4.5 star rating: Recommended 59 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  8 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 59 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was fantastic! Highlight of our trip. The town you visit is a must-see. It was great to get out of the city and see the country-side.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Probably the highlight tour of all of our tours with Viator. Absolutely amazing .... it had everything and more that we could have imagined in Switzerland!!!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Almost cancelled because we were the only ones booked for the tour. They let us pay for one extra person and gave us a private tour. The guide was great. Truly enjoyable experience. Thanks Daniel.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The trip was well planned and our guide was very knowledgeable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour which was led by Emi. He had a wealth of knowledge about the area we traveled to. We drove about 40 minutes to the Lindt Chocolate store. We were given about 25 minutes to shop here. This was a great stop to buy gifts for friends and family at home. Then we drove for about an hour to the town of Appenzell where we went to the cheese factory. This stop wasn't too exciting. You do get to see how the cheese is made and taste some of the cheese which is very delicious, but terribly smelly. After this the tour moved onto the cable car to take us to Mt. Hoher Kasten. Unfortunately the day we took the tour it was extremely overcast so we didn't have a great view. At the top of the mountain there is a great full service revolving restaurant. Also from the top of the mountain you can see 4 countries which is pretty cool. When the weather cleared a little bit, you got an amazing view of the surrounding valleys and mountains and on a clear day this would be a perfect view. After this we drove to the town of Appenzell and were given about 1.5 hours of free time to explore the village. it was a nice little town but there wasn't a ton to do. I highly recommend trying the Appenzeller beer, my husband especially enjoyed it. This tour is a great way to see and explore many of the typical swiss foods and scenery. Overall it was a great tour that I would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This tour was very well done the guide was wonderful. The town of Appenzell is very cute,the cheese factory was nice and the chocolate factory is last on the tour, they save the best for last.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Our tour guide was great and gave an energetic, local take on the tour. Going up to the top of a snow covered Alpine mountain was truly a highlight, and hot chocolate in the restaurant for those who weren't interested in freezing!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Revolving restaurant at Mt. Hoher Kasten was excellent and the views were fantastic! The highlight of the trip!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Going outside of the city was important to us and this one was perfect.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very enjoyable and relaxing trip.

Laura W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A fantastic trip, worth every penny! Our guide was extremely friendly and informative. If you are looking to see the breathtaking scenery of Switzerland and it's traditional areas then this trip is certainly a must do!

Fleur W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

An unbelievable and unforgettable experience for the whole family. Beautiful scenery, local history and yummy chocolate!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Perfect way to see the picturesque Swiss countryside. Wonderful driver guide with a personal touch as it was on a mini bus. The chocolate factory and cheese factory stops were quite well planned.

Lee M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

We had a great guide and saw great scenery! What more can I say? Just do it!

Matthew B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

We only had a 1 day stopover in Zurich, and I am so glad we booked this tour. It was absolutely amazing. The top of Mt. Santis feels like you're standing at the gates of heaven. It was one of the best experiences I've ever had. Our tour guide was so passionate about teaching us about Switzerland, and we enjoyed the entire tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Zurich. I only wish we had more time to spend there.

From USD $ 144.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3885SW313BS

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message