4.5 star rating: Recommended 190 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 190 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

This is a perfect way to see some of the best sights Switzerland has to offer. The view from the top of Mount Pilatus and from Lake Lucern are amazing. My only complaint would be that I would have liked a little bit more time in the town of Lucern.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

We chose this tour for to its various modes of transportation. This was a great way to get different perspectives of the mountain and surrounding areas. It also helped break up the day since it went by quickly. The tour was well organized, and our tour guide was always available for questions. Most importantly, she stressed being on time when we were let go as the cog train and the boat run on fixed schedules. I give the Swiss credit for punctuality. There was plenty of time on top of Mt. Pilatus to take in several of the trails and have lunch. Yet it was not too long, and we did not get bored. Overall, I would recommend this trip as the scenery is beautiful and the cog train and boat ride are worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Awesome!! Spectacular!! Great view of Lake Lucerne!! It is a must do!!

Valerie M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

What a fantastic day. Weather was overcast but top of mountain was clear. Only problem was that we did not have enough time on Mount Pilatus. I got to play a swiss horn, took lots of photos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The Mont Pilatus tour round trip took in spectacular scenery with great mountain views. The coach trip was comfortable, we felt safe at all times. The ride up and down the mountain was stimulating and the boat trip was relaxing. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

You must do this tour on a sunny day. We had a sunny day and the views were spectacular. Enjoyed going over the mountains to Lake Lucerne. We went through a cloud on the way up to the top of Mount Pilatus. Clouds were fast moving and scenery changed every five minutes. The railway and boat trip added to a great experience.

Gokul K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This amazing trip every one has to take who is visiting Switzerland. One can enjoy all the engineering marvels like bubbles and cog wheel train with 48 slope is amazing. I felt the tour guides from city tours are bit aloof, otherwise the tour was splendid, no words to describe. I suggest this trip to everyone.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2008

This was a fantastic day trip - the scenery was beautiful and the guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. One hour in Lucerne was probably not enough to explore this beautiful town, but was enough to gain a taste and I would not have traded the time spent on Mt Pilatus or the beautiful boat trip. Highly recommended.

Anna Sophia V
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2008

It was an very good trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

Guide was very good and the activities on the tour were great, would tell others to take this tour.

Maha S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

It was absolutely amazing. It's very very beautiful and our guide was very nice. Definitely recommend this tour. I just wish we had more time up in the mountains as we only got around one hour and 30 minutes. But overall it's just amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

We loved it! It was a wonderful trip. The tour guide was very good.

Jane B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

This was a great experience of views of the Swiss countryside and lakes, using various transport methods, all comfortable.

Karen L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

If you can only do one thing when you are in Switzerland, this should be it! I had a fabulous day, and the tour exceeded all my expectations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

The boat ride on Lake Lucerne was fantastic. The cogwheel was interesting. We had snow at the top of the mountain, which meant there was no view, but no one cared. The food was great. The lion monument was unbelievable. I loved the city so much that I traveled back to spend a day sightseeing. Lucerne was my favorite city in Switzerland. There was not enough time for me to see the town on the tour because we had so much to do.

Kevin C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

The sights were spectacular!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

We enjoyed our time in Lucerne. The tour guide showed us through the town. Even better, the cable ride up to Mount Pilatus was spectacular. The view from the mountain was perfect. I would definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

It was well worth the time and expense.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

The most stunning scenery in the world! The Lion Monument was incredible. The view from Mt. Pilatus is something I'll never forget. Stunning!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This is another beauty. Loved it.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We were bit unlucky because the top of pilatus was conpletely covered with cloud. But the cable car and the steepst cogwheel train journey was awesome.
The tour was organised by a local tour company and it was nicely done.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful. The only fault I found was that there was too much time at the top of Mt Pilatus.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We loved the tour and the tour guide was excellent. We were picked up at our hotel which was very convenient. The only problem was that we assumed they would take us back to the hotel. Instead they left us in downtown Zurich to get ourselves back to the hotel. That was unexpected and not much fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip was excellent! It was well planned and the areas they take you through show the true beauty of Switzerland! My family and I really enjoyed the cable car rides, boat cruise, cogwheel train and time to spend at our leisure in Lucerne city. I would highly recommend this trip. Just make sure to check the weather ahead of time, as it got really cloudy at top of Mt. Pilatus and could not see much from the top.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent!

From USD $ 154.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3885SW304BS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message