Insider's Guide to Washington DC

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 116 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Nicole B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

It was a nice trip. The driver was very informative. Getting there early is the key, we just beat the crowds. I would have liked an hour or two more so the pace wasn't so hectic. My only issue was with the lack of clear information on where to go at Union Station and how to check in. Would recommend arriving at least 30 minutes early.

Lisa S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

This was definitely a must do in Washington. We had a great bus driver. The only thing you need to know is you don't stop in Alexandria, you just drive through on your way to Mt. Vernon.

Angie O USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

The trip was great. If I could change anything about it, I would extend the trip time from half a day to a full day. There is so much to see in such a short period of time.

Pemakorn P Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour actually starts at 8am and finish at 2pm not 12noon as listed. So you'll get to spend about 4 hours at Mount Vernon and you'll likely need all of that.

Linda B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed this trip. Our driver, David, was very friendly and knowledgeable. If you are interested in exploring all of Mount Vernon, however, there is a lot of walking. The wharf and the farm are a challenging downhill walk, and even more challenging going uphill to return to the visitors center. During April - October there is a shuttle that makes various stops making it easier to see all of the highlights Mount Vernon has to offer. Allow about an hour at the end of your visit to explore the museum, which is also very interesting. All in all it was a great trip and we recommend it although if we went again we would probably visit in the summe.r

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was good. I enjoyed Mt Vernon. I did have a problem understanding the driver's commentary due to his fast speech and strong accent.

Marnie B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Mount Vernon needs more than half a day. So much to see and do. Truly an incredible place to visit. You really don't need to do the tour though if you have a car as it is Mount Vernon staff that make the day incredible. You wouldn't miss a thing by skipping the bus.

lucie r

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Thomas G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Very enjoyable. Learned a lot.

Denise C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful bus driver who kept us engaged with his historical stories. The grounds are beautiful. Mt Vernon was not crowded which made the tour all the better. The only negative was there was not enough time to see all the grounds. Perhaps cut the stop in Alexandria so there is more time at Mt Vernon

Kathie E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Enjoyed the day trip.

bill McNally

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Great tour! Loved getting out of the noisy city for the morning. I liked how the mansion tour was guided but you could walk around the grounds on your own and still find plenty of guides to answer questions.

Kevin L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Full of history ,a great day out.

Olivia W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very nice trip. Mike was an excellent driver, the most important, and knew the material for also the tour leader. He was very pleasant and we enjoyed the day.

Rose R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The driver was very knowledgeable and interesting. Mount 'Vernon was well kept and interesting. We should have gone l0 years ago when we could still walk longer distances.

Sean T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

FYI - Viator is just a ticket carrier for this tour, however nothing negative about my experience purchasing tickets through Viator but if you are confused like I was Viator is the ticket seller for Gray Line tours. The tour was pretty good. Driver/tour guide was good to listen to on the way there. We went on a departing at 8am from DC to Mt. Vernon and took a brief stop at the old church in Alexandria. However, it was not yet open for the morning so it would be better if they would stop there on the way back to DC rather than the way to Mt. Vernon. Not a big deal because we still got to walk around the courtyard and look in the windows.
I would call this a taste of Mt. Vernon. It was great but half a day is really not enough time to see everything there. It was enough time to see the house and grounds but we had to push quickly through the museum to make it back to the bus. Thanks to some good advice from our driver we went to the house first before the museum and didn't have to wait in as long of a line for the house. The links says this tour is 4 hours but it is actually 5. We left DC at 8am and bus left mt. Vernon at noon so we ended up returning to DC closer to 1. But that was fine with me because it meant we had more time to see the place.

Hanieh J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great

Judith B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Nice trip.

Christy

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

It was great. Needed more time. Another 2 hours at Mt. Vernon and 2 hours in Old Alexandria. If you had offered an all day trip, I would have booked that.

anna s

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Very organized. Allowed us to maxamize our time at Mt. Vernon

gordon p

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

very good only 5 on bus. tour still went

Edwin M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This tour was very nice. The tour started promptly at 8am to 2pm. The tour guide/bus driver was very good. The Mount Vernon Estate is beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained. The tour of the house was very informative and we got to experience the way the Washingtons lived. The tour also took us to the Old Town Alexandria and to the Christ Church.

Watta

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Because of numbers we had to join another tour. We still got to see Mt Vernon but our time in Old Town Alexandria did not allow for much sightseeing or the promised shopping. But despite that time at Mt Vernon was very good.

Janette Netherlands Antilles

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Very Impressive

Ron S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

An experience all Americans should have.

Viewing 3 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 54.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2890D

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message