Viewing All 113 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Alan M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was good. We had all the necessary information and our guide was open to questions. She was much more thorough one-on-one than in the group. I saw other groups getting information continually and our guide did not do that. I would have liked to know what the other groups were learning that we did not.

She was very patient however, my father made some off remarks and she did not get angry with him or appear to take offense. Although, maybe his behavior had to do with why we did not get a lot of specific information that other tours were getting.

Jessica M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great tour. Our guide was well informed and friendly. He provided great history on the creation and discovery of the warriors. The included lunch was buffet style so we were very full on the way home. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the warriors, my only complaint is that some of the exhibits were so big we could easily have spent 30-40 mins exploring but were usually just given 15min. I realise this is to keep a schedule, but if I could make a suggestion it would be to have a slightly earlier pick up and allow more time in the exhibits. But a great day and incredibly humbling experience.

bharat s

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The Guide was excellent and took great care of us. He was well informed and could communicate with us very well in English. He also arranged hot Vegetarian lunch specially for the two of us which was very enjoyable.
The downside of this trip was the condition of the vehicle which took us around the whole day. There were totally 7 of us in the tour and he had arranged an 8 seater mini van which was not maintained well. The entire ride was very uncomfortable.

Miguel Angel M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Awesome!

Arthur S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Bus arrived on time, tour guide very knowledgable and friendly, a great experience

Harish C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Excellent

Patrick V

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very Enjoyable Tour, Mr Chin spoke excellent english and was very informative guide

Nicola B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Good guide with great knowledge........factory visit included a heavy sales pitch

Belmont United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The day trip was excellently organised. The Travel Guide arrived on time, albeit we were only a small party.
We went to the Banpo site first which was interesting although something that I couuld have easily left out of the tour. The Terracotta Warriors were brilliant although we went during the National China Holiday week so all the locals were on holiday so the queues were incredibly long and the crowds overwhelming. Due to the high volume of people it was difficult to see everything at a leisurely pace. We went into the Gift/Souvenir shop afterwards to purchase a book, which was signed by the Farmer who had discovered the treasures!
Overall, well worth a visit.

David W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Very good however the intrusive visits to some
point of sales outlets were annoying. We went
on the trip to enjoy the amazing sights not to be sold totally unrelated goods!!

KEITH R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Great day and informative and pleasant guide Lucia. Enjoyed having a private tour as we were the only passengers Advantage of travelling at quiet time of the year. Terracotta warriors are amazing. Trip did not include the advertised "After lunch, you will travel to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, a symbol of the city. Step on the Xi'an's city wall. It is the most complete and best preserved city wall in all of China, dating back some 600 years" but did include an unexpected shopping stop at Terracotta Warrior reproduction shop. We would have preferred to see the other sights as advertised if given a choice.

Christopher G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Was excellent to have a personal tour guide and driver.

perky

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The private tour guide was very informative and the lunch food was better than most of the other food we ate from other agencies.

sawilz

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

overall perfect and satisfactory

01parkerd

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Overall a very good tour, I had expected a group tour but (I guess due to no-one else paying) it was a private tour. Guide had excellent English and was very knowledgeable.

Didn't really need the tour of the Terracotta Warrior workshop, 2 minutes of how they make reproductions then left to 'browse' the shopping area. Overly expensive and once we had left the guide told us that's not the best place to purchase reproductions anyway!

The rest of the day was excellent though, meal was pretty good, plenty of food. The warriors were amazing. Would highly recommend the tour, just don't waste money at the workshop.

Sarah F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

great tour. we covered 3 major sites. the wild goose pagoda, the original ancient settlement and the terracotta warriors. it was national week when i was there so i actually got to meet the farmer who discovered the site which was cool. the trip had the right pace. the guide was excellent, great English, took time to ensure we managed to see each area of the site and took photos for everyone and pointed out the best spots for you.

Andrew Y

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The tour guide spoke English better than any of the other tour guides on my Viator excursions. I found her effort to be outstanding.

Brian W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Great trip with a good tour guide. The only slight downside was not enough time at the city wall which was very impressive. We went back the next day and hired bikes for a ride round the whole wall 14k.

Jeff C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The trip was good.

Yves S France

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Really very good on what we see. Main site could be better if we saw other sites instead of very expensive factory.

Carole N Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Overall, we were very happy with this tour. It was a little more expensive than local tours, but it was worth it to have a tour group of only 8, instead of the groups of 30 that we saw all around us. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and sincere. The bus was comfortable and air-conditioned, and the itinerary covered all of the important sights we wanted to see in our brief visit to Xian. The only disappointment was the lunch provided, it was designed for tourists, and was quite bland compared to the wonderful, flavorful, authentic local cuisine we were expecting to try. And one more piece of advice - they will take you to a "factory" where they make little terracotta warriors replicas. It's a great place to take pictures, but try to avoid buying anything - the prices were about 10 times more expensive then buying the exact same figures in the Muslim Quarter!

Aaron W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The best of the tours we took. Our tour guide was great she really explained everything to us and really looked for questions and feedback. Unlike the other tours we took this guide even gave us time to explore and even buy water or a snack when needed. The only reason this wasn't rated higher is because you're forced to shop which is dumb. I know that not one person in my tour group bought anything we all just stood around waiting to leave. Also, while this says it's a full day tour keep in mind it takes about two hours one way to get there so four hours of your day is spent traveling and that doesn't include pick ups and drop offs. So this is really a half day tour of the actual tour site.

Angie Koh Malaysia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Our guides., Michael and Chelsea were friendly, informative and helpful. Though Michael speaks with accented English, we were able to understand him. However, Chelsea is more articulate. They were on time to pick us up from our hotel. There was 3 other male tourist 1 Italian and 2 Germans with me and my 2 friends, from Malaysia.
Overall, the tour seemed rushing to us, from places to places. At the Terracotta factory, we were not give enough time to browse and shop for other products. We did not get to see the other display items on sale except for the area where the Terracotta warriors are. Maybe because the other 3 male tourists are not keen to shop. We were not encouraged to stop and browse the shops along the way from the Terracotta Warriors museum site to Emperor QinShihHuang's Mausoleum.
Lunch is provided on this tour. Though the dishes are plentiful, most of it were bland. The fried chicken dish was pitiful. Upon inspection, it was just chicken necks, skins and a piece of wings. We even had to pay for our own drinks. It is not included in the lunch.
When Chelsea asked if we are interested to see the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance show and dinner, we jumped at the chance. We were grateful that the van waited for us to finish the dance show to take us back to the hotel. However, the dinner before the show was a great disappointment. We were served 12 pieces of dim sum, each piece the size of a thumb. Though we were given a bowl of chives dumpling soup 11 pieces inside and 4 ice-cube size fruits. Even the drinks served were limited to one glass. We feel that for CNY100, this dinner is not worth it. Suggestion would be to just watch the dance performance.
We did enjoyed the dance performance. The costumes were extravagant and music beautiful. Dancers were professionals and good.
Over, this tour was good. Thank you to Viator.com and the local tour operator.

Ian B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The guide was knowledgeable, but his English was not good and he spoke too softly. He also did not spend enough time at various locations to let us get decent photos

Gwen J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Seeing the terracotta warriors is an absolute must, but I would not recommend this particular tour. Much of the day was designed to get us to spend money at touristy places. I would have preferred just seeing the warriors.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 108.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042XASIC_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message