• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 47 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  11 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Interlaken - Grindelwald in the Bernese Oberland (from Zurich). What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 47 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We have booked with Viator in the past and always been happy. This time,however, was disappointing. We had a guide, Kid, whom we could not understand. Much of the info along the way was lost. The sights were beautiful though and we enjoyed that. Kid did not communicate that we were getting dropped off and would meet up with the rest of hte group at Grindelwald. He was very curt when we asked any questions and seemed not to care about anything other than the schedule and chastising those who were late once. The ALps were magnificent and we had plenty of time for taking the cable car on our own. The scheduling on this tour was perfect. On the bus ride back the AC in the bus was not working and it was brutally hot. I dehydrated. I had to purchase water on the bus and not once did Kid come over to check on anyone and how they were faring in the heat. It was a 3 hour ride back. The last 10 minutes Kid started to walk up and down the aisles being friendly. Hmmmm-tips? Sorry Kid, you didn't earn any from us. When I contacted Viator they said they would review our situation. I hope that future trips can benefit fromm this info. We would like to go Viator again ourselves since past experience have all been wonderful.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Beautiful scenery but guide's English dufficult to understand (perhaps from Phillipines). Too much free time and not enough information about the area.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

This tour was on Sunday which means everything was pretty much closed. Has to switch to the Top of Europe Tour after we left Interlaken.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The country side was beautiful. Tour operator mislead in their site. We were dropped in village for 3.5 hours without a guide. It was very small village and we had to go back on our own as there was nothing to do for 3.5 hours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

This is a nice tour but but I recommend going to the top of the mountain instead of staying in the small town.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Interlaken is a great place to admire nature at its best, Had great fun here since i took a paragliding trip as well. Grindelwald is a bit boring, very quite and nothing to do.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Our tour guide kept the tour light and fun. Although it was great to walk around Interlaken and Grindelwald, you really need to research on what you can do in these two places. The rest of the tour group went to Jungfrau. We would've had to pay extra to go up there.

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The scenery was amazing, particularly as the weather was good. However if you are going on a trip that is not the Jungfrau trip, then make sure you research things to do in Interlaken and Grindelwald. They are both lovely places but the tour guide gave little or no information about what to do so it is vital to have done a little homework before you go. You must visit the Alps while in Switzerland though!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

The guide was TERRIBLE! His English did not rate as being an "English speaking tour". He also was not happy that we wanted to stay in Interlaken, our choice of tours, and not take the extra tour to JungFrau. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Interlaken and the time we had in Grindelwald, but we would not take this tour had we know how bad the guide was and how uncomfortable that he made us feel. We would have been better off on our own.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Didnt go, change to the heidiland instead, as it same as going to junfraujoch interlaken..

Manoj P
Austria

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

The bus allocated for this trip was in very bad shape, lots of flies and a bad smell. My family felt very uncomfortable during travel. The time given for Interlaken is also very small. But tourist guide was very good.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

I love the tour guide and the area is an absolute must-see, but there is too much wasted time. The tour guide was great, kept checking to make sure everyone was okay, and actually suggested I do something besides the planned itinerary for which I am very grateful. The tour itself is part of the Jungfrau mountain tour, it's just that you go to Grindelwald instead of the top of the mountain. There isn't much to Grindelwald and to do this trip as advertised you are there three hours, going after everyone else is dropped off to go to Jungfrau. I spent a fantastic afternoon, having time to see most of what there was to see. The scenery is truly fabulous. One thing they should change is to provide more time on the mountains. Departures from Zurich go first to the center of Lucerne to pick up people and there is a pickup souvenir stop in Interlaken that is a total waste of time. You also lose a lot of time due to being the last to get off the bus and I was told to be in Grindelwald 40 minutes before the Jungfrau people were scheduled to arrive.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Worst tour I had in my life! Totally regretted joining. So pissed off by the tour guide who was very impatient and rude to me when I asked to explain the intinerary again due to his bad English. When a another couple asked him a second time, he patiently explained to them with a smile.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

It was not a tour but a bus journey to the two places respectively and back to Zurich - no tour. I was among the few or perhaps the only one who joined the tour to these two destinations; the coach had a big group heading for Jungfrau. So when I got into the bus I found labeled stickers 'JUNGFRAU' on many of the passengers and I asked the "tour guide" a Thai English-speaking guide whether it was the correct tour I was on. He was rather rude and it was not his language skill that I am concerned about but his attitude.The bus took us to our first destination. I was left alone to sightsee in Interlaken , my first destination while the guide and the bigger group went on to Jungfrau; the arrangement was that the bus would be back at 1pm to take me and another couple from Interlaken to Grindelwald. We were brought to Grindelwald, left there on our own and the bus picked us up at

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

I would not recommend this tour. We wasted too much of the day waiting for people to show up for the appointed departures and dropping people off in different cities. We were given too little time in Interlaken where there seemed to be lots of shopping and things to see, and hours in Grindelwald with nothing to do. And it was all arranged for the convenience of the bus company, not the tourists. The tour guide wanted us to sign up for the additional tour to Top of the World out of Grindelwald for another $200. It was raining and super foggy and we would not have seen enough to make it worthwhile. I would definitely check out other tour companies for this trip.

From USD $ 106.26

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2460INTER

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message