4.5 star rating: Recommended 157 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 157 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great tour guide was very good, sorry forgot his name

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

The overall experience was great. Getting to Mt. Vernon by boat was a good choice because you get 2 fun things to do in one! The boat was very roomy and comfortable. The only complaint I have is that my granddaughter wanted a smoothy and it cost $6! .....a little pricey for me. But the trip was great and we had plenty of time to see what we wanted to see. Don't miss the oxen!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent tour! The staff on the ship was very friendly and efficient! Everything was punctual and
Mt. Vernon is gorgeous!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed this excursion to walk in the footsteps of George Washington.
The cruise up the Potomac River was breezy and bracing at times but I wouldn't have missed sitting up the top for anything.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I've toured Mount Vernon many times in the past, but what an incredible way to approach the estate....by water!! The boat trip was such a relaxing part of the vacation....it was nice to slow down for awhile and enjoy the beauty of the Potomac!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip, everything very well organised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

without doubt a well worthwhile trip,very enjoyable sail down to mount vernon and great insight into washinton's life

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Me and my parents who have complete opposite interests, ABSOLUTELY LOVED this trip! There was something for all of us to do and had a blast! Would do this again in a heart beat and will definitely will use this company again! Thanks so much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

What a great way to see Mount Vernon. The boat ride was fantastic and they give you enough time to see the exhibits along with the view of the house, before you return to DC. Highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

great trip and tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This is my favorite approach to Mt Vernon. I was accompanied by my granddaughter who loved the trip on the river and took many pictures along the way. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Lovely trip the estate is very interesting - though the boat trip is a little long.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Was worried about the boat ride because D gets seasick but it was a smooth ride there and back. They also give you plenty of time to roam around the grounds

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Does not get more historical than this...My 21 year old son to my 76 year old Mother all enjoyed it...the fall trees on the Potomac were awesome as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This was GREAT...would recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Very worthwhile.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

our family has a great time

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. The mansion was just ok. But the museum abt Washing's life was awesome. I learned so much. The cruise was fantastic too.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

it was a nice restful trip. boat was nice and so were the house and grounds. one of our best days in Washington.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Appreciated tour being on time and following schedule.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I would take this trip again. It was well done and everything ran smoothly. The grounds of Mt Vernon were beautiful. The whole tour was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I had a great time. It was a perfect day. Learned a lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Initially the boat was quite hard to find as there is work being done on the waterfront, give ample time to arrive as boat leaves very punctually. The boat was comfortable with lots of seating. The food and drink available to buy was quite limited though so come prepared although there is nice food available once you reach mount vernon.
The views were amazing from the boat and there was enough information provided on places of interest without becoming overbearing. Mount Vernon itself is well worth the visit, gorgeous location and well run with knowledgeable staff and interesting info.

From USD $ 50.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5042BOSSPI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message