• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 113 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 113 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A quality trip. Lots to do and see. The boat trip was a great way to relax and see many of the Washington sights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The only thing I would suggest is to stay a little longer at Mount Vernon. The time allotted for the tour and trying to get through the museum and grounds is not near enough time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I really liked this tour. It was a very nice, quiet cruise down the Potomac. Mount Vernon is beautiful and very will kept. The out buildings give you a real appreciation of the work demanded by a large plantation in the late 18th century. There are nice gift shops and an eatery for your family. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very enjoyable and relaxing tour. Mount Vernon is a lovely area to visit and the house restoration has been carried out beautifully.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The cruise was relaxing and a nice way to see the surrounding area. This tour was well worth our time. We all enjoyed it. Could have use a little more time at Mount Vernon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a very relaxing way to see Mt.Vernon if you are staying in DC. No need to deal with the traffic. Cruise was very relaxing and the narration down the Potomac points out all the sights along the way. The 3 hours at Mt. Vernon is an adequate amount of time to spend at the site. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Enjoyed the tour even though it poured down with rain for most of the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The boat trip to Mt Vernon was very relaxing and liked seeing the countryside. Once we arrived we were on our to see the grounds and we were given a ticket to tour his home. I like being able to do this at your own pace. Had lunch at the food court which was very good. Good trip and I would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful cruise down the Potomac and then 3 hours at Mount Vernon. We thought 3 hours would be a lot, but there's a lot to see there! Still, we loved being on the boat and cruising there and back. Would recommend this to all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is a very relaxing way to see Mt Vernon. The boat ride took one and a half hours each way. It was a peaceful and beautiful cruise. We had three hours to spend at Mt Vernon. We were able to see everything. We ate lunch in the food court and even had time to sit in the back of the house overlooking the river. What a beautiful view!! Definitely recommend this trip!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Everything you expect from an Historical day.
Even though I was outside the pickup range, it was easy to get to the Dockside using the Metro......
Interesting, well planned, enjoyable, accurate step back in time.
The grounds were beautiful and well maintained I would go again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Relaxing and informative cruise on the Potomac. Plenty of time to explore the grounds and tour the house and other buildings. Best gift shop in the DC area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Everything was great on this day trip to Mt. Vernon. The crew on the boat was the best and visiting the home of George Washington was such a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great Day out, comfortable ship. Brilliant destination in Mount Vernon. Highly recommend you fit this into your trip

From USD $ 49.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5042BOSSPI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message