4.5 star rating: Recommended 39 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mount Rigi Winter Day Trip from Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 39 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Paul S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Fantastic Trip. Brilliant Guides, amazing scenery, We did the sledging at the top of Mount Rigi - This is not for the faint hearted - 90 degree bends - Steep drops - MAD - We did it three times - What a fantastic day!!!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The Mount Rigi Day Trip was very good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A great way to see alot in one day. The bus station is central, the tour guide was excellent and the combination of guided and self guided was perfect for me. Christmas is a great time to see the traditions of Switzerland.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

The whole day had something for everyone - experiencing a real taste of Switzerland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Mt. Rigi excursion is a fantastic opportunity to relax while being at the Alps! The tour guide is a well educated man, who tells you everything that you need to know before he continues with the other group. It is perfectly plan and very simple to execute, so much so that I became the tour guide of the few ones that were with me! The boat that took us to Lucerne was a blast! It is not only comfortable, but it also offers fantastic scenery and excellent restaurant services. Don't miss it, it might be the best excursion on your trip!

Kartik P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The guide accompanying us had a great sense of humour, all instructions were perfect for this partly guided trip, we never felt that we were not guided.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The pick up point at the end of the trip was quite a distance, and unclear on the itinerary.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was a great day touring around Switzerland, but a few things to be aware of: Besides the bus dropping you off in Wessig and picking you up in Lucerne (passes to the cable car, cogwheel train, and boat ride are provided), the entire day is left on your own. It would be worth it to research the activities and sights on Mount Rigi and in Lucerne since this will be completely unguided. Also, the bus was 45 minutes late picking us up from Lucerne. Overall, though, this tour definitely saves you the time of researching and planning how to tour the beautiful countryside on your own.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A great way to see the mountain at your own pace, however those fond of a guide be warned that almost all the day is self guided. We were dropped at the bottom of the mountain in Weggis about 10.15am, and picked up at 6pm at Lucerne, another village a boat ride away. Spent the time in between on our own sledding and wandering around, this tour is highly recommended if you want to either enjoy a nice mountain walk/leisurely lunch or go sledding at your own pace. Definitely a great day trip, and easier and cheaper than organising transport ourselves! (The tour includes a cable car/all day train trip so you can sled down then train up again as much as you want, plus the boat ticket to Lucerne!)

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed the tour. However, we did miss the cable car we'd been told to get as the queue was so long. As a result we also missed the connecting train to the summit. It would have been helpful to leave Zurich on time so our guide could have made sure this didn't happen.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We chose this tour partly based on positive reviews, the different modes of transportation offered and time given in each location. Transportation was well organised and the guided tour - given on the bus during pick up point to first drop off, covered abit of Zurich city and Swiss history. The rest of the time you're on your own until meetup point again in Lucerne.

That being said, we had a wonderful day and Richard - our guide and bus driver was helpful and accomodating. We were given tickets for the boat and train (cable car was not working) with no set time, allowing for flexibility so we could choose to stay longer on the mountain or in Lucerne. We stayed longer in beautiful Lucerne which was well worth it.

We loved this day trip, the views were breathtaking from the mountain to the valley below, as well as from the boat ride. You have enough time to just take it all in, explore and grab a bite to eat.

We recommend this tour for most people particularly couples and friends.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

It was very well organised trip to Mount Rigi and the Boat Ride to Luzern was truly amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

Enjoyed the tour although did not realize it was a self-guided tour until I arrived. My friend decided to take a sled down Mt Rigi and the sled took her down the other side of the mountain and we were separate for over 2 hours! A stressful 2 hours! But the scenery was beautiful and Carnival was going on in Lucerne.

Yolanda S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Mount Rigi was beautiful especially for someone who has never seen snow. Lucerne was also lovely and you can decide how much time you spend at each place. The guide drops you off at the cable car and then picks you up in Lucerne so you are really paying for transport and some information on the bus trip to Mount Rigi. I enjoyed the day though.

Jill T
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Our driver and guide, was very helpful, friendly and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip and would recommend it to others.

From USD $ 140.57

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3885SW305BW

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message