4.5 star rating: Recommended 70 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  8 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 70 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The mountains, cheese and chocolates tour was good as the guide took good care of us. However, it would be better if more stops could be arranged at scenic places for photo taking. On the whole, we have a good experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

driver very informative trip up the mtn was absolutely beautiful. Too bad chocolate and cheese stops were purely commercial. The cheese place at least had a video but the chocolate place was only a store to buy chocolate

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

The trip to Appenzelle was wonderful-beautiful views and a perfect day- didnt enjoy the chocolate factory or cheese factory so much -it was very rushed and not much to see

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Another very good tour we had. Wish we had more time at Cheese and Cholocate factory Our guide was very very goof

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

We only had two days in Switzerland and wanted to see some of the countryside. The bus allowed us all to relax and take it all in. Our guide shared alot of information. Appenzell was perfect and our two teenage granddaughters and grandpa loved the toboggan ride down the hillside!

Fraser B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

A very enjoyable experience. The tour guide was great the driver needs to spend less time on his mobiles when driving, except when they are hands free.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

The time allowed in Appenzell is too short if you take the cable car ride. The views from the mountain top are spectacular and the drive to that point is beautiful. The cheese factory was very disappointing. It should be deleted from the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Our trip was very nice. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The weather was foggy and rainy so we were unable to see anything from the top of Mt. Santis except the snow falling all around us. Still pretty cool but because we did not spend as much time there as normal they improvised and took us to a cheese factory in Appenzell in addition to the rest of the normal tour. I definitely recommend this company and this tour.

Nicholas A
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Well where do I begin,
Let's start with the good, the chocolate outlet has lots of stuff you can't get in Australia. We bought 3 kg of chocolate and the price was way cheaper than we could imagine.
The view on top of the mountains is just amazing. Really made the trip worth the drive.

The bad, the cheese factory tour isn't so good, 30 minutes is all you get. 15 minutes of which is a video promoting the cheese company, talking about how much care and manual labour they put into making the cheese and other promotional things. Only to see after the video that every single step is automated. This leaves very little time to taste the cheese samples and buy.

Unfortunately our tour guide wasn't the greatest, nothing of great interest was spoken about which made the driving sections of the tour seem longer than they are. Would really have helped if more interesting information was given.
For example, I could have done without the explanation on how grass grows and is then chopped by farmers. Or the 5 minute conversation on how power in Switzerland is transmitted through power lines to each home. This may be okay for a bus load of 5 years olds but more interlectual/witty information is required at the very least for adults. A bit more thought and preparation by the tour guide on what to say during the driving sections would improve this tour.

Visited June 2013

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Loved the scenary and the views from the mountain even tough there is nothing to do there once you are the top except having a meal in a restaurant. We didnt get a tour through the cheese factory, instead they played a video of how the cheese is made and you look through a glass while a machine mixes the milk to make the cheese. That's it. The chocolate factory was closed but we went the next day by ourselves taking the tram and a bus. Since we bought a ticket to use public transportation for the whole day in Zurich, we didnt have to spend more in a tour. And by the way, this is just a store beside the actual factory where they take tourists to buy chocolate but you dont get to see anything of the process of making chocolate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

It was a nice drive out to the countryside. Stopped at the Lindt chocolate store but it's nothing exciting. The cheese factory was a short stop to learn about cheese and make any purchases.
On to the mountain - which is quite a ways out. It did rain and was cloudy so our views at the top were not good.
It's about an hour and half+ ride back to Zurich.
Overall - it was a pleasant trip but very long day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

Not bad although slightly slow paced

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

Guide was wonderful. Chocolate shopping was fun, visiting the countryside and mountains were interesting. Would have been helpful if we were told in the descriptiion of tour if the shops would be open, as most were closed on Mondays.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

Cut out the uninteresting Zurich City part and make the trip shorter. Also adjust the trip according to the weather, less time up the mountain when you can't see anything and more time in Appenzeller. A good way to spend a day in Switzerland.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Not what I expected. The chocolate visit was basically a shop which we could have easily visited in the States. Cheese factory was a bit more interesting and we had fun there. The cable car up to the Mountains was the best part of the day and really enjoyed the meal at top in the revolving restaurant.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

The tour overall was okay. The good The cable car ride up to the mountain and the view from the top was spectacular! The bad The cheese and chocolate stops were totally not worth it. They could have been eliminated so that the rest of the tour was not so rushed. It felt like we were 'speed touring' the whole time, and we couldn't enjoy the parts we wanted to see most. The lunch stop for those going to the mountain was very expensive.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

The cheese and chocolate tour wasn't worth my time. The tour guide basically forced us to eat at the expensive little restaurant in the cheese factory. It was small portions for a large price. The tour was basically a marketing video on how the company's cheese was made and how you should buy it because they said so. Then we were given a few seconds to look through a glass at a machine mixing milk. Oh joy! The same was true with the chocolate tour. We looked through a window at chocolate being made by a machine and about 5 workers on duty boxing chocolate. Yet another boring tour. Then conveniently the chocolate store was open so that you can purchase your heart out before you leave the factory. The only good thing about this entire tour was the cable car ride to the top of the mountain. We were not allowed to stay very long. The entire tour felt rushed. Honestly, there is a chocolate factory in Zurich that might allow tours if you want to just see chocolate. A train could possibly go to the mountains, and for the sample size amount of the two types of cheese, you can save time and money by going to your local grocery store. This was a very pricey trip that provided limited thrills.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

Disappointing trip!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

The scenery was breath taking but the cheese and chocolate factory were not worth the stop.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

The guide did a good job on the tour itself. However we were charged and extra 20 Swiss Fracs each because there were only 4 people on the tour. This was extremely upsetting and made for a very bad start

From USD $ 146.71

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3885SW313BS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message