• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 53 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  8 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 53 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Beautiful area. Chocolate part bit disappointing as we only could go to the shop. Company not allowed to take you in the Lindt factory anymore.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

excellent the guide was great

Dora K
Cyprus

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Take this tour only if you have a day to spare. You get an excellent view of the countryside. There is a quick stop at the chocolate shop and a tour of the cheese factory. Basically an overview of how cheese is made. Then up the mountain. We asked not to remain up there long as there was not much to do and the food was pricey. The cable car was fun. The town lovely to walk around in. The stores a bit pricey but this is Switzerland. As I said if you are staying for a few days it is worth it but if you had to choose I would go for the Mount Pilatus tour. Beware of the hotel pick up policy. The pick up only applies if you are staying at that hotel. We stayed next door but were refused hotel pick up.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

We bought 65 Swiss Franks worth of chocolate at the Lindt factory store! The prices were definitely a bargain compared to Zurich or airport prices; great as gifts too. The scenic route to Appenzel where the cheese factory was located was a plus. We also bought Appenzeller cheeses from the cheese factory in Appenzel, so deliciously good and you get to sample many varieties. We lucked out with the Mountain because the clouds and fog came in but it was still very relaxing. The mountain goats at the top provided great entertainment. I would recommend this tour for those who want to buy chocolate and cheese and see the cheese being made.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The mountains, cheese and chocolates tour was good as the guide took good care of us. However, it would be better if more stops could be arranged at scenic places for photo taking. On the whole, we have a good experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

driver very informative trip up the mtn was absolutely beautiful. Too bad chocolate and cheese stops were purely commercial. The cheese place at least had a video but the chocolate place was only a store to buy chocolate

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The trip to Appenzelle was wonderful-beautiful views and a perfect day- didnt enjoy the chocolate factory or cheese factory so much -it was very rushed and not much to see

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Another very good tour we had. Wish we had more time at Cheese and Cholocate factory Our guide was very very goof

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

We only had two days in Switzerland and wanted to see some of the countryside. The bus allowed us all to relax and take it all in. Our guide shared alot of information. Appenzell was perfect and our two teenage granddaughters and grandpa loved the toboggan ride down the hillside!

Fraser B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

A very enjoyable experience. The tour guide was great the driver needs to spend less time on his mobiles when driving, except when they are hands free.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

The time allowed in Appenzell is too short if you take the cable car ride. The views from the mountain top are spectacular and the drive to that point is beautiful. The cheese factory was very disappointing. It should be deleted from the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Our trip was very nice. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The weather was foggy and rainy so we were unable to see anything from the top of Mt. Santis except the snow falling all around us. Still pretty cool but because we did not spend as much time there as normal they improvised and took us to a cheese factory in Appenzell in addition to the rest of the normal tour. I definitely recommend this company and this tour.

Nicholas A
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Well where do I begin,
Let's start with the good, the chocolate outlet has lots of stuff you can't get in Australia. We bought 3 kg of chocolate and the price was way cheaper than we could imagine.
The view on top of the mountains is just amazing. Really made the trip worth the drive.

The bad, the cheese factory tour isn't so good, 30 minutes is all you get. 15 minutes of which is a video promoting the cheese company, talking about how much care and manual labour they put into making the cheese and other promotional things. Only to see after the video that every single step is automated. This leaves very little time to taste the cheese samples and buy.

Unfortunately our tour guide wasn't the greatest, nothing of great interest was spoken about which made the driving sections of the tour seem longer than they are. Would really have helped if more interesting information was given.
For example, I could have done without the explanation on how grass grows and is then chopped by farmers. Or the 5 minute conversation on how power in Switzerland is transmitted through power lines to each home. This may be okay for a bus load of 5 years olds but more interlectual/witty information is required at the very least for adults. A bit more thought and preparation by the tour guide on what to say during the driving sections would improve this tour.

Visited June 2013

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Loved the scenary and the views from the mountain even tough there is nothing to do there once you are the top except having a meal in a restaurant. We didnt get a tour through the cheese factory, instead they played a video of how the cheese is made and you look through a glass while a machine mixes the milk to make the cheese. That's it. The chocolate factory was closed but we went the next day by ourselves taking the tram and a bus. Since we bought a ticket to use public transportation for the whole day in Zurich, we didnt have to spend more in a tour. And by the way, this is just a store beside the actual factory where they take tourists to buy chocolate but you dont get to see anything of the process of making chocolate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

It was a nice drive out to the countryside. Stopped at the Lindt chocolate store but it's nothing exciting. The cheese factory was a short stop to learn about cheese and make any purchases.
On to the mountain - which is quite a ways out. It did rain and was cloudy so our views at the top were not good.
It's about an hour and half+ ride back to Zurich.
Overall - it was a pleasant trip but very long day.

From USD $ 155.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3885SW313BS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message