• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 115 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 115 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Everything was great on this day trip to Mt. Vernon. The crew on the boat was the best and visiting the home of George Washington was such a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great Day out, comfortable ship. Brilliant destination in Mount Vernon. Highly recommend you fit this into your trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a lovely day in every aspect. The cruise was very relaxing, the scenery beautiful, and the conversation with fellow passengers was interesting. The tour guide (our captain) was informative. Definitely a recommended trip to future travelers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

very nice trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Well organized tour and friendly crew. A relaxing cruise on the river and a very enjoyable visit to our first President's home.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The cruise was great and we loved the tour of Mount Vernon. My friend and I just wished we had even more time to spend visiting the museum. We had a delicious lunch there also:)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This tour was fantastic. From the boat ride to Mt. Vernon to the tour of the home and grounds, and the guides. Great! I give it 5 stars

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent Tour. Best way to see Mt. Vernon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

One of the best trips we have done in a long time. Absolutely brilliant. The only thing is when you arrive at the place to walk up to the house, there is a little bus that will take you up for free. I strongly recommennd using this, anyone can, it meets the boat and as I said it is completely free. The walk up in the mid day heat, slighly uphill can be a bit much.
So get the bus, the boat cruise is just fantastic, smooth, beautiful scenery, fresh warm breeze, excellent staff. You arrive, get the little bus up to the Home of George Washington, staff here better than you could get anywhere, so helpful, friendly. See a little video, short, in all airconditioned, go on a guided tour of house, all aircondition also. Very informative. Grounds brilliant, little shop etc. and back to the boat for 1.30pm and I think we were back where we boarded at 3pm ish. It was a brilliant day and I would highly recommdend this trip. Enjoy.!

Nicola S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I wondered when we booked if this was too long to spend but could easily have spent longer here. A grea tour - loved the cruise as a start and finish to the day and Mt Vernon did not dissapoint.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This is a fun day from beginning to end. The boat was clean, air conditioned, offered food and drinks, and had plenty of seating wherever on the boat you want to be. We were dropped off at Mt. Vernon where we were then left to explore and hear stories from the many docents available at the mansion and museum. I highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

great !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Mt Vernon is a must-see while in DC. The boat ride was pleasant. Would have been better if they had allowed us more time. We barely had time to see the mansion, the museum and had a quick lunch. No time for the grounds and shopping.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We learned a lot from our tour guide about the monuments. The driver was very pleasent and worked to give us exceptonal views of the monuments. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

A very pleasant way to see this historic house museum. As we were staying in DC and could use the Metro to get to the ship it meant a more relaxing trip without the use of the car.

From USD $ 49.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5042BOSSPI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message