4.5 star rating: Recommended 115 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 115 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Trip was great. The brocure advertised 4 hr tour. It accually takes 5 hrs. Had a 200pm appointment almost missed it. You should advertise it as a 5 hr tour to eliminate confusion. Besides that it was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Loved this place on the Potomac.

John V
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a real joy - we did not stop in Alexandria, but toured it all in the bus, but Mount Vernon, in lovely weather, was a joy to behold. I can see why George Washington returned here when he ceased to be President.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Very great trip, needed more time at Mount Vernon, felt that we had to hurry to be able to see everything. Very comfortable bus & the staff was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

I took this tour in October so the site was not crowded and the weather was pleasant. Our bus driver advised that we by-pass the 'orientation' and get directly in line to tour the mansion. This was good advice, as our wait was very short. In addition, I visited the tomb of the Washingtons, had lunch at the restaurant try the peanut & chestnut soup for something unusual, and spent the rest of my available time at the education center. I could have spent another hour at least on the exhibits there, which were excellent! Hope to go back someday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent day trip. Just loved our driver. Lots of information along the way and recommendations once we got to each location. Our guide took very good care of us and I felt secure and knew we were getting the best information available. Thank you!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

It was a nice trip. The driver was very informative. Getting there early is the key, we just beat the crowds. I would have liked an hour or two more so the pace wasn't so hectic. My only issue was with the lack of clear information on where to go at Union Station and how to check in. Would recommend arriving at least 30 minutes early.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

This was definitely a must do in Washington. We had a great bus driver. The only thing you need to know is you don't stop in Alexandria, you just drive through on your way to Mt. Vernon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

The trip was great. If I could change anything about it, I would extend the trip time from half a day to a full day. There is so much to see in such a short period of time.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour actually starts at 8am and finish at 2pm not 12noon as listed. So you'll get to spend about 4 hours at Mount Vernon and you'll likely need all of that.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was good. I enjoyed Mt Vernon. I did have a problem understanding the driver's commentary due to his fast speech and strong accent.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Mount Vernon needs more than half a day. So much to see and do. Truly an incredible place to visit. You really don't need to do the tour though if you have a car as it is Mount Vernon staff that make the day incredible. You wouldn't miss a thing by skipping the bus.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Very enjoyable. Learned a lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful bus driver who kept us engaged with his historical stories. The grounds are beautiful. Mt Vernon was not crowded which made the tour all the better. The only negative was there was not enough time to see all the grounds. Perhaps cut the stop in Alexandria so there is more time at Mt Vernon

From USD $ 55.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2890D

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message