• USD ($)
  • English

3.5 star rating: Worth doing 45 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Zurich, Switzerland
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the The Great Tour of Zurich. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 45 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Tour was fine, but we sure got tired of hearing about the banking center in Zurich. These people are far too hung up on their wealth.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

City tour was very rushed but tour of the village of Rapperswil and the lake cruise back to Zurich was excellent. Guide was quite knowledgable and witty.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

guide was knowledgeable but tour left us wanting. Most of the tour was diving thru Zurich w only one stop, at a church, before we took bus to Rapperswil. Better value would be in the CHF 30 vs CHF 50+ we paid, esp w lack of boat tour in the winter making it 1.5 vs 3+ hr tour

Sandra R
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

This was the shortest city tour I've ever been on we got on the bus at 11am and then were driven down to Rappiswill to catch the boat back and arrived just after 12pm..so a very quick tour around Zurich City I thought, then left to our own devices to catch the boat back to Zurich.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

I had the 2 hour tour. Was a bit superficial.

Wayne H
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

My wife and I booked this trip and the Heidiland tour for two separate days, not realising that the Great Tour of Zurich also comprises the first couple of hours of the Heidiland tour. We were only visiting Switzerland for four days and did not want to waste time doing the same tour twice. Consequently we only did the Heidiland tour, which included this tour, and forfeited our booking on the Great Tour of Zurich as no refund or alternative tours were available. Other travellers need to be careful not to make the same mistake. The tour was ok but I'd like to have seen a bit more of Zurich. The highlight was Rapperswil which was very picturesque.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

Not much to see, not very organised. Very short and didn't learn very much but ok while it lasted. Just went round Zurich on a bus for a while and then had to get a train back.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Awful tour. A fast bus ride through Zurich with the tour guide noting this is a great place for a picture but never stopping. We stopped at a church for about seven minutes with no time to look around and enjoy the windows. They stop at the rose capital of Switzerland but there were no roses and therefore the tour guide suggested we have lunch only after being on the tour fifty minutes. A total waste of time and money. The boat ride on Lake Zurich is fine but you can do that yourself for less money. Stay away and walk around Zurich with a map.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

The bus trip around Zurich was fast and with simple - 'this is this building; this is that building'. Very little history or interesting knowledge. Then to Rapperswill - very little on the way. Then a tour of a castle, up hill in the rain, and the castle is not even open to the public. The guide then told us roughly where the boat back to Zurich was and left. A total waste of money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Absolutely nothing to see in this tour and they are showing only 1 church. This is wastage of money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Too little information.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Avoid this type of "excursion". After short stop Fraumunster which was closed for tourist on that day, we we taken by bus to Ripperswil where we got 2nd class tickets for the boat to go back Zurich. Tha was our "Great Tour of Zurich". It was complete waste of time and money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

This was the worst tour I've ever taken and believe me I've taken quite a few. The only things the guy said was the following: "the building on the left is a bank, the building on the right is insurance company". I would not recommend to take this tour to anyone in their right mind

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2012

This tour was not very good and definitely not worth the money. The tour guide spoke very poor English. We were on the first part of a longer tour. The included boat ride was available only if we wanted to wait 3 hours. We took the train on our own instead of waiting in the rain for the boat.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2011

the tour was far below our expectations. it was very disappointing as it was a just a bus ride around zurich less than half hour.! there was no chance to take pictures also in zurich..its not worth.! i prefer to do zurich on your own and book the tours for outside zurich. I advise not to book this tour.

From USD $ 60.06

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2460CITB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message