4.5 star rating: Recommended 157 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 157 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The cruise was relaxing and a nice way to see the surrounding area. This tour was well worth our time. We all enjoyed it. Could have use a little more time at Mount Vernon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a very relaxing way to see Mt.Vernon if you are staying in DC. No need to deal with the traffic. Cruise was very relaxing and the narration down the Potomac points out all the sights along the way. The 3 hours at Mt. Vernon is an adequate amount of time to spend at the site. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Enjoyed the tour even though it poured down with rain for most of the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The boat trip to Mt Vernon was very relaxing and liked seeing the countryside. Once we arrived we were on our to see the grounds and we were given a ticket to tour his home. I like being able to do this at your own pace. Had lunch at the food court which was very good. Good trip and I would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful cruise down the Potomac and then 3 hours at Mount Vernon. We thought 3 hours would be a lot, but there's a lot to see there! Still, we loved being on the boat and cruising there and back. Would recommend this to all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is a very relaxing way to see Mt Vernon. The boat ride took one and a half hours each way. It was a peaceful and beautiful cruise. We had three hours to spend at Mt Vernon. We were able to see everything. We ate lunch in the food court and even had time to sit in the back of the house overlooking the river. What a beautiful view!! Definitely recommend this trip!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Everything you expect from an Historical day.
Even though I was outside the pickup range, it was easy to get to the Dockside using the Metro......
Interesting, well planned, enjoyable, accurate step back in time.
The grounds were beautiful and well maintained I would go again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Relaxing and informative cruise on the Potomac. Plenty of time to explore the grounds and tour the house and other buildings. Best gift shop in the DC area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Everything was great on this day trip to Mt. Vernon. The crew on the boat was the best and visiting the home of George Washington was such a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great Day out, comfortable ship. Brilliant destination in Mount Vernon. Highly recommend you fit this into your trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a lovely day in every aspect. The cruise was very relaxing, the scenery beautiful, and the conversation with fellow passengers was interesting. The tour guide (our captain) was informative. Definitely a recommended trip to future travelers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

very nice trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Well organized tour and friendly crew. A relaxing cruise on the river and a very enjoyable visit to our first President's home.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The cruise was great and we loved the tour of Mount Vernon. My friend and I just wished we had even more time to spend visiting the museum. We had a delicious lunch there also:)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This tour was fantastic. From the boat ride to Mt. Vernon to the tour of the home and grounds, and the guides. Great! I give it 5 stars

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent Tour. Best way to see Mt. Vernon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

One of the best trips we have done in a long time. Absolutely brilliant. The only thing is when you arrive at the place to walk up to the house, there is a little bus that will take you up for free. I strongly recommennd using this, anyone can, it meets the boat and as I said it is completely free. The walk up in the mid day heat, slighly uphill can be a bit much.
So get the bus, the boat cruise is just fantastic, smooth, beautiful scenery, fresh warm breeze, excellent staff. You arrive, get the little bus up to the Home of George Washington, staff here better than you could get anywhere, so helpful, friendly. See a little video, short, in all airconditioned, go on a guided tour of house, all aircondition also. Very informative. Grounds brilliant, little shop etc. and back to the boat for 1.30pm and I think we were back where we boarded at 3pm ish. It was a brilliant day and I would highly recommdend this trip. Enjoy.!

Nicola S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I wondered when we booked if this was too long to spend but could easily have spent longer here. A grea tour - loved the cruise as a start and finish to the day and Mt Vernon did not dissapoint.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This is a fun day from beginning to end. The boat was clean, air conditioned, offered food and drinks, and had plenty of seating wherever on the boat you want to be. We were dropped off at Mt. Vernon where we were then left to explore and hear stories from the many docents available at the mansion and museum. I highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

great !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Mt Vernon is a must-see while in DC. The boat ride was pleasant. Would have been better if they had allowed us more time. We barely had time to see the mansion, the museum and had a quick lunch. No time for the grounds and shopping.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We learned a lot from our tour guide about the monuments. The driver was very pleasent and worked to give us exceptonal views of the monuments. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

A very pleasant way to see this historic house museum. As we were staying in DC and could use the Metro to get to the ship it meant a more relaxing trip without the use of the car.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Very enjoyable and enlightening experience. Would recommend to any age group. Cruise was a pleasant and different way to reach Mt. Vernon.

From USD $ 50.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5042BOSSPI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message