4 star rating: Recommended 59 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:11 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Interlaken - Grindelwald in the Bernese Oberland (from Zurich)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Interlaken - Grindelwald in the Bernese Oberland (from Zurich). What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 59 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 3 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3

Manoj P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

The bus allocated for this trip was in very bad shape, lots of flies and a bad smell. My family felt very uncomfortable during travel. The time given for Interlaken is also very small. But tourist guide was very good.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

I love the tour guide and the area is an absolute must-see, but there is too much wasted time. The tour guide was great, kept checking to make sure everyone was okay, and actually suggested I do something besides the planned itinerary for which I am very grateful. The tour itself is part of the Jungfrau mountain tour, it's just that you go to Grindelwald instead of the top of the mountain. There isn't much to Grindelwald and to do this trip as advertised you are there three hours, going after everyone else is dropped off to go to Jungfrau. I spent a fantastic afternoon, having time to see most of what there was to see. The scenery is truly fabulous. One thing they should change is to provide more time on the mountains. Departures from Zurich go first to the center of Lucerne to pick up people and there is a pickup souvenir stop in Interlaken that is a total waste of time. You also lose a lot of time due to being the last to get off the bus and I was told to be in Grindelwald 40 minutes before the Jungfrau people were scheduled to arrive.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Tour guide's English was extremely difficult to understand by myself and other American travellers. This tour was combined with another tour to Mt Jungfrau so me and 3 other pax were given very sketchy details that we had to wait a certain spot in Interlaken and then we would be taken to Grindelwald separately to the group with NO GUIDE and a bus driver who did not speak english. We were left at Grindelwald for 4 hours while it was raining. We were given no instruction on activities to do - we were dumped in this town with nothing to do but walk through it over and over again for four hours in the rain! We could have taken a train to Grindelwald as this Viatour was merely a transport service and not a guided tour. Very disappointing and a big waste of time and money!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This cheaper tour is a trap. Its the same tour as the Jungfraujoch tour which costs 3 times the price. Only difference is instead of going to the top, they dump you in Interlaken for 1 hours and Grindewald for 5 hours whilst you have to wait for the Jungfraujoch clientèle to go up to the top and come back down.

Needless to say, they try to up-sell you on the way there telling you you'll be waiting 6 hours in the rain for us.

This info needs to be more up front!!

Ended up having to pay extra for the Kleine Scheidegg extension so as not to get stuck in Grindewald for a whole day! Not as costly as the Jungfraujoch fortunately and just split up the time sufficiently as to not be excessive.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Worst tour I had in my life! Totally regretted joining. So pissed off by the tour guide who was very impatient and rude to me when I asked to explain the intinerary again due to his bad English. When a another couple asked him a second time, he patiently explained to them with a smile.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

It was not a tour but a bus journey to the two places respectively and back to Zurich - no tour. I was among the few or perhaps the only one who joined the tour to these two destinations; the coach had a big group heading for Jungfrau. So when I got into the bus I found labeled stickers 'JUNGFRAU' on many of the passengers and I asked the "tour guide" a Thai English-speaking guide whether it was the correct tour I was on. He was rather rude and it was not his language skill that I am concerned about but his attitude.The bus took us to our first destination. I was left alone to sightsee in Interlaken , my first destination while the guide and the bigger group went on to Jungfrau; the arrangement was that the bus would be back at 1pm to take me and another couple from Interlaken to Grindelwald. We were brought to Grindelwald, left there on our own and the bus picked us up at

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

I would not recommend this tour. We wasted too much of the day waiting for people to show up for the appointed departures and dropping people off in different cities. We were given too little time in Interlaken where there seemed to be lots of shopping and things to see, and hours in Grindelwald with nothing to do. And it was all arranged for the convenience of the bus company, not the tourists. The tour guide wanted us to sign up for the additional tour to Top of the World out of Grindelwald for another $200. It was raining and super foggy and we would not have seen enough to make it worthwhile. I would definitely check out other tour companies for this trip.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2012

nothing much

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2010

Disappointing tour. I was on the bus and found out that my family and I would be the only ones getting off at Interlaken while the whole tour continued to Jungfraujoch. Then I was upgraded by paying 110 Franks person since I wanted to be part of the tour. On top of that, the tour guide blatanly stated that he wanted me to pay in advance since I wanted to use Visa since he didn't trust me. He also clearly said that the tour in Interlaken sucked which he was right about. I feel cheated and offended. This tour to Interlaken is just a bus ride that you can do on your own. The tour to Jungfraujoch is good value for money and is a fantastic experience but I was put in a bad mood due to my experience with the tour operator.

Viewing 3 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3

From USD $ 93.36

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2460INTER


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message