• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 97 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 97 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

great trip and tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This is my favorite approach to Mt Vernon. I was accompanied by my granddaughter who loved the trip on the river and took many pictures along the way. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Lovely trip the estate is very interesting - though the boat trip is a little long.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Was worried about the boat ride because D gets seasick but it was a smooth ride there and back. They also give you plenty of time to roam around the grounds

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Does not get more historical than this...My 21 year old son to my 76 year old Mother all enjoyed it...the fall trees on the Potomac were awesome as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This was GREAT...would recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Everything was very ice and well organized. However, because you only have 3 hours at Mount Vernon, we took a bus back so we could stay longer. We were there (on a VERY hot day with an 11 year old and a 7 year old) until 4:30. This gave us time to see a lot more. Our granddaughter was able to spin some flax into thread with one of the costumed interpreters and we were also able to have a wonderful relaxing lunch at the Mount Vernon Inn. Would have felt cheated if we had to be back at the boat at the pre-arranged time.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The ship crew was great very nice people. The tour was top notch really told us a lot about the area and what was going on at the time.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Wonderful weather, nice boat trip and Mount Vernon is so beautiful place! I recommend :)

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

What a wonderful cruise! The crew were personable and professional, and the scenery fantastic! Small deduction for what must be recorded descriptions regarding sites we were passing, as we heard one announcement twice, and it was exactly the same both times.

Mt. Vernon is amazing! They do a wonderful job maintaining the grounds, and it is easy to imagine that you might bump into George himself as you round a corner. They do a good job organizing the tour of the actual home, but you will not get very much time in the home itself, as lots of people will be waiting in line. I HIGHLY recommend the educational center and museum; the Revolutionary War film is fantastic, and does a good job explaining the war to those who know next to nothing about it (like my kids).

The entire estate is well worth the trip, and getting there by boat from Washington DC is a great way to go. Affordable, and fun, but too short. You will wish, as I did, for another hour or two, which Is why I can't give 5 stars.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Beautiful cruise down the Potomac river to the George Washington Estate. It is well worth a visit, very interesting and a well maintained historical estate. The museum has many artifacts of interest. You can visual how it was to live there back in the time of the Washingtons. We were given three and a half hours before having to get the boat back to Washington and I don't think it was enough time to explore the whole
of the estate to its full potential. I wish we were given longer to explore, 1.30pm was too early to return. I would gladly do the trip again and again.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The river cruise was fabulous. We found the narration informative. It would have been nice to have the information repeated during the return trip. There was complimentary transportation to and from the dock at Mount Vernon. The only improvement I would suggest is more time at Mount Vernon. By the time you wait in line to visit the mansion, there was very little time to see the rest of the estate.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The cruise was very smooth and fun for all of us. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Mount Vernon.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour was excellent I would recommend this for any one visiting Washington DC, the boat trip down the river was very relaxing with a good commentary by the the crew. Once at Mount Vernon it was a see what you wanted to see at your own lesiure. once again I fully recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Well organized ... boat ride from the Navy Yard area in Washington to Mt. Vernon took about 90 minutes each way. Some narration provided as we passed various landmarks. When we arrived, we were given a ticket with a specific admission time to the mansion, and told when to be back at the boat (3.5 hours) ... No photos allowed inside the mansion, but OK everywhere else. Food court and a restaurant on the grounds,

From USD $ 49.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5042BOSSPI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message