• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 106 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 106 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

I took this tour in October so the site was not crowded and the weather was pleasant. Our bus driver advised that we by-pass the 'orientation' and get directly in line to tour the mansion. This was good advice, as our wait was very short. In addition, I visited the tomb of the Washingtons, had lunch at the restaurant try the peanut & chestnut soup for something unusual, and spent the rest of my available time at the education center. I could have spent another hour at least on the exhibits there, which were excellent! Hope to go back someday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent day trip. Just loved our driver. Lots of information along the way and recommendations once we got to each location. Our guide took very good care of us and I felt secure and knew we were getting the best information available. Thank you!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

It was a nice trip. The driver was very informative. Getting there early is the key, we just beat the crowds. I would have liked an hour or two more so the pace wasn't so hectic. My only issue was with the lack of clear information on where to go at Union Station and how to check in. Would recommend arriving at least 30 minutes early.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

This was definitely a must do in Washington. We had a great bus driver. The only thing you need to know is you don't stop in Alexandria, you just drive through on your way to Mt. Vernon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

The trip was great. If I could change anything about it, I would extend the trip time from half a day to a full day. There is so much to see in such a short period of time.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour actually starts at 8am and finish at 2pm not 12noon as listed. So you'll get to spend about 4 hours at Mount Vernon and you'll likely need all of that.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Very enjoyable. Learned a lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful bus driver who kept us engaged with his historical stories. The grounds are beautiful. Mt Vernon was not crowded which made the tour all the better. The only negative was there was not enough time to see all the grounds. Perhaps cut the stop in Alexandria so there is more time at Mt Vernon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Enjoyed the day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Great tour! Loved getting out of the noisy city for the morning. I liked how the mansion tour was guided but you could walk around the grounds on your own and still find plenty of guides to answer questions.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Full of history ,a great day out.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very nice trip. Mike was an excellent driver, the most important, and knew the material for also the tour leader. He was very pleasant and we enjoyed the day.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The driver was very knowledgeable and interesting. Mount 'Vernon was well kept and interesting. We should have gone l0 years ago when we could still walk longer distances.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

FYI - Viator is just a ticket carrier for this tour, however nothing negative about my experience purchasing tickets through Viator but if you are confused like I was Viator is the ticket seller for Gray Line tours. The tour was pretty good. Driver/tour guide was good to listen to on the way there. We went on a departing at 8am from DC to Mt. Vernon and took a brief stop at the old church in Alexandria. However, it was not yet open for the morning so it would be better if they would stop there on the way back to DC rather than the way to Mt. Vernon. Not a big deal because we still got to walk around the courtyard and look in the windows.
I would call this a taste of Mt. Vernon. It was great but half a day is really not enough time to see everything there. It was enough time to see the house and grounds but we had to push quickly through the museum to make it back to the bus. Thanks to some good advice from our driver we went to the house first before the museum and didn't have to wait in as long of a line for the house. The links says this tour is 4 hours but it is actually 5. We left DC at 8am and bus left mt. Vernon at noon so we ended up returning to DC closer to 1. But that was fine with me because it meant we had more time to see the place.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great

From USD $ 55.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2890D

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message