4.5 star rating: Recommended 94 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Xian, China
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Terracotta Warriors Essential Full Day Tour from Xi'an. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 94 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

great tour. we covered 3 major sites. the wild goose pagoda, the original ancient settlement and the terracotta warriors. it was national week when i was there so i actually got to meet the farmer who discovered the site which was cool. the trip had the right pace. the guide was excellent, great English, took time to ensure we managed to see each area of the site and took photos for everyone and pointed out the best spots for you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The tour guide spoke English better than any of the other tour guides on my Viator excursions. I found her effort to be outstanding.

Brian W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Great trip with a good tour guide. The only slight downside was not enough time at the city wall which was very impressive. We went back the next day and hired bikes for a ride round the whole wall 14k.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The trip was good.

Yves S
France

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Really very good on what we see. Main site could be better if we saw other sites instead of very expensive factory.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Overall, we were very happy with this tour. It was a little more expensive than local tours, but it was worth it to have a tour group of only 8, instead of the groups of 30 that we saw all around us. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and sincere. The bus was comfortable and air-conditioned, and the itinerary covered all of the important sights we wanted to see in our brief visit to Xian. The only disappointment was the lunch provided, it was designed for tourists, and was quite bland compared to the wonderful, flavorful, authentic local cuisine we were expecting to try. And one more piece of advice - they will take you to a "factory" where they make little terracotta warriors replicas. It's a great place to take pictures, but try to avoid buying anything - the prices were about 10 times more expensive then buying the exact same figures in the Muslim Quarter!

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Well, this is the first time I have ever taken a tour anywhere, where I wasn't at least 80 happy with. I am just going to state what the issues were:
1. The tour information stated it would start at 8am however, my pick up time was to be at 9:15am.
2. My pick up time was 9:15am however, wasn't picked up until 10am.
3. I have a Chinese number but no one called to confirm nor did they call to inform me they would be late.
4. I had to have to have the hotel to call the number provided then the tour guide called and said they were running late.
5. Tour was nice however, when anyone asked a specific question, no answers were given. I do not believe she understood English well enough to reply other than her scripted responses.
6. Driver refused to turn on the aircon until LATE afternoon and the back of the van was bloody hot!

Good things:
1. She was very sweet!
2. Lunch was nice.
3. What we saw was awesome!
4. She knew her script

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Tour guide was knowledgeable and we got to see the Banpo site and the Terracotta warriors, but the lunch included with the tour was not very good and we were taken to an imitation Terracotta factory where it was clear we were expected to buy something and the demeanor of the guide changed slightly when he realized we did not.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Too much shopping, not very clever if they want you to actually shop to do like this. They should rethink
their strategy, this is a lose lose one. The site itself, amazing!

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The tour itself was excellent and the guide was superb, the excursion to the Banpo village was excellent. My only criticism was of the coach, it was old, ramshackle and had no seat belts...and in Xi'an that's not a good thing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The terracotta warriors tour is a must see in Xi'an. Despite the fact of being crowded and it's not easy to get a good spot to see the warriors and other goods, the attractions are quite nice and the facilities are fair.
The tour guide had a decent english skill and she was very kind with us all the time. One bad thing about that is the "optional" attractions, such as foot massage when coming back from the museums, which doesn't worth it.
The souvenirs shops located on the museum's surroundings are overpriced. I found the same warrior dolls at the airport, with half the price I paid in one of those souvernir shops.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Felt rushed

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Very efficient pre trip management keeping us fully informed. Guide was half an hour late getting to the hotel due to two other people in the group who had no concept of timekeeping. The tour itself was good but no mention was made of the trip to the factory shop

Lunch was distinctly average but it did give us the opportunity to chat with the rest of the group. Guide again average On the whole worth the money paid.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

That was OK. Don't understand why tour starts at 8 and gets to Terracota warriors only by 2 p.m. Too much wasting time before the main attraction

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Mediocre tour guide and over-priced!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

It was an ok trip because we did see what we want to see and the tour guide was very friendly. But I did not give the trip a better rating because I paid for two adults and one child -- but no one told the local agent about the child. The van was so jammed that I had to carry my 8 year old son on my lap the whole time. In addition, the starting time was at least 2 hours behind the promised -- quite misleading!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2010

My tour guide didn't explain a lot of things that I saw.

Izella C
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2008

Our tour guide was lovely, but we could have done without the sales trip to the terracotta warrior factory, and the Banpo village was not our cup of tea. The city wall was very impressive if clearly the bulk has been rebuilt, it gives you a good idea. However, the terracotta army is not to be missed. Truly impressive. If you're in China, don't miss the terracotta warriors; however, Xi'an is not the nicest area in China overall.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

The tour guide is so desperate to have a tip, making a lot of pressure to me as a tourist.

From USD $ 108.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042XASIC_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message