Acapulco ATTRACTIONS See all

Acapulco Cruise Port

With a rich nautical history dating back to the sixteenth century, Acapulco’s port is located in a deep semi-circular bay. The city stretches five miles along the beach, dotted with marinas hosting yachts and other small watercrafts.   How to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alicia V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

We were picked up right at the port as promised, but had to wait around for 15-20 minutes in the bus until they could find more people to fill it-very disorganized. We were told we would get a city tour and see the cliff divers. The City Tour was our guide pointing out every single hotel/resort he could we only stopped at 2 really pretty areas to view them for just minutes. He was selling Acapulco rather than providing us with history or any neat facts. We also stopped at a hole in the wall shopping area indoors which they must have had some sort of deal with them to bring each tour there- there was not a whole lot to look at and it was way too crowded. He then proceeded to take us to a hotel and make us get out because he wanted us to go inside. My family and I were not interested whatsoever so we wandered over to the restaurant connected to the hotel instead because by this point we were starving. Once we got our drinks and placed an order for just some tacos the guide came over scalding us because we needed to leave NOW or else we would be late to the cliff divers which we would have never been late for in the first place if he didn't take us by 30 hotels. We had also already mentioned to him that we were very hungry and would appreciate even a quick stop to a taco truck, and some people in the van even agreed with us that they were hungry too the total amount of people on our tour was only 11 and we accounted for 4 of them. Once we got to the cliff divers show we were already almost late so there was no where to stand and I personally only got to see one dive because of how crowded it was. Afterwards the guide and driver drove us down a street he said had great seafood restaurants.. but neglected to stop anywhere. We arrived back at the port about an hour later than we were supposed to, still starving, and at this point not wanting to see another hotel ever. This is the first time we have booked with Viator and may be the last, we have never been so disappointed in an excursion and we have been on a lot of cruises. Not worth the 38 a person, just a warning.

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: Comprehensive Acapulco City Tour

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We highly recommend the City tour with Rudy! He was very knowledgeable about Acapulco and his English was outstanding! We enjoyed seeing the marketplace, Chapel of Peace and understanding the layout of Acapulco. Rudy showed us some of the different neighborhoods and provided insights to help us compare/contrast Acapulco to the city we live in. Rudy took us to several different locations to get fabulous views of the bay and suggested a lunch restaurant on Caleta Beach that was very good.

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: All-Inclusive City Sightseeing Tour

Jolynn G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It was a nice tour, however the main part of the tour was the cliff divers and we didn't get there until a couple minutes before the start time. Of course, there were no good spots because there was already a crowd. We kept telling the guide it was almost time to start, but he wouldn't leave the shopping, that apparently is a part of the tour. I was not interested in the shopping, it was a cliff diver and city tour, NOT a shopping tour. Needless to say we were very disappointed with the tour, since we didn't get there in time to get a good view.

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: Comprehensive Acapulco City Tour

Pete United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great views of the bay and interesting commentary. Since we arrived 20
minutes early for the divers, we were able to get a prime viewing spot for this amazing feat. We were disappointed that we were NOT taken to the Princess Hotel for a stroll of the gardens. This was promised in the important info section on Viator.

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: Comprehensive Acapulco City Tour

Wendy B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Pick up from the cruise port was seamless and there were only 6 of us in an air conditioned van. We were able to wind our way through the narrow streets and see much more of this lovely city than those in much larger vehicles. A beer while watching the cliff divers was welcome as was the opportunity to have lunch at a beach front restaurant optional. Arturo, our guide, was excellent and took pride in showing us his town. Certainly recommended.

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: All-Inclusive City Sightseeing Tour

pegcom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Main problem was pick up - very disorganized! We didn't know who was at the port to pick us up, our names not on a sign, and no Viator name. Could've emailed us with such info and time to meet. Spent 1 hour after getting off the ship to figure out which tour rep and to sit and wait around for others to join us. Rest of tour generally ok - one problem was the guide didn't get us to the cliff diving viewing area sooner had to wait at the shop longer and we couldn't get as close we would like to see the divers.

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: Comprehensive Acapulco City Tour

Diane P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Most of the tour was good, but standing in the heat waiting for the divers that you could barely see because of all the people was not fun at all.

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: Comprehensive Acapulco City Tour

Ed D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good tour and very informative. A number of photo shoot stops. Good pics of cliff divers. Did not go to pyramid hotel as described

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: Comprehensive Acapulco City Tour

John and Donna United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour. We were met at port gate with a friendly smile, s big sign and cool van! We picked up 6 more folks at a hotel then the tour began. Excellent information, pretty sites, plenty of time to enjoy. Well worth the cost. No hassles from crowds from ship's tour. Glad we used Viator

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: Comprehensive Acapulco City Tour

Linda E A

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Guide was very good' knowlesgable. A very compréhensive city tour. Thé cold water was refreshing. Good price, too.

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: Comprehensive Acapulco City Tour

christopher s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Excellent service, collected from my cruise ship and escorted around by a very informative tour guide. Got to see places other tours would not go to. Well worth the money and we will be using more Viators in the future. Would highly recommend them

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: Comprehensive Acapulco City Tour

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great overview and orientation of the city. Can't beat the price either!

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: Comprehensive Acapulco City Tour

Paul M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Very enjoyable tour of Acapulco the guide was excellent. Would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the city.

Doing what: Acapulco Shore Excursion: Comprehensive Acapulco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message