• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 50 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Wellington, New Zealand
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 50 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

A fun and interesting tour with a lot of trivia information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. The tour is a must-do if you are a LOTR fan.

A R L
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

AMAZING!!!! Craig was very knowledgeable about the area and what was happening during filming. Despite the rainy, cool weather - I had the best time imaginable. Going back to watch the movies again just so I can see the magic that was created during filming!
Thank you Rover and a MASSIVE THANK YOU to Craig!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Very interresting. The guide was very familiar with the subject. The lunch was perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Loved It! Todd our guide was excellent and knew his stuff. It wasn't rushed at all and we go to see everything in detail. Anyone who loves LOTR should do it whilst in Wellington.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We flew to Wellington from Sydney exact;ly for this tour. Expense for he tour and airfare for rour. I was concerned that the trip might not be worth the expenditure. I need not have feared. The tour was definitly worth all the time and money. The tour guide, Todd, had been in the movie and was able to give details and stories that thrilled us all day long.

I hardily recommend anyone with any love for the three movies to pay what is required to take this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excellent knowledgeable guide,Imagination needed,Well worth the trip particularly the Weta Cave.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent - our quirky, knowledgeable quide made this tour memorable. Our small group of 8, simple lunch and going to many sites with background movie connections made it a good day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Best lord of the rings tour in New Zealand. Brilliant guide who really 'geeked' it up for us once he knew we were all big fans, couldn't have been any better

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The best of the trip we did there. Nice background on movie making and brilliant seeing the country side.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Randall was a superb host on our tour of the LOTR filming locations, even if he does suffer from self confessed "Middle Earth Madness" Some stunning scenery and a great way to see some of Wellingtons best locations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Entertaining and knowledgeable guide, visited a range of places from the film, lots of photo opportunities, nice location for a hot lunch and even an afternoon snack. Recommend!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Our tour guide was great! He was funny and knew a lot about the the filming locations for all of the LOTR movies. He had a role on the film and shared many of his interesting experiences. I had so much fun learning more about LOTR and about Wellington!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Such a knowledgeable guide - not only about the Lord of the Rings but about the lovely city of Wellington and its history. A great day out, particularly the picnic shared with ducks.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This tour was a great way to see the Wellington area. We saw lots of locations from all the LOTR movies and each was explained and a short clip from the movie was shown of most locations. There was plenty of time look around and even act out some scenes if you're really keen! Our tour guide also shared several anecdotal stories about the actors during the filming of the movies. The tour can be tailored slightly to your knowledge of the movies there was someone on our tour who had never seen the movies or read the books and gave you an insight into the atmosphere of Wellington during the filming. Morning tea and lunch were included and both were very yummy! I highly recommend this tour to anyone who has an interest in the Lord of the Rings and arent staying in Wellington for long you really get to see the whole area.

From USD $ 166.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2964001RRT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message