4.5 star rating: Recommended 120 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 120 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We really enjoyed this! Our bus driver/guide was great too, he kept us entertained. One downfall was that we were unable to stop and see Christ Church, something was going on there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

You really need to see Mount Vernon while you are visiting DC. Both the house and surrounding property give you a feel for what it was like to live like George Washington did. It's a nice relaxing change to leave the city and visit some parts of Virginia. Driving by Old Town Alexandria and visiting Christ Church was also a great addition to touring Mount Vernon! I would recommend this tour with Viator!

graeme.pattinson
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excellent, on time and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The bus driver (Cheryl) was not only an excellent driver, very knowledgeable on George Washington and the entire area around old town Alexandria, and was very entertaining. The tour was well worth the affordable price and was very enlightening and enjoyable. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to see Mount Vernon or Alexandria.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

A real walk thru history. I would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

enjoyed it so much, the coach driver was great, thank you so much, for all the information she gave as a visitor to the us

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

It was a great tour with an excellent driver who provided us with interesting information about the area of Old Alexandria and at Mount Vernon -

JANICE S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Didn't know much about this but it was just so informative, particularly if you are an American history buff or just want to see history in the 'raw' - Mt Vernon is the genuinely restored home of George Washington and Alexandria a wonderful and historic town. The guide was very articulate and a wealth of truly interesting historical information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Amazing place to visit - definitely recommend!! We had about 3 hours at Mt Vernon which was just enough time for the mansion tour, the tomb, the wharf and to see the museum!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great trip, driver (Jesse?) very informative. Only drawback was the heat - I'd love to have seen more of the grounds but it was just so hot :(

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

we had a great time. It was well worth the the trip!

Kelly P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Awesome tour! Our bus driver was Eric with a 'C' and he was brilliant. The country side out to Mount Vernon is so beautiful to look at. Mount Vernon is gorgeous, the tour through the house is worth the wait in line for sure and there is a boat cruise if you have time. The tombs of Washington and family are worth seeing also as well as the slave memorial. Well worth the tour!!!

Lisa H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

So worthwhile doing this trip - Mount V is beautiful and you get to see really quaint and picturesque towns and countryside on the way. Were also given tickets in advance so that we could be at the front of the queue going in so we were first to view the house. Would have liked more time in Old Alexandria as this looked a really nice place to explore. This trip could easily be extended to a full day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

really enjoyed this trip. Excellent comfortable bus and knowledgeable and humourous driver. Mount Vernon is well worth visiting . We will have to come back to see all the things we didn't have time for. Enjoyed meeting Moira Stuart too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Very great trip. Learned a lot of history., The bus was clean and comfortable and our tour guide was great.

From USD $ 55.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2890D

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message