4.5 star rating: Recommended 173 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 173 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip provided a great way to spend a day. Lucerne is a beautiful city. We really enjoyed spending time walking around observing the activity and sitting around the pristine lake. The gondola ride up to the top of Mount Pilatus was fun and the rail car ride down was steep. Make sure to get a seat on the window of the rail car, as opposed to getting stuck in the middle like we did. The ferry ride was a great way to see all the shoreline of the lake. Great day! Well worth the $.

One piece of advice... Our tour guide gave us the option to ride the toboggan sled track down a portion of the mountain at the point where you make the switch from one gondola car to a second to get to the summit of the mountain. My wife and I decided to do it, while the rest of the group went straight to the summit. We took the sled ride, which was fun (supposedly the longest in the Alps) and then took the second gondola ride up after and met the rest of the group at the Summit later. While the sled was a good time, it was a longer than expected line to get a sled and took a about an hour out of our time that we had to view all the breathtaking views from the top of the mountain when we finally got there. Therefore, we felt rushed and only had about 20 minutes to hike around and see all the views at the top, which is not near enough time. It was our decision to do the sled, so we had no one to blame but ourselves for feeling rushed at the top. So if you are a thrill seeker that enjoys sleds and speed, etc. you can attempt the toboggan sled ride. However, if you want to be sure to have ample time to view all the sites from the top of the mountain then skip it. We wish we would've in this case, but overall, the trip was still a blast!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

If there is a rate more than 5 stars I would have rate it !! If you are in Switzerland for the first time, then you must try this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour and good variety, as you get to ride a cable car, cogwheel train and take a boat ride. Almost 2 hours at the top of Pilatus, which was ample time. View from the top was amazing. A full hour in Lucerne would have been nice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It was a great experience. We thank Viator and Best Tours Switzerland for organizing this wonderful tour. We really enjoyed the tour especially Mt. Piltaus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Lucerne and lake cruise was lovely. Top Mt Pilatus awesome. Guide very knowledgeable, timely and friendly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great trip- informative and beautiful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This weather was very bad and we could not see the mountain or the great views. However that was not in your control. The boat and cogwheel portions were just great and the guide was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Enjoyed it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Wonderful trip and get your camera ready because the sights are magnificent. Get ready for the ride of your life in the tram including the big surprise moment! Train ride down is amazing, watch the elevation grade sigsn on the side of the tracks to see just how much of a slant your are facing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Beautiful and good value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a great tour. We enjoyed it, and the beautiful weather. Could see for miles. ONly wish we could of gotten out and take more pictures outside the bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

It was an excellent tour despite the fact that it was a very rainy day and once at the top we could see nothing. The experience of going up and down Mt. Pilatus was worth doing. Lucerne is as lovely as people say and the boat ride on Lake Lucerne was very nice. The guide was very efficient and did an excellent job in coordinating the various types of activities involved in this tour. Liked the fact that we could be picked up at our hotel. It would have been great if we could have been returned to our hotel at the end of the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Fantastic trip with knowledgeable guide. Would not have changed a thing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Fabulous trip, would definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

AMAZING! This was such a beautiful day and a must do trip.

From USD $ 159.97

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3885SW304BS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message