4.5 star rating: Recommended 760 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  1 day (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 760 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great experience. We went with the 2-day pass -- well worth it, you can never do DC in a day. Great drivers, great narration.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was great! Slim B and Just Joe (two different buses) were fantastic. We had two people from out of the country and they raved about the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trolley tour! I would recommend doing this tour to anyone who is visiting the National Mall. We stayed on the trolley until Arlington National Cemetery. We did this so that we could get an idea on where everything was at. On the second round we stopped and visited several museums. This was a good experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Drivers were helpful and informative and very humorous.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an awesome way to see DC. Definitely too much to see in one day and a second day is needed if you want to visit any museums, etc. Drivers/tour directors were very knowledgeable about their city. I would recommend the hop on/hop off trolley tour when visiting Washington!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Guides very informative and good way to get around the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The best was Slim Jim! Entertaining, funny and quite knowleable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved loved this tour! Hopped off and on at all stops and never had to wait more than 10-15 minutes for the next trolley. Top notch customer service. Every driver added their own flair, humor and wealth of knowledge. The only way to see Washington DC!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great fun, especially the drivers narration on the Georgetown tour. His "speed" rap of all the embassies was hilarious.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trolley ride is a great way to find out how the city, museums, and monuments are laid out. You can plan where you can walk too and what you want to see. We stayed on the orange line and were able to see several things and then made plans for an all day walking sightseeing adventure the next day. The drivers are versed with great facts and share many stories. If you find them fun, be sure to tip them...not every driver has the same stories and fun facts. Let them know you appreciate the time they took to learn all the things they share with you on their ride. They will answer any question you have and will help you with directions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great way to maximize your sightseeing. Friendly informative guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, great staff!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Overall, if you don't drive and would like to have a taste of Everglades and Miami Beach, this tour is great. I loved the Everglades - the local guides were passionate and knowledgeable. There was enough time at South beach to tour the beach and the Art Deco district. Our tour guide was friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great way to see DC. Our only regrets were not doing this first and not getting a 2 day pass. Our guides were friendly and knowledgable. Most stops when we got off, we did not have to wait more than 10 minutes for the next trolley. For the last stop, we got off at Georgetown, walking around the shopping area and the university for a bit. We had to wait about 40 minutest or that trolley, but it was the last trolley of the day. Special props go to Adam, the guide in the last trolley. One of our students realized she left her glasses at the stop and he circled around a couple of blocks so she could retrieve them! I highly recommend this as a great way to see the city first, or if you are short on time and want to hit all the important sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I booked this trolley tour because we had never been to D.C. and wanted to see all of the sites without all of the walking. My mother had a kidney transplant and is still not able to do a lot of walking. Booking this tour was the BEST decision we made. We had the opportunity to see, take pictures and learn about all of the sites from the trolley, and able to get off of the trolley to look more extensively at those sites most important to us. My father is a Vietnam Veteran and had himself, never been to D.C. He lost a lot of friends in Vietnam and almost didn't make it back himself. He never wanted to visit D.C., until now, partially because his first grandson graduated a year and a half ago from the Air Force over Veteran's Day Weekend. Everywhere we went, that graduation weekend in Texas, the Veterans were honored. Grandfather and grandson being asked to stand and be acknowledged. He was finally able to be proud and hold his head up and for the first time wanted to see D.C. It was amazing and emotional to witness him experience the Vietnam Memorial Wall for the first time. To watch the volunteers and him share stories and see all of the memorabilia left at the wall over the Father's Day weekend. The trolley staff were extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. If you are in D.C. this trolley is a must, the green loop is worth the extra money, ESPECIALLY if you get driver H.W.! He said H.W. stood for "hard worker", but to us it also stood for "home-work". He really knows his facts, is entertaining, and has a love and pride for his city and country that just shines through!

Special Offer
$41.95 Save $2.95

From USD $ 39.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5046WAS_OTT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message