3.5 star rating: Worth doing 50 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the The Great Tour of Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 50 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

if u are short of time and u want to cover half the city in a day, this will be the best way.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Would recommend this as an initial overview to the city and then go back and see sights more in depth. Tour guide was pleasant but a bit 'scatter-brained"! :-) Trip back on Lake Zurich quite nice. Pack your own lunch in advance and weather permitting enjoy by the shores of Lake Zurich or on the boat trip back.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Tour was fine, but we sure got tired of hearing about the banking center in Zurich. These people are far too hung up on their wealth.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

City tour was very rushed but tour of the village of Rapperswil and the lake cruise back to Zurich was excellent. Guide was quite knowledgable and witty.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

In the town outside of Zurich people are left to come back by themselves. If you do nok know Zurich it is to long to find the way to the center. It was not explained how to do it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Although our tour guide was humorous and informative, we were disappointed in some aspects of this tour. The description of the departure site was unclear, we waited for 20 minutes for a late customer, and we did not see the Marc Chagall windows (because it was Sunday?) It was not mentioned in the tour info that the Marc Chagall windows were not part of the tour on Sundays.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

guide was knowledgeable but tour left us wanting. Most of the tour was diving thru Zurich w only one stop, at a church, before we took bus to Rapperswil. Better value would be in the CHF 30 vs CHF 50+ we paid, esp w lack of boat tour in the winter making it 1.5 vs 3+ hr tour

Sandra R
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

This was the shortest city tour I've ever been on we got on the bus at 11am and then were driven down to Rappiswill to catch the boat back and arrived just after 12pm..so a very quick tour around Zurich City I thought, then left to our own devices to catch the boat back to Zurich.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

I had the 2 hour tour. Was a bit superficial.

Wayne H
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

My wife and I booked this trip and the Heidiland tour for two separate days, not realising that the Great Tour of Zurich also comprises the first couple of hours of the Heidiland tour. We were only visiting Switzerland for four days and did not want to waste time doing the same tour twice. Consequently we only did the Heidiland tour, which included this tour, and forfeited our booking on the Great Tour of Zurich as no refund or alternative tours were available. Other travellers need to be careful not to make the same mistake. The tour was ok but I'd like to have seen a bit more of Zurich. The highlight was Rapperswil which was very picturesque.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

Not much to see, not very organised. Very short and didn't learn very much but ok while it lasted. Just went round Zurich on a bus for a while and then had to get a train back.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

The bus tour was not able to go down some streets do to the 2014 European Track and Field Championships. The tour company should have given us an option, not go on this City tour. They have our money in hand not to about to give it up so no option was given. The city tour could be done by a walking tour by a tour book and could would have covered all the spots of interest on your own. So save your money on a City tour in Zurich.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Awful tour. A fast bus ride through Zurich with the tour guide noting this is a great place for a picture but never stopping. We stopped at a church for about seven minutes with no time to look around and enjoy the windows. They stop at the rose capital of Switzerland but there were no roses and therefore the tour guide suggested we have lunch only after being on the tour fifty minutes. A total waste of time and money. The boat ride on Lake Zurich is fine but you can do that yourself for less money. Stay away and walk around Zurich with a map.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

The bus trip around Zurich was fast and with simple - 'this is this building; this is that building'. Very little history or interesting knowledge. Then to Rapperswill - very little on the way. Then a tour of a castle, up hill in the rain, and the castle is not even open to the public. The guide then told us roughly where the boat back to Zurich was and left. A total waste of money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Absolutely nothing to see in this tour and they are showing only 1 church. This is wastage of money.

From USD $ 60.08

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2460CITB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message