4.5 star rating: Recommended 174 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mount Pilatus Summer Day Trip from Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 174 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Anna Sophia V
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2008

It was an very good trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

Guide was very good and the activities on the tour were great, would tell others to take this tour.

Maha S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

It was absolutely amazing. It's very very beautiful and our guide was very nice. Definitely recommend this tour. I just wish we had more time up in the mountains as we only got around one hour and 30 minutes. But overall it's just amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

We loved it! It was a wonderful trip. The tour guide was very good.

Jane B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

This was a great experience of views of the Swiss countryside and lakes, using various transport methods, all comfortable.

Karen L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

If you can only do one thing when you are in Switzerland, this should be it! I had a fabulous day, and the tour exceeded all my expectations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

The boat ride on Lake Lucerne was fantastic. The cogwheel was interesting. We had snow at the top of the mountain, which meant there was no view, but no one cared. The food was great. The lion monument was unbelievable. I loved the city so much that I traveled back to spend a day sightseeing. Lucerne was my favorite city in Switzerland. There was not enough time for me to see the town on the tour because we had so much to do.

Kevin C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

The sights were spectacular!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

We enjoyed our time in Lucerne. The tour guide showed us through the town. Even better, the cable ride up to Mount Pilatus was spectacular. The view from the mountain was perfect. I would definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

It was well worth the time and expense.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

The most stunning scenery in the world! The Lion Monument was incredible. The view from Mt. Pilatus is something I'll never forget. Stunning!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed our trip from Zurich to Mt.Pilatus. Our guide had plenty of interesting local stories, provided cultural insight, and was quite friendly. This is a simple and a pleasant way to tour around the area.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Weather was terrible so there was absolutely no visibility, but the gondola ride up and cog wheel train down were lovely despite the weather. Boat ride in Lake Lucerne was fantastic

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Pilatus and Lake Lucern were extremely beautiful, and our guides were very informative and knowledgable!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, loved going up mount Pilatus, and the tour guide was lovely....and so was the bus driver too.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We thought the trip was great, the staff were helpful and courteous, comfy bus, great cuise on Lake Lucerne, ride on cable cars and cog train really good. We were surprised that the 9 hours went quite quickly!!. Only problem was that Mt Pilatus was in the cloud so we missed the view, no fault there Viatour;
Thanks for a great day

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We really enjoyed every thing was well arranged

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Overall a good trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful tour. It was a positively dreary day when we took the tour which was a bummer, but even so we had a great time. I can only imagine how incredible it would have been on a bright sunny day. The only adjustment I can think of to make this tour better is to include more time in Lucerne and less on the top of Mt. Pilatus. We were in Lucerne right around lunch time, and the hour that we were there did not allow enough time to find and eat lunch and enjoy the city. The mountain top was neat and again would have been much more incredible on a sunny day I'm sure, but I thought 1 hour would have been more than adequate up there. The tour guides were nice and informative and all the different modes of transportation made for a fun and exciting day!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour was very well organized and tour guide was knowledgable about the sights around and on Mt Pilatus. It would have been very difficult to see all of the sights on our own in one day without the benefit of the tour. The views from Mt Pilatus were beautiful although clouds prevented us from enjoying the scenery even more. Would highly recommend for those with a limited amout of time in Switzerland.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We enjoyed this trip very much. The sites and views were spectacular . Only one complaint. We were not informed that if we were picked up at our hotel we would not be returned there. People need to know this. We did pay the bus driver and he returned us to our hotel

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Unfortunately it was raining heavily in the morning when we left Zurich and we had heavy rain in Lucerne which spoiled our visit there. Also we were in heavy cloud on the ascent to Mt Pilatus. Luckily the cloud cleared after we had been on the summit for about 30 minutes and we then had a good view of everything. The cogwheel rail trip down was amazing.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

It was cloudy and we couldn't see anything from the time we were half way up the mountain to the top. bummer. but it still was a great experience. The day was too long. Started 9:30 a.m. and ended at 7:30 p.m.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We loved this trip. Our tour guide was very informative and friendly. I wish we could have picked the weather because the visibility at the top of the mountain was zero! Through reading other reviews we were prepared with warm clothes however no one told us it was going to be soooo cold. The tour was a bit too long for us. By the time we got to the last part - the boat trip - we were ready to go back to our hotel. We would however recommend doing this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It is very ncie to take river cruise in the lucense lake. I think it is better if it is sunny at the top of pilatus since I can't see anyting becuse of cloud.

From USD $ 159.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3885SW304BS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message