Viewing All 103 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Nicola B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Good guide with great knowledge........factory visit included a heavy sales pitch

Belmont United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The day trip was excellently organised. The Travel Guide arrived on time, albeit we were only a small party.
We went to the Banpo site first which was interesting although something that I couuld have easily left out of the tour. The Terracotta Warriors were brilliant although we went during the National China Holiday week so all the locals were on holiday so the queues were incredibly long and the crowds overwhelming. Due to the high volume of people it was difficult to see everything at a leisurely pace. We went into the Gift/Souvenir shop afterwards to purchase a book, which was signed by the Farmer who had discovered the treasures!
Overall, well worth a visit.

David W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Very good however the intrusive visits to some
point of sales outlets were annoying. We went
on the trip to enjoy the amazing sights not to be sold totally unrelated goods!!

KEITH R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Great day and informative and pleasant guide Lucia. Enjoyed having a private tour as we were the only passengers Advantage of travelling at quiet time of the year. Terracotta warriors are amazing. Trip did not include the advertised "After lunch, you will travel to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, a symbol of the city. Step on the Xi'an's city wall. It is the most complete and best preserved city wall in all of China, dating back some 600 years" but did include an unexpected shopping stop at Terracotta Warrior reproduction shop. We would have preferred to see the other sights as advertised if given a choice.

Christopher G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Was excellent to have a personal tour guide and driver.

perky

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The private tour guide was very informative and the lunch food was better than most of the other food we ate from other agencies.

sawilz

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

overall perfect and satisfactory

01parkerd

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Overall a very good tour, I had expected a group tour but (I guess due to no-one else paying) it was a private tour. Guide had excellent English and was very knowledgeable.

Didn't really need the tour of the Terracotta Warrior workshop, 2 minutes of how they make reproductions then left to 'browse' the shopping area. Overly expensive and once we had left the guide told us that's not the best place to purchase reproductions anyway!

The rest of the day was excellent though, meal was pretty good, plenty of food. The warriors were amazing. Would highly recommend the tour, just don't waste money at the workshop.

Jean F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

great tour. we covered 3 major sites. the wild goose pagoda, the original ancient settlement and the terracotta warriors. it was national week when i was there so i actually got to meet the farmer who discovered the site which was cool. the trip had the right pace. the guide was excellent, great English, took time to ensure we managed to see each area of the site and took photos for everyone and pointed out the best spots for you.

Andrew Y

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The tour guide spoke English better than any of the other tour guides on my Viator excursions. I found her effort to be outstanding.

Brian W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Great trip with a good tour guide. The only slight downside was not enough time at the city wall which was very impressive. We went back the next day and hired bikes for a ride round the whole wall 14k.

Jeff C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The trip was good.

Yves S France

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Really very good on what we see. Main site could be better if we saw other sites instead of very expensive factory.

Carole N Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Overall, we were very happy with this tour. It was a little more expensive than local tours, but it was worth it to have a tour group of only 8, instead of the groups of 30 that we saw all around us. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and sincere. The bus was comfortable and air-conditioned, and the itinerary covered all of the important sights we wanted to see in our brief visit to Xian. The only disappointment was the lunch provided, it was designed for tourists, and was quite bland compared to the wonderful, flavorful, authentic local cuisine we were expecting to try. And one more piece of advice - they will take you to a "factory" where they make little terracotta warriors replicas. It's a great place to take pictures, but try to avoid buying anything - the prices were about 10 times more expensive then buying the exact same figures in the Muslim Quarter!

Gwen J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Seeing the terracotta warriors is an absolute must, but I would not recommend this particular tour. Much of the day was designed to get us to spend money at touristy places. I would have preferred just seeing the warriors.

Ronna F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Well, this is the first time I have ever taken a tour anywhere, where I wasn't at least 80 happy with. I am just going to state what the issues were:
1. The tour information stated it would start at 8am however, my pick up time was to be at 9:15am.
2. My pick up time was 9:15am however, wasn't picked up until 10am.
3. I have a Chinese number but no one called to confirm nor did they call to inform me they would be late.
4. I had to have to have the hotel to call the number provided then the tour guide called and said they were running late.
5. Tour was nice however, when anyone asked a specific question, no answers were given. I do not believe she understood English well enough to reply other than her scripted responses.
6. Driver refused to turn on the aircon until LATE afternoon and the back of the van was bloody hot!

Good things:
1. She was very sweet!
2. Lunch was nice.
3. What we saw was awesome!
4. She knew her script

Sally B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Tour guide was knowledgeable and we got to see the Banpo site and the Terracotta warriors, but the lunch included with the tour was not very good and we were taken to an imitation Terracotta factory where it was clear we were expected to buy something and the demeanor of the guide changed slightly when he realized we did not.

Gabriel C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Too much shopping, not very clever if they want you to actually shop to do like this. They should rethink
their strategy, this is a lose lose one. The site itself, amazing!

Richard K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The tour itself was excellent and the guide was superb, the excursion to the Banpo village was excellent. My only criticism was of the coach, it was old, ramshackle and had no seat belts...and in Xi'an that's not a good thing.

Guilherme Piccin Brazil

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The terracotta warriors tour is a must see in Xi'an. Despite the fact of being crowded and it's not easy to get a good spot to see the warriors and other goods, the attractions are quite nice and the facilities are fair.
The tour guide had a decent english skill and she was very kind with us all the time. One bad thing about that is the "optional" attractions, such as foot massage when coming back from the museums, which doesn't worth it.
The souvenirs shops located on the museum's surroundings are overpriced. I found the same warrior dolls at the airport, with half the price I paid in one of those souvernir shops.

darold c

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Felt rushed

DC

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Very efficient pre trip management keeping us fully informed. Guide was half an hour late getting to the hotel due to two other people in the group who had no concept of timekeeping. The tour itself was good but no mention was made of the trip to the factory shop

Lunch was distinctly average but it did give us the opportunity to chat with the rest of the group. Guide again average On the whole worth the money paid.

papindom USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

That was OK. Don't understand why tour starts at 8 and gets to Terracota warriors only by 2 p.m. Too much wasting time before the main attraction

Charles B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Mediocre tour guide and over-priced!

Hong L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

It was an ok trip because we did see what we want to see and the tour guide was very friendly. But I did not give the trip a better rating because I paid for two adults and one child -- but no one told the local agent about the child. The van was so jammed that I had to carry my 8 year old son on my lap the whole time. In addition, the starting time was at least 2 hours behind the promised -- quite misleading!

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 108.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042XASIC_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message