4 star rating: Recommended 196 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Washington D.C., District of Columbia
  • Duration:8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Washington DC in a Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 196 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Robyn M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Most informative

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Went according to schedule.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

We did this a few years ago and thought it was exceptional. It didn't quite meet our expectations this time, more a drop-off at the major monuments. Guide was VERY chatty, over the top really. Over this we would suggest doing the night tour and a red bus tour (on the upper floor)

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Very informative

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Guide "Bob" was excellent detailed, articulate, humorous in good taste same as mine. Tour started at 8 but first stop was at 9, perhaps 15 minutes away. An hour was not necessary to get there. Tour covers main places but not enough time. Capitol tour three rooms! Ford Theater is a good talk but nothing else. Not a tour issue. Probably next time I would do the off and on tour for several days and set my own timing!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

We didn't do a lot of the things we expected but, overall good.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

I'd rather see other places than the Air and Space Museum, which is not much of my interest!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The 9 hours spent were well worth it. However, each stop was too short. This tour is more of a introductory tour of things to see and do, how and where. We are now better prepared to visit those same sites on our own time.

John Augustine F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Visitors please beware that it is not easy to find the departure point within the station. Once you have found the office it is plain sailing from then on. Exact directions would be would represent the "Icing on the Cake" We picked the wettest day of the year so far, but who cares. We were indoors the most of the time. The Capital and the guided tour within was just greatest experience of my life! Wow! Visits to great museums were not my cup of tea although enjoyed them very much. Sunday morning we decided to have a stroll to see the White House. Everyone was asleep at 7:00hrs. Not even the Starbucks were not opening till 8:00. I must have a word in the Presidents ear when we meet. Viator thanks for putting this package together for us. We enjoyed it so very much. Great!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Nice way to get a good overview of the city. Then you can go back and really hit the spots in which you are most interested.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Great tour! However, we almost missed the area to get on the bus. No instructions were given to us. Didn't know it was inside Union Station. We called your phone, and a wonderful young man helped us get through the statioin to find the bus. Bus driver was very knowledgeable about sights and city. We would do it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

I think we had the best tour guide anyone could ask for. He was fantastic! We were able to see many of the monuments and with the time allowed even a museum or two. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Mr B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

This tour gave a very interesting insight to the makeup of Washington both from the new and old with Mount Vernon and Arlington being very emotional.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

It was a good way to get oriented and see the major monuments.

Belinda C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

I liked that you had some spare time to see things at your own pace.

Derek R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

Good trip although the bus company did not pick us up as planned. Had to call, then we were told to get a taxi and the fare would be refunded.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

This is the best way to see a lot of DC in a short amount of time. We enjoyed it!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Arlington National Cemetery would have been better if we went straight to the changing of the guards, as our Arlington guide dropped us off too late and we were unable to see anything. Arlington tour overall was very unorganized. We spent most of the time waiting for people to return to the shuttle due to not enough direction from the Arlington tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Good tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

My 87 year old aunt had trouble understanding the driver. He could have spoken a little slower and clearer!

Michael S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

This was the one tour that I booked without researching properly, only to find that the best part of the day was to be spent at Mount Vernon, which I had already booked for us to visit via the cruise company on another day. Lunch was interesting. The afternoon consisted largely of a visit to the Arlington National Cemetery. Very impressive, especially the visit to the JFK memorial, but with all respect, the ceremony of the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier was a little over the top. The day was probably saved by the driver guide who ruled his coach with a rod of iron. The rest of the day consisted of some short visits to memorials and interesting commentary on the buildings we were passing, so in that respect it was useful to get our bearings. The best part of the package is the hotel pick up and delivery service which saved having to hike across the city to join the tours at an inconvenient location.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The tour was very nice and I enjoyed the Mt. Vernon portion. The Washington DC part was a little rushed but I would not have liked to take time from Mt. Vernon.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

Thanks for the great tour, want to come back and see more. It's the only way to see all the sights in Washington DC.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

The overall experience was very good and well worth doing. The only problem we had was with the hotel pickup. We chose a hotel nearby where we thought the tour bus picked up passengers. It turns out that the bus did not in fact stop at our hotel so we had to scramble to find the closest pickup point and get a taxi to take us there.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

This tour is definitely worthwhile for anyone's first trip to our nation's capital. The stops seem well planned and the drive-bys give you a good sense of the city's geography to help plan more spots to see during the course of your vacation.

$49.99 Save $14.00

From USD $ 35.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2890DC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message