polite. Does not have enough information in English. Its difficult for a tourist to find out the place for dinner. and tea. We spent a lot of time to find out the place . Suggestion : provide a location map. The cake and atmosphere in Cafe Center is excellent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Everything was ok, but the Hop-on-Hop off which we only did use once due to winter time, took much too long and we were waiting for the return bus for 2 hours, so we used the tram and metro to get back to the Hotel.Not worth at all!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

the lack of free entry to museums makes this card not much use for the money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Am disappointed, as it didnt quite work out the way I had hoped. First of all missed my flight into Vienna from Paris because of delayed connections. When I called on arrival to Paris, to inform the tour people they said the driver had been to the airport and returned and they couldnt pay for another shuttle to pick me at a later time. Even though the delay was not my fault. The package was at the hotel for me, and had the maps and stuff, the coupon for the Cafe Central was good, I loved the dessert and coffee there, but never got to use the dinner/meal voucher as there was already so much to see, do and eat at Vienna . Also I realized that the trains and public transport (U-Bahn network) is so good that you dont really need a shuttle to pick you from the airport, there was a metro station just a few blocks from my hotel once I had a map I was able to use it to get anywhere. Also the hop-on-hop-off isnt that great, I still had to pay for it at a small discount it wasnt free as I had misunderstood. The Vienna card is good all public transport is free but as I didnt have the package until I actually reached my hotel the first night (no shuttle) I had to pay for the initial transfers to the city center using the airport train and then the U Bahn to the station near my hotel. Would not recommend this.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2011

I've been booking trips with Viator for years and have never been disappointed. However in this case I was. The package was supposed to be delivered to our hotel and we would find it waiting for us on check in. Thankfully the airport pickup was well organised but the package never arrived. I planned to use the things for the first day but they were not delivered. After phoning Australia at an expense from Vienna, the delivery was organised within 90 minutes but a lot of precious hours were wasted waiting for the delivery.

Note from Viator: Thanks for your comment. We will contact our local supplier and are following up to ensure this does not happen again. While we never like to hear about customers having substandard experiences, your feedback helps us to ensure our local suppliers provide a quality experience.

Marina S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2008

Had numerous problems with this tour. Luckily I looked at docs on arrival at hotel. First, the tickets provided were for two people instead of three. I rang them and they replaced them within an hour. Then I rang our restaurant to book dinner reservations, and they had no knowledge of my voucher which they normally would, and could not take voucher for Christmas Eve, as that is a very expensive fixed price menu. We negotiated another day and it proved to be a very nice restaurant. Morning tea was another hassle. Two of us ordered the prepaid coffee and strudel, but the strudel was lousy, and we paid for my son to have a toasted sandwich and water. When we asked for another coffee for my husband it was declined because they claimed he was a fourth person, and therefore not covered by our voucher. We went to the Opera House to do the hop on hop off and was told I had to pay, which I stupidly did, so I ended up paying twice for that part! I will say, the Vienna Card is by far the best item; we took trams and buses all over the place and got discounts on various other items like Schonbrunn Castle and Spanish Riding School entries. So, if you can, just get yourself the Vienna Card - it is invaluable!

From USD $ 115.51

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 4+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 242005VIEWELCOME

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message