4.5 star rating: Recommended 43 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 43 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was a great day touring around Switzerland, but a few things to be aware of: Besides the bus dropping you off in Wessig and picking you up in Lucerne (passes to the cable car, cogwheel train, and boat ride are provided), the entire day is left on your own. It would be worth it to research the activities and sights on Mount Rigi and in Lucerne since this will be completely unguided. Also, the bus was 45 minutes late picking us up from Lucerne. Overall, though, this tour definitely saves you the time of researching and planning how to tour the beautiful countryside on your own.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A great way to see the mountain at your own pace, however those fond of a guide be warned that almost all the day is self guided. We were dropped at the bottom of the mountain in Weggis about 10.15am, and picked up at 6pm at Lucerne, another village a boat ride away. Spent the time in between on our own sledding and wandering around, this tour is highly recommended if you want to either enjoy a nice mountain walk/leisurely lunch or go sledding at your own pace. Definitely a great day trip, and easier and cheaper than organising transport ourselves! (The tour includes a cable car/all day train trip so you can sled down then train up again as much as you want, plus the boat ticket to Lucerne!)

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed the tour. However, we did miss the cable car we'd been told to get as the queue was so long. As a result we also missed the connecting train to the summit. It would have been helpful to leave Zurich on time so our guide could have made sure this didn't happen.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We chose this tour partly based on positive reviews, the different modes of transportation offered and time given in each location. Transportation was well organised and the guided tour - given on the bus during pick up point to first drop off, covered abit of Zurich city and Swiss history. The rest of the time you're on your own until meetup point again in Lucerne.

That being said, we had a wonderful day and Richard - our guide and bus driver was helpful and accomodating. We were given tickets for the boat and train (cable car was not working) with no set time, allowing for flexibility so we could choose to stay longer on the mountain or in Lucerne. We stayed longer in beautiful Lucerne which was well worth it.

We loved this day trip, the views were breathtaking from the mountain to the valley below, as well as from the boat ride. You have enough time to just take it all in, explore and grab a bite to eat.

We recommend this tour for most people particularly couples and friends.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

It was very well organised trip to Mount Rigi and the Boat Ride to Luzern was truly amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

Enjoyed the tour although did not realize it was a self-guided tour until I arrived. My friend decided to take a sled down Mt Rigi and the sled took her down the other side of the mountain and we were separate for over 2 hours! A stressful 2 hours! But the scenery was beautiful and Carnival was going on in Lucerne.

Yolanda S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Mount Rigi was beautiful especially for someone who has never seen snow. Lucerne was also lovely and you can decide how much time you spend at each place. The guide drops you off at the cable car and then picks you up in Lucerne so you are really paying for transport and some information on the bus trip to Mount Rigi. I enjoyed the day though.

Jill T
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Our driver and guide, was very helpful, friendly and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip and would recommend it to others.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The Mount Rigi Tour gives you a variety of things to see in the Swiss Alps area. The transportation was safe and comfortable, the meeting point was easy to find and the overall logistics of the tour was planned very nicely. I would say the only downside is we probably had a little too much time on the top of Mount Rigi with not much to do if you don't bring snow gear. I would maybe mention in the Marketing material that it is highly recommended to bring snow gear with you so individuals can go sledding at the top without having to worry about getting their clothes wet!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This would have been 4-star, absolutely loved it, if the guide had been better. Although we knew we were on our own for part of the trip, the guide should have spent time with the Mt. Rigi group on the bus trip to let us know what all of our options were. We and others on the trip from Nepal, South Africa, and another lady from the U.S. wasted way too much time on Mt. Rigi and in Lucerne. When, if we would have been properly apprised of various options, we could have had a lot more time for doing various things. But the trip to the top of Mt. Rigi and the boatride back back to Lucerne should not be missed. Those parts we absolutely loved.

Anne H
Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

Great experience, included cable car, cog wheel train and boat trips on the one tour. Time on Mount Rigi was wonderful. A few more suggestions about possible places to eat and train times might give more time on the mountain. Guide was brilliant.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Was scheduled to do this tour in mid Jan 2014, and when I got to the meeting point the tour officer recommended I change to the Mt Titlis tour instead, due to the weather at the time; apparently there wouldn't have been much to see with all the fog. So I took her advice and went on the Mt Titlis tour, which was fantastic and I had a great time (I would give it 5 stars). So unfortunately for this review section's sake, I'm not sure what this Mt Rigi tour would have been like...

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

The drive from Zurich to Mount Rigi was great. It was very scenic and beautiful. The tourguide was very friendly and pleasant. The busdriver did a great job The biggest disappointment was when we reached the top of Mount Rigi. We booked this tour because it was mentioned very specifically that we could go and do sledge riding on Mount Rigi. On arriving there we were told that it was no longer possible. I am very sorry you cannot say things like that, get people to book a tour and then we must discover we were miss lead. There was another family on the same tour who had exactly the same expections. The little boy was very upset when he discovered he could not go and do sledge riding. We complained to the tourguide. She checked on the internet and said we were correct. It was advertised with the option of doing sledge riding. Telling me she was sorry did not solve my problem. I could have booked another tour in and around Zurich that would not have been so expensive if I had known the true facts. The boat trip was good. We were left on our own to explore Lucern. Sorry I cannot recommend this tour if you want to go and do sledge riding. But once again I must mention the tourguide and busdriver were great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Although I did not have good weather, it was still a cool experience to go up to the mountain tops and see the country from a different perspective!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

An enjoyable day in the mountains but could be shortened up by at least two hours. The boat tour would have been more enjoyable had the attendant not been so rude. We were very rudely shuffled off the upper deck because we weren't "first class". For the price we paid for this day trip we certainly should have been. A nice way to enjoy the mountains but quite pricey!

Lisa B
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

The trip itself was pleasant with beautful views, it was disappointing that we did not have our expectations met as I belivee the descriptions for transport up the mountain were overly exaggerated. The tour guide was informative but I think that Viator group was very misleading in their descriptions and we were lead to believe there would be 'old cogwheel' train not new electronic trains similar to anywhere else in the world and a cable car ride which was not offered or compensated for. We were also lead to believe there was snow up the moutnain and we would be provided warm boots and clothing, neither was the case. The ferry across the lake was beautiful. Would have liked a guide or itinrerary for the day.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This is a semi-guided tour and tour guide really did not give us complete detailed information. This tour basically only provided the transportation and 80% of the journey is up to your own explore. The day we
joined this tour it was a big snow day, so we could not get out the cowwig train to view anything either.
a money wasted trip.

From USD $ 131.35

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3885SW305BW

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message