4.5 star rating: Recommended 132 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 132 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Initially the boat was quite hard to find as there is work being done on the waterfront, give ample time to arrive as boat leaves very punctually. The boat was comfortable with lots of seating. The food and drink available to buy was quite limited though so come prepared although there is nice food available once you reach mount vernon.
The views were amazing from the boat and there was enough information provided on places of interest without becoming overbearing. Mount Vernon itself is well worth the visit, gorgeous location and well run with knowledgeable staff and interesting info.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a good tour,but the boat was disappointing.the seating was not comfortableoutside and inside all seating was at large tables.the choice of snacks was minimal.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed the trip but could've done with at least another hour to take everything in. Never been to the area before and if I could do this again I would book the cruise one way and go by road the other so as to take in other views etc.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Was a great trip, but I needed more time at Mt. Vernon. Also, more story telling and history would enhance the trip, especially on the way back.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Lovely ride down the Potomac. We were quite impressed with how well the grounds are maintained and the quality of the museum. We only wish we could have stayed at Mt. Vernon longer, it felt a bit rushed for all there was to see.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Nice relaxing boat ride for an hour and a half. Lots of time to see everything at Mt Vernon. The only thing that would have been a bit better is more personal information shared during the tour instead of just listening to a tape on the boat. Good for relaxing but boring for children.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very good tour...so much more than we realized there was to see.

David L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Easy and relaxing way to get to Mt Vernon. Plenty of time to tour the property and an easy relaxing journey home. Would recommend it

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour! It was a lovely ride up to the Estate. I was very impredded with the staff of both the boat and Estate. Very friendly. My only suggestion would be to give another 30-60 minutes on the Estate. It is a lot a walking and I felt rushed to try to take it all in. We did not get a chance to see everything.
When getting back on the boat, we had to wait in a long line to get a beverage. The bartenders needed More help.....due to the fact that everyone was so thirsty from walking around...they swarmed the bar and it was a solid 20 minutes to get done thing. I was also disappointed that bottled water was nit offered for sale on the boat. Bring your own. Other than that.......it was a very nice tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Everything was very ice and well organized. However, because you only have 3 hours at Mount Vernon, we took a bus back so we could stay longer. We were there (on a VERY hot day with an 11 year old and a 7 year old) until 4:30. This gave us time to see a lot more. Our granddaughter was able to spin some flax into thread with one of the costumed interpreters and we were also able to have a wonderful relaxing lunch at the Mount Vernon Inn. Would have felt cheated if we had to be back at the boat at the pre-arranged time.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The ship crew was great very nice people. The tour was top notch really told us a lot about the area and what was going on at the time.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Wonderful weather, nice boat trip and Mount Vernon is so beautiful place! I recommend :)

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

What a wonderful cruise! The crew were personable and professional, and the scenery fantastic! Small deduction for what must be recorded descriptions regarding sites we were passing, as we heard one announcement twice, and it was exactly the same both times.

Mt. Vernon is amazing! They do a wonderful job maintaining the grounds, and it is easy to imagine that you might bump into George himself as you round a corner. They do a good job organizing the tour of the actual home, but you will not get very much time in the home itself, as lots of people will be waiting in line. I HIGHLY recommend the educational center and museum; the Revolutionary War film is fantastic, and does a good job explaining the war to those who know next to nothing about it (like my kids).

The entire estate is well worth the trip, and getting there by boat from Washington DC is a great way to go. Affordable, and fun, but too short. You will wish, as I did, for another hour or two, which Is why I can't give 5 stars.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Beautiful cruise down the Potomac river to the George Washington Estate. It is well worth a visit, very interesting and a well maintained historical estate. The museum has many artifacts of interest. You can visual how it was to live there back in the time of the Washingtons. We were given three and a half hours before having to get the boat back to Washington and I don't think it was enough time to explore the whole
of the estate to its full potential. I wish we were given longer to explore, 1.30pm was too early to return. I would gladly do the trip again and again.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The river cruise was fabulous. We found the narration informative. It would have been nice to have the information repeated during the return trip. There was complimentary transportation to and from the dock at Mount Vernon. The only improvement I would suggest is more time at Mount Vernon. By the time you wait in line to visit the mansion, there was very little time to see the rest of the estate.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The cruise was very smooth and fun for all of us. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Mount Vernon.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour was excellent I would recommend this for any one visiting Washington DC, the boat trip down the river was very relaxing with a good commentary by the the crew. Once at Mount Vernon it was a see what you wanted to see at your own lesiure. once again I fully recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Well organized ... boat ride from the Navy Yard area in Washington to Mt. Vernon took about 90 minutes each way. Some narration provided as we passed various landmarks. When we arrived, we were given a ticket with a specific admission time to the mansion, and told when to be back at the boat (3.5 hours) ... No photos allowed inside the mansion, but OK everywhere else. Food court and a restaurant on the grounds,

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We thought this tour was very nice. We had a lot of school kids on the boat that were loud but that was just part of it. Mount Vernon was nice and we enjoyed it. Thank the Millers.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Had a wonderful time. A must do while in DC.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Ship was clean and comfortable. The crew was friendly and helpful. The stop at Mt. Vernon could have been longer. There was not nearly enough time to see everything. We will be going back on our next trip to D.C. We would use this tour again and do recomend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Boat trip down was very nice. Would have appreciated if costs of food and beverages had been posted. Staff were friendly. Boat was very clean. Couldn't hear speakers on top level. Thoroughly enjoyed ride regardless.
Mount Vernon grounds were beautiful and staff were knowledgeable and nice. Appreciate the work done to make this historical site available for the public to visit and experience. The house tour was too rushed. Understand they need to get a long line through efficiently but a few more minutes would have been nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Whilst the house was interesting, the pioneer farm was the best part. Unfortunately there was a very noisy school group on board the boat, so it was difficult to hear the on board commentary.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Mt. Vernon is beautiful. The boat ride is very nice but they could definitely upgrade their food and beverage options. Also visitors should be aware that walking in areas of Mt. Vernon can be challenging. The walk from the beach to George Washington's tomb and the "Woodland Trail" are quite the workout.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Enjoyed the trip down the river watching the ospreys nest building, peaceful scenery, and a sense of how it used to be. Time was short at Mt. Vernon but we saw most of what we wanted to see.

From USD $ 50.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5042BOSSPI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message