4.5 star rating: Recommended 899 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:  1 day (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Washington DC Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 899 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The best was Slim Jim! Entertaining, funny and quite knowleable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved loved this tour! Hopped off and on at all stops and never had to wait more than 10-15 minutes for the next trolley. Top notch customer service. Every driver added their own flair, humor and wealth of knowledge. The only way to see Washington DC!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great fun, especially the drivers narration on the Georgetown tour. His "speed" rap of all the embassies was hilarious.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trolley ride is a great way to find out how the city, museums, and monuments are laid out. You can plan where you can walk too and what you want to see. We stayed on the orange line and were able to see several things and then made plans for an all day walking sightseeing adventure the next day. The drivers are versed with great facts and share many stories. If you find them fun, be sure to tip them...not every driver has the same stories and fun facts. Let them know you appreciate the time they took to learn all the things they share with you on their ride. They will answer any question you have and will help you with directions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great way to maximize your sightseeing. Friendly informative guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, great staff!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great way to see DC. Our only regrets were not doing this first and not getting a 2 day pass. Our guides were friendly and knowledgable. Most stops when we got off, we did not have to wait more than 10 minutes for the next trolley. For the last stop, we got off at Georgetown, walking around the shopping area and the university for a bit. We had to wait about 40 minutest or that trolley, but it was the last trolley of the day. Special props go to Adam, the guide in the last trolley. One of our students realized she left her glasses at the stop and he circled around a couple of blocks so she could retrieve them! I highly recommend this as a great way to see the city first, or if you are short on time and want to hit all the important sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I booked this trolley tour because we had never been to D.C. and wanted to see all of the sites without all of the walking. My mother had a kidney transplant and is still not able to do a lot of walking. Booking this tour was the BEST decision we made. We had the opportunity to see, take pictures and learn about all of the sites from the trolley, and able to get off of the trolley to look more extensively at those sites most important to us. My father is a Vietnam Veteran and had himself, never been to D.C. He lost a lot of friends in Vietnam and almost didn't make it back himself. He never wanted to visit D.C., until now, partially because his first grandson graduated a year and a half ago from the Air Force over Veteran's Day Weekend. Everywhere we went, that graduation weekend in Texas, the Veterans were honored. Grandfather and grandson being asked to stand and be acknowledged. He was finally able to be proud and hold his head up and for the first time wanted to see D.C. It was amazing and emotional to witness him experience the Vietnam Memorial Wall for the first time. To watch the volunteers and him share stories and see all of the memorabilia left at the wall over the Father's Day weekend. The trolley staff were extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. If you are in D.C. this trolley is a must, the green loop is worth the extra money, ESPECIALLY if you get driver H.W.! He said H.W. stood for "hard worker", but to us it also stood for "home-work". He really knows his facts, is entertaining, and has a love and pride for his city and country that just shines through!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

GREAT SERVICE.
Very accommodating for my disabled veteran father and I. The Capitol area was very busy and this offered an excellent mode of transportation.
The drivers was very informative and friendly. It was a busy Saturday and additional trams were added. The frequency of pickups was 15 min

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

In a word.....AWESOME!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trolley tour is a gear way to get away and see the city and catch all the major sites. The only gripe I have is that the Viator site did not explicitly state that I needed to print out our tickets. Great overall though.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent way to see the city. the tour guides/trolly pilots are very knowledgeable and love not just their jobs but the city as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour experience.Smooth transitions, great tour guides who displayed great knowledge of the monuments and a great sense of humor.Very well managed and well run operation.The money is well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The best tour guides ever, they were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to tour DC.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Worth the money! What I didn't realize is how much there is to do in the city, Holy cow! If I had known, I would have booked a 2-day and then relaxed a bit. The only issue I had was that when we were waiting at the stop and a trolley showed up, it was packed, and no one got off. So I had to wait another 25 min for the next one to come around. I would say, add more trolleys! But the drivers were all wonderful, very informative and not overly jokey or annoying. I learned a lot and I've told many others about it! Thanks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great way to see Washington DC. The guides were informative and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

After reviewing numerous bus tours from our AAA agent we decided to use the Hop-On-Hop-Off Trolley tour. No regrets. It was very nice. The tour bus drivers were all friendly, helpful and really well educated about the various attractions/landmarks. We would use this tour again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Perfect . I want to go again for cristmast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

All tours were very informative. And, although trolleys were scheduled for every 30 minutes, they came much more frequently. If there were passengers left after a pick up, the tour guide would radio in for an extra trolley. Worth every penny!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Viator is a great way to get an overall view of DC so that you know where things are and what you want to see. It is easy to hop-on hop-off and we parked in the Arlington Cemetery Parking Lot which is convenient for the trolley. My only complaint was that you had to be back at the Lincoln Memorial to go back to the Cemetery by 4:15 even though the trolleys run later than that. All the drivers were very nice and courteous and knew about all the monuments and things you see. We had a two day tickets and used the second day five days after the first one which is nice to be able to spread it out. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Always great, grandkids this trip. It was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It is the best way to get "the lay of the land". The drivers were knowledgeable, polite, and professional.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

rained the day we took tour so this was a perfect way to see a lot more sights than by foot. We had a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Best way to get around DC and to see all the important monuments and landmarks. I highly recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I love the drivers. Sammy (Boo) sang to us and was very entertaining. Loved him and Speaky and Uncle Dave were all great. The only problem is they seem to be in need of more buses cause on more than one occasion we experienced a crowded bus and had to turn others away to wait for the next bus.

From USD $ 38.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5046WAS_OTT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message