• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 101 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Independent Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old Town Alexandria from Washington DC. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 101 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

very good only 5 on bus. tour still went

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This tour was very nice. The tour started promptly at 8am to 2pm. The tour guide/bus driver was very good. The Mount Vernon Estate is beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained. The tour of the house was very informative and we got to experience the way the Washingtons lived. The tour also took us to the Old Town Alexandria and to the Christ Church.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Because of numbers we had to join another tour. We still got to see Mt Vernon but our time in Old Town Alexandria did not allow for much sightseeing or the promised shopping. But despite that time at Mt Vernon was very good.

Janette
Netherlands Antilles

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Very Impressive

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

An experience all Americans should have.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

The Mount Vernon part is 3 hours and the Alexandria part is 20 minutes. Would have liked to spend more time in Alexandria....there's so much to see there.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We had a delightful time on our trip. The driver/guide was very informative and had suggestions to save us time. He also had our house tour changed to an earlier time so we would not be rushed to catch the bus back.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Such a nice day. Loved our guide, but sometimes I couldn't understand him. If he talked a bit slower maybe. All in all, great fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

enjoyed very much.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The bus driver was great, and his running narration was very informative and sometimes humorous. Mt. Vernon was nice, and the weather was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Mount Vernon was beautiful. I would have liked to spend more time in Alexandria. We were only there a very short time to visit the Christ Church. It seems like a very nice little town to shop and eat.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Great experience enjoyed the history it was a rewarding experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very nice and informative,the bus driver was great. Would have been nice to get out in Old Alexandria and spend a little time downtown. Mount Vernon was excellent.We paid a few dollars more at the guest center to reserve a spot in line for the tour and it was well worth not standing in line for 30-40 minutes. Instead we walked the grounds and were able to see more in that time frame.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

I loved visiting Mt.Vernon and would recommend everyone to go there. I didn't think the tour guide was too informative and would definitely recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

A tour that was definitely worthwhile. Again, the tour was informative, our driver was very knowledgeable and I would definitely recommend this one. The air-conditioned bus was very comfortable as the temperature was close to 90 degrees.

From USD $ 55.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2890D

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message