4.5 star rating: Recommended 86 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Xian, China
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 86 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Daniel K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

We had a good, knowledgeable guide and we saw the key sites in Xian.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide arrived on time and did a good job explaining the history of the site. She was patient and helpful. The tour was well worth the day in Xi'an. The Warriors are not to be missed. The lunch was the best of all of the tours.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We saw all the wonders of the Warriors. Transport and guide were very good, on time and friendly/informative. Perhaps the only slight disappointment was the many opportunities to buy things we were subjected to, but thats a purely personnal opinion.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was good. We had all the necessary information and our guide was open to questions. She was much more thorough one-on-one than in the group. I saw other groups getting information continually and our guide did not do that. I would have liked to know what the other groups were learning that we did not.

She was very patient however, my father made some off remarks and she did not get angry with him or appear to take offense. Although, maybe his behavior had to do with why we did not get a lot of specific information that other tours were getting.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great tour. Our guide was well informed and friendly. He provided great history on the creation and discovery of the warriors. The included lunch was buffet style so we were very full on the way home. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the warriors, my only complaint is that some of the exhibits were so big we could easily have spent 30-40 mins exploring but were usually just given 15min. I realise this is to keep a schedule, but if I could make a suggestion it would be to have a slightly earlier pick up and allow more time in the exhibits. But a great day and incredibly humbling experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The Guide was excellent and took great care of us. He was well informed and could communicate with us very well in English. He also arranged hot Vegetarian lunch specially for the two of us which was very enjoyable.
The downside of this trip was the condition of the vehicle which took us around the whole day. There were totally 7 of us in the tour and he had arranged an 8 seater mini van which was not maintained well. The entire ride was very uncomfortable.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Bus arrived on time, tour guide very knowledgable and friendly, a great experience

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Excellent

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very Enjoyable Tour, Mr Chin spoke excellent english and was very informative guide

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Good guide with great knowledge........factory visit included a heavy sales pitch

Belmont
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The day trip was excellently organised. The Travel Guide arrived on time, albeit we were only a small party.
We went to the Banpo site first which was interesting although something that I couuld have easily left out of the tour. The Terracotta Warriors were brilliant although we went during the National China Holiday week so all the locals were on holiday so the queues were incredibly long and the crowds overwhelming. Due to the high volume of people it was difficult to see everything at a leisurely pace. We went into the Gift/Souvenir shop afterwards to purchase a book, which was signed by the Farmer who had discovered the treasures!
Overall, well worth a visit.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Very good however the intrusive visits to some
point of sales outlets were annoying. We went
on the trip to enjoy the amazing sights not to be sold totally unrelated goods!!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Great day and informative and pleasant guide Lucia. Enjoyed having a private tour as we were the only passengers Advantage of travelling at quiet time of the year. Terracotta warriors are amazing. Trip did not include the advertised "After lunch, you will travel to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, a symbol of the city. Step on the Xi'an's city wall. It is the most complete and best preserved city wall in all of China, dating back some 600 years" but did include an unexpected shopping stop at Terracotta Warrior reproduction shop. We would have preferred to see the other sights as advertised if given a choice.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Was excellent to have a personal tour guide and driver.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The private tour guide was very informative and the lunch food was better than most of the other food we ate from other agencies.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

overall perfect and satisfactory

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Overall a very good tour, I had expected a group tour but (I guess due to no-one else paying) it was a private tour. Guide had excellent English and was very knowledgeable.

Didn't really need the tour of the Terracotta Warrior workshop, 2 minutes of how they make reproductions then left to 'browse' the shopping area. Overly expensive and once we had left the guide told us that's not the best place to purchase reproductions anyway!

The rest of the day was excellent though, meal was pretty good, plenty of food. The warriors were amazing. Would highly recommend the tour, just don't waste money at the workshop.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

great tour. we covered 3 major sites. the wild goose pagoda, the original ancient settlement and the terracotta warriors. it was national week when i was there so i actually got to meet the farmer who discovered the site which was cool. the trip had the right pace. the guide was excellent, great English, took time to ensure we managed to see each area of the site and took photos for everyone and pointed out the best spots for you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The tour guide spoke English better than any of the other tour guides on my Viator excursions. I found her effort to be outstanding.

Brian W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Great trip with a good tour guide. The only slight downside was not enough time at the city wall which was very impressive. We went back the next day and hired bikes for a ride round the whole wall 14k.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The trip was good.

Yves S
France

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Really very good on what we see. Main site could be better if we saw other sites instead of very expensive factory.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Overall, we were very happy with this tour. It was a little more expensive than local tours, but it was worth it to have a tour group of only 8, instead of the groups of 30 that we saw all around us. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and sincere. The bus was comfortable and air-conditioned, and the itinerary covered all of the important sights we wanted to see in our brief visit to Xian. The only disappointment was the lunch provided, it was designed for tourists, and was quite bland compared to the wonderful, flavorful, authentic local cuisine we were expecting to try. And one more piece of advice - they will take you to a "factory" where they make little terracotta warriors replicas. It's a great place to take pictures, but try to avoid buying anything - the prices were about 10 times more expensive then buying the exact same figures in the Muslim Quarter!

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Well, this is the first time I have ever taken a tour anywhere, where I wasn't at least 80 happy with. I am just going to state what the issues were:
1. The tour information stated it would start at 8am however, my pick up time was to be at 9:15am.
2. My pick up time was 9:15am however, wasn't picked up until 10am.
3. I have a Chinese number but no one called to confirm nor did they call to inform me they would be late.
4. I had to have to have the hotel to call the number provided then the tour guide called and said they were running late.
5. Tour was nice however, when anyone asked a specific question, no answers were given. I do not believe she understood English well enough to reply other than her scripted responses.
6. Driver refused to turn on the aircon until LATE afternoon and the back of the van was bloody hot!

Good things:
1. She was very sweet!
2. Lunch was nice.
3. What we saw was awesome!
4. She knew her script

From USD $ 108.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042XASIC_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message