Insider's Guide to Washington DC

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 116 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Kelley F

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Very interesting tour with great driver/guide. My only disappointment was the the African American special tour was scheduled after our bus left Mr. Vernon.

Spiro J

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Worth the vist. .

Shayne B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Mt. Vernon was wonderful. Alexandria was too shrot, too fast.

Karen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

We enjoyed out half dy at Mt Vernon and Old Town. I was amazed at how the bus got through those narrow streets.

Jack B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

definitely would prefer more time at mt. vernon, not much going on in old town alexandria to see also if you're printing tickets on the computer you need to exchange those for real tickets at the bus area (this should be explained on the website as everyone had to go at the last minute to do this)

Damian B United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Good although expected to stop at Old Alexandria so was disappointed. Also would have liked a priority ticket into the house. Otherwise I enjoyed it.

Cathy B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2013

Mount Vernon sightseeing left something to be desired....old Alexandria was not much

Kathy T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

This is definitely a "ask questions before you go" tour. First, the good: once at Mt. Vernon, it was great! Definitely a must-see when in D.C. Christ's Church was also good. Now here's why I only give it 2 stars: the bus was covered in advertisements, so it was hard to see out the windows. The driver was pointing out all the sights and you could hardly see them at all! Once in Alexandria, he talked about all of these historical homes and buildings and again, it was hard to see them through the mesh ad covering the windows. Very disappointing. Once the tour was over, the driver decided to take 'some' folks back to their hotels without telling the rest of us, so we spent an extra HOUR on the bus, just driving people around! There were many upset passengers, to say the least. The driver on the way out was very informative and entertaining - the ads weren't his fault. We had a different driver on the way back - he's the one who took people to their hotels.

Erik C USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Mount Vernon and Alexandria are a must do if visting the DC area, however this tour was the worst. first of all our driver didn't want to work that day and his attitude and mood showed it. then Mr. Personality informed us that we weren't going to be stopping in Alexandria beause crist church was closed to tours on Sundays. Ok Fine. So then we get to Mount Vernon and the driver tells us we have 4 hours here. Mount Vernon is a beautiful place, lots to do and see, but not 4 hours worth. We arrive at Mount Vernon around 8:45am and I was done with everything by 10:20am. I had literally about 2+hours to kill. I ended up taking the bus back to the Hunttington metrorail station and stopped at Kind St station. and did Alexandria on my own. And got backto DC on my own too. My advice to people, Mount Vernon and Alexandria and great places to visit but you can save yourself about $25 if you just do it on your own. Very easy from DC.

christine a p

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The tour was fine up to the time at Alexandria when the bus driver informed us that another bus will be coming to pick up the people on the half day tour. He left 10 people standing by the church hoping a bus will arrive to take us back to Union Station Rather tacky

Kenneth R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

Too much time allotted for Mount Vernon amid a sea of school kids.

Susan B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

They tell you 2 be there 30min before tour, (8.30) so we got there for 7am exchanged voucher, and waited inline for bus, our Bus and guide was bad. we arrived at the Mansion at 9am, but you only have 3 hours if that, before you need to be back at the bus, at 12 noon, allow 1 hour for the house and another for the education centre, and cause you were up so early to be at the bus station, you need to eat, they have a great food court at the education centre. We were then taken to Christ Church, for about 10 minute talk by one of the parish ladies. And then was picked up at 1pm by another bus as both the full day and half day tours take the same bus in the morning. We were back at Union Station at 1.30pm. We would have liked more time at Mount Vernon cause we didn't even see the Gardens or George's Burial Tomb. We felt this tour was very rushed.

Maria D USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

We had a great time at Mt. Vernon. Although, we were told to be back at the bus at 12:30, and the bus driver showed up at 1:15. There were elderly people on the tour, and I was 26 weeks pregnant. It was hot and this is unacceptable business behavior. The tourists should not be waiting for the bus driver, the bus driver should have been there to serve us!

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2007

It was school holidays while I was there and an extremely long queue to get into the house. Those that waited used up all available time standing in line. I didn't and went around the rest of the estate instead. As I result I enjoyed the trip more than most. However, it was disappointing that no time was allowed for any sightseeing in Old Town Alexandria.

Mark S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

The process of meeting the bus at Union Station was not well described online nor explained by your representatives on the phone.

The bus driver/guide was very difficult to understand. You need to have people with clear communication skills. My kids just ended up ignoring him because he was largely unintelligible.

The stop at the church in Alexandria was much too long and largely a waste of time.

I would not recommend this tour to anyone because it was expensive and you people do not take the time to communicate exactly what's on the tour nor the logistics. I highly advise you to hire more competent people to guide and to redo your website.

Alice K Germany

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2009

It was a transport to Mount Vernon, not a guided trip.

Viewing 5 of 5

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5

From USD $ 54.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2890D

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message