4.5 star rating: Recommended 175 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 175 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Very nice tour guide, beautiful day, would highly recommend this trip

ANTHONY G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great value for money.Well organised and provided a variety of transport modes bus ,gondola,cable car ,ratchet train and ferry to and from a spectacular location. It was a terrific day out. No doubts about recommending this trip to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Awesome tour! The sights were just amazing. I loved the route bus, gondola, cog train and boat and thought the tour was well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We had a great trip. Our guide was very informative. She spoke perfect English and very nicely kept everybody on time and moving in the right direction. We had time for everything except the optional toboggan run. We had a party of 7 and all loved the trip. We would do it again, use Viator Tours again and highly recommend this trip.

Lauren D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

What a great trip! The tour guide was very informative, and the day couldn't have been better. Got to do so many different things on one trip! Strongly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Very informative. Our guide was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The tour itself was nice! A great ride in the cable car gondola with a nice view and hiking on top of the mountain. The train ride down was a different experience and the boat ride was good too. They did not pick us from the hotel although the hotel was listed as one where guest will be picked up. With two kids, it would have been nice if we were picked up!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent trip! Good variety of transportation, great guide very energetic and knowledgeable...overall excellent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I highly recommend this trip to visitors of Zurich. Every moment of the day was packed with different kinds of activities and different things to see. The trips to and from Mount Pilatus were fabulous and the sights from the top are out of this world. There was no time to be bored. The guide made the trip extra special with her wonderful knowledge of Zurich and its history as well as her personal care of the group. With her, we got in our fill of Zurich in a day and other tours were not the same after this. Do not miss this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was a very enjoyable trip! The only disappointment was the weather, not as clear at the top as had been predicted that day. The trip was efficient and smooth, and the sites were enjoyable and beautiful. We would do it again and hope for a clearer day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We had a great day in Lucerne and up to the summit. After a day of rain, the weather cleared, and we enjoyed beautiful views. Wish we had more time to hike at the top. We went up with the gondola and down on the train, then the boat back to the city. Super day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Super trip! Everything about it was great. Our guide was very informative as well and suggested a cheese fondue on top of the mountain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Absolutely fabulous. I was not too sure of the cable car ride, but I overcame my fear of heights and did it. Cog wheel train and boat ride enabled us to see the countryside from other vantage points.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Wonderful day trip for spending a day at Lucerne and the mountain! The cable car and cogwheel ride was a wonderful experience. The boat ride was very pleasant too. Definitely a must do if you only have one day at Zurich/Lucerne area! The tour guide explained the history and places of interest very well. The only down side is the long queue at the booth registering for the tour even with pre-payment paid via internet, only ONE attendant to handle all the tours.

Helen C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A brilliant trip, not to be missed if you are visiting Switzerland.

RAMI
Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Well organized trip, satisfied my requirement to visit a mountain in Switzerland. Despite the foggy weather, it was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

One of the best tours I have ever taken. It certainly should be on every one's list of things to do when in Zurich!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

This is a perfect way to see some of the best sights Switzerland has to offer. The view from the top of Mount Pilatus and from Lake Lucern are amazing. My only complaint would be that I would have liked a little bit more time in the town of Lucern.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

We chose this tour for to its various modes of transportation. This was a great way to get different perspectives of the mountain and surrounding areas. It also helped break up the day since it went by quickly. The tour was well organized, and our tour guide was always available for questions. Most importantly, she stressed being on time when we were let go as the cog train and the boat run on fixed schedules. I give the Swiss credit for punctuality. There was plenty of time on top of Mt. Pilatus to take in several of the trails and have lunch. Yet it was not too long, and we did not get bored. Overall, I would recommend this trip as the scenery is beautiful and the cog train and boat ride are worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Awesome!! Spectacular!! Great view of Lake Lucerne!! It is a must do!!

Valerie M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

What a fantastic day. Weather was overcast but top of mountain was clear. Only problem was that we did not have enough time on Mount Pilatus. I got to play a swiss horn, took lots of photos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The Mont Pilatus tour round trip took in spectacular scenery with great mountain views. The coach trip was comfortable, we felt safe at all times. The ride up and down the mountain was stimulating and the boat trip was relaxing. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

You must do this tour on a sunny day. We had a sunny day and the views were spectacular. Enjoyed going over the mountains to Lake Lucerne. We went through a cloud on the way up to the top of Mount Pilatus. Clouds were fast moving and scenery changed every five minutes. The railway and boat trip added to a great experience.

Gokul K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This amazing trip every one has to take who is visiting Switzerland. One can enjoy all the engineering marvels like bubbles and cog wheel train with 48 slope is amazing. I felt the tour guides from city tours are bit aloof, otherwise the tour was splendid, no words to describe. I suggest this trip to everyone.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2008

This was a fantastic day trip - the scenery was beautiful and the guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. One hour in Lucerne was probably not enough to explore this beautiful town, but was enough to gain a taste and I would not have traded the time spent on Mt Pilatus or the beautiful boat trip. Highly recommended.

From USD $ 158.63

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3885SW304BS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message