4.5 star rating: Recommended 111 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 111 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

JANICE S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Didn't know much about this but it was just so informative, particularly if you are an American history buff or just want to see history in the 'raw' - Mt Vernon is the genuinely restored home of George Washington and Alexandria a wonderful and historic town. The guide was very articulate and a wealth of truly interesting historical information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Amazing place to visit - definitely recommend!! We had about 3 hours at Mt Vernon which was just enough time for the mansion tour, the tomb, the wharf and to see the museum!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great trip, driver (Jesse?) very informative. Only drawback was the heat - I'd love to have seen more of the grounds but it was just so hot :(

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

we had a great time. It was well worth the the trip!

Kelly P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Awesome tour! Our bus driver was Eric with a 'C' and he was brilliant. The country side out to Mount Vernon is so beautiful to look at. Mount Vernon is gorgeous, the tour through the house is worth the wait in line for sure and there is a boat cruise if you have time. The tombs of Washington and family are worth seeing also as well as the slave memorial. Well worth the tour!!!

Lisa H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

So worthwhile doing this trip - Mount V is beautiful and you get to see really quaint and picturesque towns and countryside on the way. Were also given tickets in advance so that we could be at the front of the queue going in so we were first to view the house. Would have liked more time in Old Alexandria as this looked a really nice place to explore. This trip could easily be extended to a full day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

really enjoyed this trip. Excellent comfortable bus and knowledgeable and humourous driver. Mount Vernon is well worth visiting . We will have to come back to see all the things we didn't have time for. Enjoyed meeting Moira Stuart too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Very great trip. Learned a lot of history., The bus was clean and comfortable and our tour guide was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

Wonderful trip. Our driver was great. Mt. Vernon is so beautiful. Highly recommend this tour.

Anne Margaret T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Fantastic day out. I teamed this trip with the full day to Monticello, and was able to compare the two. Both were great. Bus driver was informative, the estate and house were beautiful, and finished off with a trip round Alexandria. Great way to end a holiday in Washington.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

I don't have words to describe my feelings. We loved the trip and fed ourselves in terms of culture and discovering. Like a good educationalist, our guide explained the history of the first president and the capital Washington D.C.. We knew of this before but words combined to lively images talk more. We thank him and all the staff for the good job. I will strongly recommend this trip to friends and relatives.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

It is worth for us to learn how was he running his life. Also to know the American History since I am not a native american.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Trip was great. The brocure advertised 4 hr tour. It accually takes 5 hrs. Had a 200pm appointment almost missed it. You should advertise it as a 5 hr tour to eliminate confusion. Besides that it was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Loved this place on the Potomac.

John V
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a real joy - we did not stop in Alexandria, but toured it all in the bus, but Mount Vernon, in lovely weather, was a joy to behold. I can see why George Washington returned here when he ceased to be President.

From USD $ 55.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2890D

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message