4.5 star rating: Recommended 57 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  8 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was an amazing tour. We truly discovered the magical beauty of Switzerland through our journey towards Appenzelle. The cheese testing was also a good experience. Our driver cum guide knew lot about the places and he educated us everywhere he took us. Very enjoyable indeed.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide Ernest was a lovely man, he drove whilst providing interesting facts about the country and the towns we would visit. The Lindt factory was my favourite stop, we purchased collectively about 5kgs of chocolate! The cheese tour was rather short and unexpected, there was only a small viewing section showing how the fat from the cheese is taken out. There is a large time gap provided towards the end of the tour which we felt was rather unnecessary for you to explore the town. I guess if the weather had been sunny it would have been nice to take a walk around the quaint little streets, however it was pouring rain so we ended up hiding in a patisserie shop for an hour or so until we could go back onto the bus.

Linda C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Visiting the Lindt outlet was terrific. Went up the mountain by cable car, had lunch at the top, unfortunately it was rainy and fogged in so the views were very limited. Guide was friendly and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Our driver Daniel made this a great trip. Very knowledgable and entertaining. I understand he only works one day a week, we had him on a Tuesday, so hopefully you get him too. The chocolate part was just a stop at the factory store. The cheese part was for the Appenzeller brand of cheese, which is not the traditional "Swiss" style of cheese we are used too, but still interesting. Taking the tram to the top of the Alps and overlooking mountains into Liechtenstein was beautiful. We had a very nice lunch at the restaurant on top of the mountain. Again, Daniel made every part of our tour very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Beautiful area. Chocolate part bit disappointing as we only could go to the shop. Company not allowed to take you in the Lindt factory anymore.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

excellent the guide was great

Dora K
Cyprus

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Take this tour only if you have a day to spare. You get an excellent view of the countryside. There is a quick stop at the chocolate shop and a tour of the cheese factory. Basically an overview of how cheese is made. Then up the mountain. We asked not to remain up there long as there was not much to do and the food was pricey. The cable car was fun. The town lovely to walk around in. The stores a bit pricey but this is Switzerland. As I said if you are staying for a few days it is worth it but if you had to choose I would go for the Mount Pilatus tour. Beware of the hotel pick up policy. The pick up only applies if you are staying at that hotel. We stayed next door but were refused hotel pick up.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

We bought 65 Swiss Franks worth of chocolate at the Lindt factory store! The prices were definitely a bargain compared to Zurich or airport prices; great as gifts too. The scenic route to Appenzel where the cheese factory was located was a plus. We also bought Appenzeller cheeses from the cheese factory in Appenzel, so deliciously good and you get to sample many varieties. We lucked out with the Mountain because the clouds and fog came in but it was still very relaxing. The mountain goats at the top provided great entertainment. I would recommend this tour for those who want to buy chocolate and cheese and see the cheese being made.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The mountains, cheese and chocolates tour was good as the guide took good care of us. However, it would be better if more stops could be arranged at scenic places for photo taking. On the whole, we have a good experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

driver very informative trip up the mtn was absolutely beautiful. Too bad chocolate and cheese stops were purely commercial. The cheese place at least had a video but the chocolate place was only a store to buy chocolate

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The trip to Appenzelle was wonderful-beautiful views and a perfect day- didnt enjoy the chocolate factory or cheese factory so much -it was very rushed and not much to see

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Another very good tour we had. Wish we had more time at Cheese and Cholocate factory Our guide was very very goof

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

We only had two days in Switzerland and wanted to see some of the countryside. The bus allowed us all to relax and take it all in. Our guide shared alot of information. Appenzell was perfect and our two teenage granddaughters and grandpa loved the toboggan ride down the hillside!

Fraser B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

A very enjoyable experience. The tour guide was great the driver needs to spend less time on his mobiles when driving, except when they are hands free.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

The time allowed in Appenzell is too short if you take the cable car ride. The views from the mountain top are spectacular and the drive to that point is beautiful. The cheese factory was very disappointing. It should be deleted from the tour.

From USD $ 146.48

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3885SW313BS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message