4.5 star rating: Recommended 147 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 147 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

What a great way to see Mount Vernon. The boat ride was fantastic and they give you enough time to see the exhibits along with the view of the house, before you return to DC. Highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

great trip and tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This is my favorite approach to Mt Vernon. I was accompanied by my granddaughter who loved the trip on the river and took many pictures along the way. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Lovely trip the estate is very interesting - though the boat trip is a little long.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Was worried about the boat ride because D gets seasick but it was a smooth ride there and back. They also give you plenty of time to roam around the grounds

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Does not get more historical than this...My 21 year old son to my 76 year old Mother all enjoyed it...the fall trees on the Potomac were awesome as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This was GREAT...would recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

our family has a great time

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. The mansion was just ok. But the museum abt Washing's life was awesome. I learned so much. The cruise was fantastic too.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

it was a nice restful trip. boat was nice and so were the house and grounds. one of our best days in Washington.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Appreciated tour being on time and following schedule.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I would take this trip again. It was well done and everything ran smoothly. The grounds of Mt Vernon were beautiful. The whole tour was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I had a great time. It was a perfect day. Learned a lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Initially the boat was quite hard to find as there is work being done on the waterfront, give ample time to arrive as boat leaves very punctually. The boat was comfortable with lots of seating. The food and drink available to buy was quite limited though so come prepared although there is nice food available once you reach mount vernon.
The views were amazing from the boat and there was enough information provided on places of interest without becoming overbearing. Mount Vernon itself is well worth the visit, gorgeous location and well run with knowledgeable staff and interesting info.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a good tour,but the boat was disappointing.the seating was not comfortableoutside and inside all seating was at large tables.the choice of snacks was minimal.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed the trip but could've done with at least another hour to take everything in. Never been to the area before and if I could do this again I would book the cruise one way and go by road the other so as to take in other views etc.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Was a great trip, but I needed more time at Mt. Vernon. Also, more story telling and history would enhance the trip, especially on the way back.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Lovely ride down the Potomac. We were quite impressed with how well the grounds are maintained and the quality of the museum. We only wish we could have stayed at Mt. Vernon longer, it felt a bit rushed for all there was to see.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Nice relaxing boat ride for an hour and a half. Lots of time to see everything at Mt Vernon. The only thing that would have been a bit better is more personal information shared during the tour instead of just listening to a tape on the boat. Good for relaxing but boring for children.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very good tour...so much more than we realized there was to see.

David L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Easy and relaxing way to get to Mt Vernon. Plenty of time to tour the property and an easy relaxing journey home. Would recommend it

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour! It was a lovely ride up to the Estate. I was very impredded with the staff of both the boat and Estate. Very friendly. My only suggestion would be to give another 30-60 minutes on the Estate. It is a lot a walking and I felt rushed to try to take it all in. We did not get a chance to see everything.
When getting back on the boat, we had to wait in a long line to get a beverage. The bartenders needed More help.....due to the fact that everyone was so thirsty from walking around...they swarmed the bar and it was a solid 20 minutes to get done thing. I was also disappointed that bottled water was nit offered for sale on the boat. Bring your own. Other than that.......it was a very nice tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Everything was very ice and well organized. However, because you only have 3 hours at Mount Vernon, we took a bus back so we could stay longer. We were there (on a VERY hot day with an 11 year old and a 7 year old) until 4:30. This gave us time to see a lot more. Our granddaughter was able to spin some flax into thread with one of the costumed interpreters and we were also able to have a wonderful relaxing lunch at the Mount Vernon Inn. Would have felt cheated if we had to be back at the boat at the pre-arranged time.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The ship crew was great very nice people. The tour was top notch really told us a lot about the area and what was going on at the time.

From USD $ 50.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5042BOSSPI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message