4.5 star rating: Recommended 126 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the In the Footsteps of George Washington: Day Cruise to Mount Vernon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 126 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Nicola S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I wondered when we booked if this was too long to spend but could easily have spent longer here. A grea tour - loved the cruise as a start and finish to the day and Mt Vernon did not dissapoint.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This is a fun day from beginning to end. The boat was clean, air conditioned, offered food and drinks, and had plenty of seating wherever on the boat you want to be. We were dropped off at Mt. Vernon where we were then left to explore and hear stories from the many docents available at the mansion and museum. I highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

great !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Mt Vernon is a must-see while in DC. The boat ride was pleasant. Would have been better if they had allowed us more time. We barely had time to see the mansion, the museum and had a quick lunch. No time for the grounds and shopping.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We learned a lot from our tour guide about the monuments. The driver was very pleasent and worked to give us exceptonal views of the monuments. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

A very pleasant way to see this historic house museum. As we were staying in DC and could use the Metro to get to the ship it meant a more relaxing trip without the use of the car.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Very enjoyable and enlightening experience. Would recommend to any age group. Cruise was a pleasant and different way to reach Mt. Vernon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great tour guide was very good, sorry forgot his name

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

The overall experience was great. Getting to Mt. Vernon by boat was a good choice because you get 2 fun things to do in one! The boat was very roomy and comfortable. The only complaint I have is that my granddaughter wanted a smoothy and it cost $6! .....a little pricey for me. But the trip was great and we had plenty of time to see what we wanted to see. Don't miss the oxen!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent tour! The staff on the ship was very friendly and efficient! Everything was punctual and
Mt. Vernon is gorgeous!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed this excursion to walk in the footsteps of George Washington.
The cruise up the Potomac River was breezy and bracing at times but I wouldn't have missed sitting up the top for anything.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I've toured Mount Vernon many times in the past, but what an incredible way to approach the estate....by water!! The boat trip was such a relaxing part of the vacation....it was nice to slow down for awhile and enjoy the beauty of the Potomac!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip, everything very well organised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

without doubt a well worthwhile trip,very enjoyable sail down to mount vernon and great insight into washinton's life

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Me and my parents who have complete opposite interests, ABSOLUTELY LOVED this trip! There was something for all of us to do and had a blast! Would do this again in a heart beat and will definitely will use this company again! Thanks so much!

From USD $ 49.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5042BOSSPI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message