Insider's Guide to Washington DC

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 116 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Andrea K P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

The Mount Vernon part is 3 hours and the Alexandria part is 20 minutes. Would have liked to spend more time in Alexandria....there's so much to see there.

Shirley M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We had a delightful time on our trip. The driver/guide was very informative and had suggestions to save us time. He also had our house tour changed to an earlier time so we would not be rushed to catch the bus back.

Julie G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Such a nice day. Loved our guide, but sometimes I couldn't understand him. If he talked a bit slower maybe. All in all, great fun.

Robert D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

enjoyed very much.

Margaret Z

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The bus driver was great, and his running narration was very informative and sometimes humorous. Mt. Vernon was nice, and the weather was great.

Raquel R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Mount Vernon was beautiful. I would have liked to spend more time in Alexandria. We were only there a very short time to visit the Christ Church. It seems like a very nice little town to shop and eat.

Derrick L USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Great experience enjoyed the history it was a rewarding experience.

Andrea P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very nice and informative,the bus driver was great. Would have been nice to get out in Old Alexandria and spend a little time downtown. Mount Vernon was excellent.We paid a few dollars more at the guest center to reserve a spot in line for the tour and it was well worth not standing in line for 30-40 minutes. Instead we walked the grounds and were able to see more in that time frame.

JESUS R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

I loved visiting Mt.Vernon and would recommend everyone to go there. I didn't think the tour guide was too informative and would definitely recommend.

Daniel B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

A tour that was definitely worthwhile. Again, the tour was informative, our driver was very knowledgeable and I would definitely recommend this one. The air-conditioned bus was very comfortable as the temperature was close to 90 degrees.

Kathy M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

Even though the driver was quite knowledgeable, he was a bit overbearing.

Christi C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Enjoyed it immensely. Would have liked a little more time to explore the visitor center and what it had to offer.

TRACY C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

The bus tour through Old Town Alexandria was informative. Leaving from Union Station was an added bonus due to the eating and shopping establishments there. However, the time spent at Mt. Vernon was so short that we didn't have time to go inside the mansion! We could have easily spent double the time, because we missed SO much of the grounds and museum. Visiting in October was a great time of year for that tour.

Gary M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

The actors really kept in touch with the period and were very knowledgeable and interesting. Adequate time was given for this tour.

David S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

Mt. Vernon was fantastic, however, the bus driver talked too much!

Gregory M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

Although this is a great place to visit, more time is needed to visit all the facilities and truly get the full experience. We had two hours on the property and spent most of that standing in line waiting to get into the house. We would have like more time at the education center and time to wander on the grounds. I guess we picked a week when every other school in the country was visiting Washington. Our tour conductor was very knowledgeable, but talked continuously to and from Mt. Vernon. A little quiet time would have been pleasant. It definitely is a must see, but with more time for sure!

Derek S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Nice visit to Mount Vernon Just an on and off stop in Old Alexandria not enough time to really see anything Our bus driver on this trip was extremely RUDE to several guests He was not very informative or enthusiastic I certainly think everyone should see Mount Vernon just not with this particular driver

Helena N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Expecting more stops in Alexandria

Olivia Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The driver was good, we enjoyed the tour

Jolleen B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We went through Alexandria but we had to share a bus because there were not enough people for our trip. Mt Vernon was wonderful and the bus driver was super friendly and knowledgeable.

Pat B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The day began with the driver being 15-20 min. late. So our trip began at 9:00 not 8:30. Since we were lined up for the bus at 7:30, it was more than a little frustrating standing there waiting. The driver was knowledgeable and somewhat entertaining in his chatter and information about various sights we passed in route to Mt. Vernon. The home of George Washington is NOT to be missed, But based on the amount of visitors present, standing in line to get into the house, not enough time was allotted for the tour. The house is a guided tour, but a self tour for the gardens, library, the tomb and gift shops. A through visit requires at least a full day visit. There is a dining room for food and you should be prepared to spend the day.

Peg D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The three hours on our own was great. The facilities were wonderful and very interesting. Beautiful drive through Virginia to get there. Our driver was nasty. Too cold in the bus going out and when I told him he just made smart comments. No customer service what so ever. Then going back to DC it was too hot in the bus. It would have been smart of him to start the bus and cool it down before our trip.

Daniel E

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

The bus was 20-30 minutes late to pick us up. He was sent some place else first. That cut our time short at Mt. Vernon.
The advertising about the pentagon, crystal city and Washington's church were misleading. We did not stop at the first 2 and the church was not open to go inside. I was disappointed in that part.

The bus driver was fun and told good stories.

Marilyn L

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Well, the ride out to Mount Vernon via Alexandria was great with wonderful dialog by our driver. She was very knowledgable and pointed out so many interesting facts. Unfortunately, when it came time to leave Mount Vernon, the bus air conditioning was broken on a day with record seting heat (Heat Index of 110 degrees!). The 1/2 day tour people, including myself, had to ride back to DC in this hot bus while the full day tour folks were put on an air conditioned bus. I understand that these things happen, but to add insult to injury, the driver on the ride back did not say one word, did not point out one landmark, did not provide single historic fact -- nothing! On top of that, as we were all sweltering in the bus, he didn't even drive the speed limit, prolonging our hot sweaty agony. I was never so glad to get off a bus in my life!

Susan T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Very enjoyable. I learned a lot from the driver and noticed things I would never have noticed. Not really enjoy time at Mount Vernon - especially if you want to see a few of the videos. I loved Alexandria, and would have liked a little more time there.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 54.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2890D

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message